About This Page
This page collects individual read-aloud video/audio clips for young adult and adult audiences, recited by professional narrators, actors and voice performers. Most of the texts are available in the Online Public Domain Book Collection, 青空文庫. Link to the original text in 青空文庫 is also provided so that the users can read the text while listening. To listen materials for children, go to "For Listening Practice: Children's Literature." This also lists several volunteer read-aloud and commercial audio book sites where you can listen sample/free recordings. 
Other Literature
名作朗読チャンネルBun-Gei
Produced by 河村シゲル, professional actors recite the variety of litearature works by famous novelists, including 遠藤周作, 谷崎潤一郎, etc. Also features mystery and suspense works. To view the entire list, click here.
Read Loud Children's Literature: 青空朗読 (あおぞら ろうどく)
「青空朗読」 is a collection of audio readings for classic literature works found in 青空文庫 . The readers of the works are professional announcers or read-aloud students. Users may read along with the recordings using the text available in 青空文庫 for extra practice. Click here to access the site.
- 「黒猫」 by Edgar Allan Poe, translated by 佐々木直次郎 (ささき なおじろう) (audio, 43:36)Japanese translation of Edgar Allan Poe's "The Black Cat."
西村俊彦（にしむらとしひこ）の朗読ノオト
Nishimura Toshihiko, a professional actor and narrator, reads aloud classic literature in the public domain alongside other works. The length of recordings is varied, and mostly shorter works are included in this box. To see a full list of available works, click here.
Read-aloud newspaper essays
This box is a collection of short video clips created by Yomiuri Shinbun (Yomiuri Newspaper). Each of these video clips introduces an editorial essay, 読売手帳 (Yomiuri techō), and is read by either a popular actor or by a voice actor. To see the complete list of videos on their Youtube account, click here.
Read aloud by 菱田盛之 (ひしだもりゆき)
Hishida Moriyuki is a male narrator and voice performer. He reads aloud Japanese classic literature, such as 夏目漱石 (なつめそうせき), 江戸川乱歩 (えどがわらんぽ) and essays. To see the whote list, click here.
LibriVox: Free Public Domain Audiobookx
LibriVox is a non-commercial, non-profit, and ad-free project. Volunteers record readings of book chapters that are in the public domain and release the audio file for free. Users can either download the audio files or listen to them online.
himalaya
Himalaya is a podcast platform with 12 categories of audio content including life, entertainment, kids, audiobooks, and more. This box highlights several audio books available via Himalaya, as well as several sample recordings and links to the website and its apps.
- 芥川龍之介短編小説集 （あくたが わりゅうのすけ たんぺん しょうせつしゅう）Read-aloud of short stories by Akutagawa Ryunosuke. The collection includes 「トロッコ」,「鼻」,「蜘蛛の糸」, etc.
- D坂の殺人事件 (ディーざか の さつじんじけん) by 江戸川乱歩江戸 (えどがわ らんぽ)川乱歩"The Case of the Murder on D. Hill"
Written by Edogawa Ranpo, a famous mystery and detective author. Many of his novels involve a detective named Akechi Kogorō, including this story, which is the first in the Akechi Kogorō series. - 「セロ弾きのゴーシュ」by 宮沢賢治 (みやざわ けんじ)"Gauche the Cellist"
Written by Miyazawa Kenji, a famous poet and children's literature author. This story is about Gauche, a struggling young cellist. While practicing alone, he is visited by anthropomorphized animals who ask him to play the cello.
audiobook.jp
This box provides links to a commercial audiobook site, including the website, its apps, and sample files. While the sample files are free, registration is required to buy content, including a subscription option for unlimited access
- 「耳でみる絵本」(For beginners)Designed for babies and young children, these audio books are designed to inspire the imagination of listeners with read-aloud stories and classic guitar sounds.
- ヨーロッパ列車紀行「男の時刻表」An audiobook series which features a middle-age man traveling Europe via the Oriental Express.
Temporarily Available Audio Book Collection: Amazon Audio Book Audible
Responding to COVID-19 outbreak, Amazon.com provides some of its audio book collection "Audible" for free.