Bilingual Web Magazine for Advanced
- I-House QuarterlyIssued by International House of Japan, this newsletter provides information on the activities of the I-House. Includes interview articles, program schedule, etc.
- T Japan: The New York Times Style Magazine: JapanThe Japanese edition of T: The New York Times Style Magazine. Dedicated to fashion, beauty, design&interiors, art, food, and entertainment.
Beginner
- Digital EHON SiteCollection of digital picture books of the folktales around the world in various languages.
- コラム「しつもん！ドラえもん」Daily column for kids, provided by Asahi Newspaper. The set of question and answer is provided separately so that the kids open the pages to find the answer. Search Asahi Newspaper's archive, Kikuzo Visual" (KU ID and password required) by 「しつもん！ドラえもん」 and you will find questions and answers.
- NHK News Web EASY やさしい日本語のニュースThis news site, provided by NHK, provides news n easy Japanese. Cick the news of your interest to read the text with furigana. If you would like to read without furigana, click 「漢字の読み方を消す」. You can listen the news by clicking「ニュースを聞く」.
Intermediate
- にぽにか = NiponicaWeb magazine that introduces modern Japan to people all over the world. The texts in PDF edition and E-book edition have furigana.
- Newspaper articles with furigana, from Yomiuri Newspaper
Yomiuri Newspaper database, called 「ヨミダス歴史館」(KU ID and password required), provides selected materials for the variety of topics and different reading levels. One category 「ルビつきの記事」 collects articles with furigana. Click the title to jump to KU's online ctalog record, then follow the instruction. When you log in to the newspaper database, scroll down to find 「ルビつきの記事」,
Advanced
- 聞蔵ビジュアル: 朝日新聞オンライン記事データベース
Provides all published articles by the company since 1984, including Asahi Shinbun and its regional editions, weekly magazines AREA (May 1988-) and Shukan Asahi (April 2000-). Also contains searchable image database of actual published newspapers between 1945 and 1984, and as of Jan. 2009, the database contains approx. 8 million articles. KU ID and password required.
多読（たどく）用の本
These websites are designed for those interested in 多読(たどく=extensive reading). The freely available readings are created by those teachers and students who practiced tadoku.
- にほんごたどく 無料の読みものThe materials are categorized by the level of difficulty, L0 to L4. All texts are downloadable and printable.
- KCよむよむCreated by Kansai International Center (KC), the materials are divided by the level of difficulty, A1-A2/B1. All texts are downloadable/printable.
- Collection of Creative Writing by Learners of Japanese Relay EssayA relay Essay written by the third- and fourth- year students of Japanese language, UCLA.
- 読み物いっぱいThis site offers copyright-free stories targeting elementary to intermediate level learners (levels 1-3).
青空文庫 and related sites
- 青空文庫 (original)青空文庫 is the most famous Japanese digital library which collects several thousands of copyright free works and those works that the authors with to make them freely available. The digital texts are created and uploaded by volunteers. The layout is not reader friendly, however.
- えあ草紙：青空図書館This site presents the texts available in 青空文庫 in more reader friendly layout. Texts are placed vertically and readers can read the text as if they read a book. Search by author or title of works. You can also select titles from the list of 「人気作品」or 「セレクション」. Then click 「えあ草紙で読む」
『えんとつの町のプペル』(Poupelle of Chimney Town)
『えんとつの町のプペル』 is a children's literature written by Akihiro Nishino, also known as a comedian ”Kinkon Nishino." He decided to release his work for free. Available both in Japanese and English. An animated film was released in December 2020.
コンプリート・シャーロック・ホームズ
The original detective stories featuring Sherlock Holmes, created by Sir Arthur Conan Dolye has been extremely popular in Japan, and there are many Japanese translations. Although the copyright for the original works have been expired, the Japanese translated works are still protected. Therefore the owner of this site re-translates the original text and make them available. The original illustrations by Sidney Paget are also included. The below is the list of short stories. To see the full list, click here.
- 『シャーロック・ホームズの冒険』(The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes)12 short stories, including 「赤毛組合 (The Red-Headed League)」and 「まだらの紐 (The Adventure of the Speckled Band )」.
- 『シャーロック・ホームズの回想』(The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes)11 short stories, including 「グロリア・スコット号事件(The Adventure of the Gloria Scott)」 and 「最後の事件 (The Final Problem)」.