About This Page
This page is recommended for those enrolled in JPN 562 or JPN 564 and beyond. The 'Level 4 Books" squares include authentic materials with no helping furigana. They also contain some special materials detailing creative processes of animation or translations of popular American and European literature. Any other books series maintains some furigana with more complex kanji but has added more kanji without furigana.
Level 4 Books
Art of かぐや姬の物語 = the Tale of the Princess Kaguya by Call Number: folio PN1997.5 .K3485 2014ISBN: 9784198100162Publication Date: 2014Sample text is taken from page 8.
The art of Laputa by Call Number: folio PN1997.5 .T4646 1986Publication Date: 1986Sample text is taken from page 45.
アニメーションを展示する : 三鷹の森ジブリ美術館企画展示「千と千尋の神隠し」 = Exhibiting animation : "Spirited away" a special exhibition at the Ghibli Museum, MitakaCall Number: folio PN1997.5.S4423 A75 2002ISBN: 9784198100070Publication Date: 2002Sample text is taken from page 10.
「千と千尋の神隠し」 by Call Number: folio PN1997.5.S4423 S46 2001Publication Date: 2001Sample text is taken from page 22.
Lovers : 恋愛アンサロジー by Call Number: PL770.6.L6 L68 2003ISBN: 4396331223Publication Date: 2003Sample text is taken from page 16.
短篇ベストコレクション : 現代の小說2006 by Call Number: PL775 .T362 2006ISBN: 9784198924423Publication Date: 2006Sample text is taken from page 16.
短篇ベストコレクション : 現代の小說 2009 by Call Number: PL775 .T362 2009ISBN: 9784198929930Publication Date: 2009Sample text is taken from page 15.
妖しいクレヨン箱 by Call Number: PL845.T6 A93 1991ISBN: 406184895XPublication Date: 1991Sample text is taken from page 20.
Bokko-chan by Call Number: PL852.O8 B6 1971 c.2Publication Date: 1971Sample text is taken from page 12.
妖精配給会社 by Call Number: PL852.O8 Y67 1976ISBN: 4101098093Publication Date: 1976Sample text is taken from page 14.
村上ラヂオ by Call Number: PL856.U673 M894 2001ISBN: 9784838713141Publication Date: 2001Sample text is taken from page 18.
Kora by Call Number: PL857.A3857 K67 1994ISBN: 9784087481280Publication Date: 1994Sample text is taken from page 16.
カクテル・パーティー by Call Number: PL858.S55 K27 1967Publication Date: 1967Sample text is taken from page 21.
ももこのいきもの図鑑 by Call Number: PL861.A53 M66 1994ISBN: 4838705417Publication Date: 1994Sample text is taken from page 13.
伊藤計劃記錄 = Project Itoh archives by Call Number: PL871.5.T65 A6 2010ISBN: 9784152091161Publication Date: 2010Sample text is taken from page 44.
Series 1
落語 : 「馬小屋の火事」「風呂敷包み」 = Rakugo : "Fire in the stable" and "The furoshiki bundle" by Call Number: PL537 .N546 2016 vol. 4-1ISBN: 9784469222524Publication Date: 2016Sample text is taken from page 14.
女王卑弥呼 = Queen Himiko by Call Number: PL537 .N546 2016 vol. 4-2ISBN: 9784469222524Publication Date: 2016Sample text is taken from page 3.
広島・宮島 = Hiroshima and Miyajima by Call Number: PL537 .N546 2016 vol. 4-3ISBN: 9784469222524Publication Date: 2016Sample text is taken from page 18.
奈良の大仏 = The great Buddha of Nara by Call Number: PL537 .N546 2016 vol. 4-4ISBN: 9784469222524Publication Date: 2016Sample text is taken from page 18.
おちくぼ物語 = Tales of Ochikubo by Call Number: PL537 .N546 2016 vol. 4-5ISBN: 9784469222524Publication Date: 2016Sample text is taken from page 7.
京都 = Kyoto by Call Number: PL537 .N546 2016 vol. 5-1ISBN: 9784469222531Publication Date: 2016Sample text is taken from page 6.
中国の悲しい恋物語 : 「孟姜女」「梁山伯と祝英台」= Tragic Chinese love stories : "Lady Meng Jiang" and "Butterfly lovers" by Call Number: PL537 .N546 2016 vol. 5-2ISBN: 9784469222531Publication Date: 2016Sample text is taken from page 11.
信長・秀吉・家康 : 戦国時代を生きた三武 = Nobunaga Hideyoshi, and Ieyasu : three shoguns from Civil War era by Call Number: PL537 .N546 2016 vol. 5-3ISBN: 9784469222531Publication Date: 2016Sample text is taken from page 12.
クリスマス・キャロル = A Christmas carol by Call Number: PL537 .N546 2016 vol. 5-4ISBN: 9784469222531Publication Date: 2016Sample text is taken from page 4.
羅生門. トロッコ = The great gate of Rasho. The railway truck by Call Number: PL537 .N546 2016 vol. 6-1ISBN: 9784469222548Publication Date: 2016Sample text is taken from page 4.
赤毛クラブ = The Red-Headed League by Call Number: PL537 .N546 2016 vol. 6-2ISBN: 9784469222548Publication Date: 2016Sample text is taken from page 6.
坂本龍馬 : 日本を変えた若者 = Sakamoto Ryoma : a young man who changed the course for Japan by Call Number: PL537 .N546 2016 vol. 6-3ISBN: 9784469222548Publication Date: 2016Sample text is taken from page 8.
野口英世 : 日本が生んだ世界的医学者 = Noguchi Hideyo : a doctor born in Japan but devoted to people all around the world by Call Number: PL537 .N546 2016 vol. 6-4ISBN: 9784469222548Publication Date: 2016Sample text is taken from page 11.
Level 4 Books Cont.
東宝特撮怪獣映画大全集 = Godzilla movie chronicle : 1954-2004 by Call Number: PN1995.9.G63Publication Date: 2005Sample text is taken from page 6.
ハウルの動く城 = Howl’s moving castle by Call Number: PN1997.2.H395 H38 2016ISBN: 9784168120121Publication Date: 2016Sample text is taken from page 13.
夜廻り猫 by Call Number: PN6790.J33 F86369 2017 vol. 1ISBN: 9784063378597Publication Date: 2017The sample page is taken from page 57 of vol. 1.
Axis Powers ヘタリア by Call Number: PN6790.J33 H5634 2008 vol.1ISBN: 9784344812758Publication Date: 2008The sample text is taken from page 51.
よちよち文藝部 by Call Number: PN6790.J33 K8948 2012ISBN: 9784163757506Publication Date: 2012The sample text is taken from page 22 of volume1.
ぼくの描いた戦争 by Call Number: PN6790.J33 T494 2004ISBN: 9784584195628Publication Date: 2004The sample text is taken from page 290 of volume1.
Pluto = プルートゥ by Call Number: PN6790.J33 U7378 2004 vol.1ISBN: 4091877567Publication Date: 2004Sample text is taken from page 33.
山岸凉子スペシャルセレクション by Call Number: PN6790.J33 Y3585 2009 vol. 1ISBN: 9784267905315Publication Date: 2009The sample text is taken from page 99.
そばもん : ニッポン蕎麦行脚 by Call Number: PN6790.J33 Y3617 2009 vol.1ISBN: 9784091824950Publication Date: 2009The sample text is taken from page 72 of volume 11.
テルマエ・ロマエ by Call Number: PN6790.J33 Y3698 2009 vol.1ISBN: 9784047261273Publication Date: 2009Sample text is taken from page 17.
不思議な少年 : a wonder boy by Call Number: PN6790.J33 Y36425 2001 vol. 1ISBN: 4063287726Publication Date: 2001Sample text is taken from page 7.
冬の夢 by Call Number: PS3511.I9 W56163 2011ISBN: 9784124035339Publication Date: 2011Sample text is taken from page 20.
英雄を謳うまい by Call Number: PS3553.A7894 N616 2008ISBN: 9784124035087Publication Date: 2008Sample text is taken from page 47.
ジュニア版日本文学
60 volumes of a collection of famous Japanese literature from the Meiji to early Showa Era, designed for elementary to junior high school students. Kana is added to most of the kanji characters. Search KU online catalog with call number PL753 .J9595 for more titles.
To see a sample text, please click on the cover image or title.
羅生門・トロッコ by Call Number: PL753 .J9595 v. 6Publication Date: 1964Collection of short stories by Akutagawa Ryunosuke.
Sample text is taken from page 60.- 走れメロス・女生徒 by Call Number: PL753 .J9595 v. 10Publication Date: 1964Collection of short stories by Dazai Osamu.
Sample text is taken from page 289. - 智恵子抄 by Call Number: PL753 .J9595 v. 47Publication Date: 1968Collection of poems about Takamura's wife Chieko.
Sample text is taken from page 12.
日本古典物語全集
30 volumes of a collection of Japanese classic literature up until the Edo Period for elementary to junior high school students. Kana is provided alongside kanji characters. Search KU online catalog with call number PL753 .N54 1975 for more titles.
To see a sample text in a new tab, please click on the cover image or the title.
日本神話物語(にほんしんわものがたり)Call Number: PL753 .N54 1975 vol. 1Publication Date: 1975Sample text is taken from page 21.
平家物語(へいけものがたり)Call Number: PL753 .N54 1975 vol. 10Publication Date: 1975Sample text is taken from page 31.
俳句物語(はいくものがたり)Call Number: PL753 .N54 1975 vol. 28Publication Date: 1975Sample text is taken from page 248.
Collection of Essays: 天声人語 = Vox Populi, Vox Deli (Bilingual)
A collection of essays which appear on the front page of Asahi Shinbun. Each essay is approx. 600 words. KU has collections published around 2000. Seach KU Online catalog with call number AC145 .T46 for more details.
To see a sample text, please click on the cover image or the title.
天声人語 = Vox Populi, Vox Dei 2001 春Call Number: AC145 .T46 v. 124 Spring 2001Publication Date: 2001Sample text is taken from page 150.
Series 3
永井隆 : 原爆の地長崎に生きて by Call Number: PL537 .R434 2006 vol. 2Publication Date: 2006Sample text is taken from page 6.- 杜子春 byCall Number: PL537 .R434 2006 vol. 3Publication Date: 2006
走れメロス by Call Number: PL537 .R434 2006 vol. 4Publication Date: 2006Sample text is taken from page 8.
野菊の墓 by Call Number: PL537 .R434 2006 vol. 5ISBN: 9784872176278Publication Date: 2006Sample text is taken from page 4.
小泉八雲の怖い話 2 by Call Number: PL537 .R434 2006 vol. 7Publication Date: 2007Sample text is taken from page 4.
東京を步こう! by Call Number: PL537 .R434 2006 vol. 8Publication Date: 2007Sample text is taken from page 3.
世界のどこかで日本のどこかで : 本当にあった話 by Call Number: PL537 .R434 2006 vol. 9Publication Date: 2007Sample text is taken from page 8.
森鷗外短編集 ; 高瀬舟 ; 最後の一句 by Call Number: PL537 .R434 2006 vol. 10ISBN: 9784872176445Publication Date: 2007Sample text is taken from page 2.
日本の食卓 by Call Number: PL537 .R434 2006 vol. 11Publication Date: 2017Sample text is taken from page 10.
坊ちゃん by Call Number: PL537 .R434 2006 vol. 12-13 v.1Publication Date: 2017Sample text is taken from page 5.
坊ちゃん by Call Number: PL537 .R434 2006 vol. 12-13 v.2Publication Date: 2017Sample text is taken from page 13.
四十七人の侍 by Call Number: PL537 .R434 2006 vol. 14Publication Date: 2017Sample text is taken from page 8.
ローマの休日 = Roman holiday by Call Number: PL537 .R434 2006 vol. 15ISBN: 9784866390659Publication Date: 2017Sample text is taken from page 10.
南雲堂学生文庫 = Nanun-do's Pocket Phoenix Library (Bilingual)
Bilingual series containing well-known fiction, biographies, folk tales, etc. Each volume has at least 90 pages. Search KU online catalog by call number PN6065.J3 N36 to find more titles.
To see a sample text in a pop-up image, please click the cover image.
醜いあひるの子・他 = The Ugly Duckling and Other TalesCall Number: PN6065.J3 N36 vol. 1Sample text is taken from pages 34-35.
漁夫とその魂 = The Fisherman and His Soul & Other StoryCall Number: PN6065.J3 N36 vol. 2Sample text is taken from pages 122-123.
ドゥリトル先生物語 = The Story of Doctor DolittleCall Number: PN6065.J3 N36 vol. 5ISBN: 4523240051Publication Date: 1968Sample text is taken from pages 116-117.
不思議の国のアリス＝Alice's Adventures in Wonderland by Call Number: PN6065.J3 N36 vol. 15Sample text is taken from page 104-105
Related Sites
- 聞蔵ビジュアル: 朝日新聞オンライン記事データベースProvides all published articles by the company since 1984, including Asahi Shinbun and its regional editions, weekly magazines AREA (May 1988-) and Shukan Asahi (April 2000-). Also contains searchable image database of actual published newspapers between 1945 and 1984, and as of Jan. 2009, the database contains approx. 8 million articles.