*Japanese Studies General Guide: Meida, Film and Theatre

The main contents are handbills (chirashi), press kits, theater pamphlets, and film newsletters, as well as catalogs, from approx. 1970 to the present. Most are in Japanese, with some English-language publicity materials. The collection currently covers over 600 contemporary Japanese directors and their films along with major film festivals and film events in Japan, offering a comprehensive resource of contemporary Japanese film and visual culture.

実在の人物が誰によって演じられているか、映画やドラマの登場人物とキャスティングのデータベース。

テレビドラマが放映期間、放送枠などで検索できる他、関連する人名、主題歌等も収録。

国立国会図書館所蔵の1900－1950年頃のSP盤等の音源をデジタル化したもの。一部インターネットで公開。

NHKが保存している過去の番組・ニュースのアーカイブスの中から約10,000本の映像を、インターネットで提供するサービス。特別テーマ：「東日本大震災」「戦争証言」「テレビ60年特選コレクション」など。

メリーランド大学のプランゲ文庫の雑誌・新聞記事のインデックスデータベース。

消失や散逸の危機にある貴重な記録映画を体系的に収集・保存・公開し、映像を用いた多様な研究・教育の可能性を開くことを目的とするプロジェクト。(added 4/14/2014)

This archive is one of the largest independent film libraries in the US. Their commercial archive database includes more than 50,000 films. Short sample clips are available to preview.

日本で製作された科学映画をアーカイブし、無料配信。

This digital archive shows texts by noh play writes such as Konparu Zenpo, Kanze Kojiro, etc., which is provided by the Nogami Memorial Noh Theatre Research Institute.

"[R]cords include authoritative, detailed, multilingual descriptions of digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, and complex media objects related to the performing arts around the world, plus information about related pieces, productions, performers, and creators." -- "About GloPAD."

Approx. 1500 lantern slides created in Japan in 1930s are available to search.

2014年末公開に先んじて、幻燈用スライドのデータベースを暫定公開。

国立劇場・国立演芸場・国立能楽堂・国立文楽劇場における歌舞伎、能、文楽などの自主公演について検索できるサイト。

YIDFF's 311 Documentary Film Archive collects, catalogs, preserves and provides access to documentary films and related materials about the Great East Japan Earthquake of March 11, 2011. --- From the site.

Provided by UNIJAPAN, a non-profit organization which aims at supporting and promoting Japanese films abroad. This database currently features the official details of more than 6,400 Japanese films in both English and Japanese.

Hosted by the National Film Archive of Japan, this database allows you to search scripts, posters, pamphlets, stills and other resources on films and their holding institutions.

Provided by the National Film Archive of Japan, this site offers a selection of films of the Great Kanto Earthquakes of 1923.

Photo and video database provided by Asahi Newspaper. Registered users can feely search this database. Payment is required for the use of photos.

日本内外の映画フィルム及び映画関係資料の収集・保存・復元とこれらについての調査・研究

メディア芸術に関する様々な情報をピックアップして掲載するWEBサイト。文化庁監修。

Aims to refocus academic attention on the current industry, markets and texts for Japanese film. Includes open access documents.

Devoted to the study of Japanese moving image media. This site serves both to introduce their activities, such as the KineJapan mailing list and their conferences and workshops, as well promote information and thinking about films, research, bibliography, and education.

The most comprehensive archive of Japanese publications issued 1945-1949. The collection covers 71,000 books and pamphlet, 13,800 magazines, 18,000 newspapers, and 10,000 news agency photos.

Preserve and provide science films produced in Japan. Currently 626 films are available.

A collection of news and entertainment video film archive. The British Pathé claims to have an unparalleled collection of historical events and a vast catalog of changing social activity, encompassing one of the world's most prodigious and fascinating documents of the modern age. All 85,000 newsreels are now searchable and viewable on YouTube (https://www.youtube.com/user/britishpathe).

This institution was founded in 1952 to commemorate the accomplishments of a former President of the university, Dr. Nogami Toyoichiro, who is known for his works in the Noh theater. This institute embraces both historical and contemporary aspects of noh and kyogen, which are one of Japan's oldest theatrical forms.

Created by Prof. Keiko Sasagawa of Kansai University, this site introduces the history of 帝国キネマ演芸株式会社 and resources on the company.

The official site of the NFAJ, established in 1952. This site provides access to the digitized collection of films and other materials.

Part of the Special Collection at the University of Chicago Library. "This Japanese jazz collection contains research photocopies of journal articles, book chapters, and monographs in Japanese and English, newspaper and periodical clippings, memorabilia (event flyers, brochures, business cards, matchboxes), correspondence, handwritten research and interview notes, non-commercial audio and video tapes and discs, and interview tapes and discs that Atkins gathered and produced while conducting research as a Fulbright Fellow in Yokohama, Japan from 1993 to 1995, and during a later research trip to Japan in July 1998." Linked to its Finding Aids.

庵野秀明と樋口真嗣監修による特撮撮影に関する現状と技術保存を考える調査報告書。

黒澤明が脚本家小國英雄、菊島隆三と共同執筆した『虎　虎　虎』シナリオ準備稿。

"The final reports of long-term studies, collaborations, and comprehensive researches regarding wider themes, along with analytical researches and various essays are available on this bulletin. It was first launched in 1956 and is issued in March of each year." -- from NHK site.

"NHK Broadcasting Studies is an English journal dispatched from Atago-yama to broadcasting media researchers and research institutions around the world. Since its first edition was published, this journal has received a flood of correspondence from researchers, universities, and libraries throughout the world, thus proving to be a powerful tool in constructing a global network for the digital broadcasting era." -- from NHK site. Ceased publication since Feb. 2011.

"The Japanese eroduction, known locally as the Pink Film (pinku eiga), stands out among its soft-core cousins in other parts of the world for its scale, intimate relationship to the mainstream industry, and its occasional ambition. Pink films are ultra-low budget, soft-core, 35mm narrative feature films. They emerged in the early 1960s and quickly became a significant portion of Japan’s annual output (between 100 and 700 films a year), showing triple bills in their own network of national theater chains. Their success was accomplished in the vacuum left by the crumbling studio system. Today, the industry is itself in its death throes, unable to compete with the more explicit home video market known as AV. Triple bills in air conditioned comfort can no longer compete with the privacy of home. Now is an opportune time to examine the history of the Pink Film, now on the cusp of its disappearance." -- Kinema Club.

Commercial, personal subscription service that costs 980 yen/month. Subscribers can watch theatrical plays by contemporary Japanese independent theater groups.