This guide is designed for those who are studying Japanese art history. In addition to providing scholarly databases for art history studies, this online guide provides links to a variety of online sites pertinent to Japanese art, including art journal sites, museums, image databases, etc. To find a more comprehensive guide for Japanese Studies, please click the tab titled "Japanese Studies: General Guide." Click here if you are looking for a general online guide for art history.
Selected Databases (Japanese)
- Zasshi kiji sakuin shusei detabesu This link opens in a new windowThis is an index database for Japanese magazines and scholarly journals published from the Meiji era to present day. Pre-1945 records include publications in former colonial areas of Japan.
- CiNii ArticlesThis is an index database for academic articles published in academic society journals, university research bulletins or articles included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database. Bibliographic records may be linked to the full text, if available.
- 美術雑誌データベース The University Museum, the University of TokyoThis is an index database for the major art magazines published from Meiji to early Showa periods. Scroll down and click 「美術雑誌データベースへすすむ」at the bottom of the page.
- 東文研総合検索= Library Database by Tokyo National Institute for Cultural PropertiesThis library database allows you to search the collection held by Tokyo National Institute for Cultural Properties, including auction catalogs and exhibition catalogs.
Selected Databases （English)
This box selectively lists databases pertinent to art and art history, all are available via KU. Click here to see a complete list of databases.
- Getty Research PortalThis database provides a "free online search platform providing worldwide access to an extensive collection of digitized art history texts from a range of institutions" (Getty Research Portal Website).
- Academic search complete This link opens in a new windowContains full-text peer reviewed journal articles as well as newspapers, blogs, wire services, and general interest periodicals from across all academic disciplines.
This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the State Library of Kansas. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access of all licensed JSTOR archival journals and primary sources. The collection covers all academic disciplines.
Recommended Japanese Online Resources
- Japan Search: Find digital archives in Japan
A national platform for aggregating metadata of digital resources of various fields. "By linking digital archives from a wide variety of fields and regions, and organizing the various contents preserved by each institution into searchable metadata through Japan Search, clarifying the location of the contents, and enabling Japan's digital information resources to be found efficiently, we are endeavoring for their effective use throughout Japan." from the site. - 国立国会図書館サーチ (National Diet Library Search)Integrated search service of catalogs and digital archives including NDL and other institutions.
- CiNii ResearchIndex database for books, scholarly articles and dissertations produced in Japan.
- 国書データベース = Union Catalogue Database of Japanese TextsCombining the "Union Catalogue of Early Japanese Books" and the "Database of Pre-Modern Japanese Works," this new database is the largest digital reference on pre-modern Japanese works. This allows users to search and use bibliographic information and high-resolution images of Japanese manuscripts and prints before Edo period, held by the National Institute of Japanese Literature and many other institutions and owners at home and overseas.
- Art Research Center, Ritsumeikan University (立命館大学アート・リサーチ・センター)A portal site through which the variety of databases on Japanese culture, literature, art, and performing arts are accessible
Art Journals (Full Text)
- 『みづゑ』1905-1912みづゑ, one of the most established Japanese art magazines, was published 1905-1993. The articles published from 1905-1909 have been digitized by the National Research Institute for Cultural Properties, Tokyo.
- 『日本美術画報』『美術画報』1895-1924This resource has been archived by the Tokyo National Research Institute for Cultural Properties. To view the full text, select the issue you would like from the left box under book viewer. To turn the page, click the left bottom corner of the digitized page.
Art Journals (Table of Contents ONLY)
- 『近代画説』 by 明治美術学会Scroll down to find the list of back issues, then click the appropriate issue. This periodical is available at the art library: Call number: ND1054.5 .K52
- 『美術史』by美術史學會Scroll down to find the list of back issues, then click the appropriate issue. This periodical is available at the art library: Call number: folio N8 .B595
- 『国華』by Asahi ShinbunFirst published in October 1889, Kokka is the oldest periodical of Asian art, and it still continues. This resource is in Japanese, with some summaries in English. This journal is available at the art library: Call number: folio ND 1036 .K6x
- 『美術手帖』by 美術手帖社Click the thumbnail of the cover to see the table of contents. This periodical is available at the art library: Call number: N8 .B59
- 『美術フォーラム21』Click the thumbnail of the cover to see the table of contents. Older issues are available at the art library: Call number: N8.J3 B55.
If you are looking for issues not held by KU, please make a document delivery or ILL request. - 『アート・ドキュメンテーション研究』Linked to the list of publications published by アート・ドキュメンテーション学会 (Japan Art Documentation Society).
- 『美術の窓』To find the table of contents, click the thumbnail of the cover of the issue you would like to read, then click 「目次」.
- 『アートコレクターズ』To find the table of contents, click the thumbnail of the cover of the issue you would like to read, then click 「目次」.
Periodicals and Publishers on Art
- 美術手帖A platform which provides art related news, interviews, reviews, etc.