Find Films at KU Libraries
KU Libraries have been collecting films pertining to the study of Japan for research and teaching purpose. The collection covers a variety of generes and subjects, from anime to zen mostly in DVD and VHS format. Most of DVDs are available at Watson Video Collection area (3F), but some films are located at branch libraries, such as Art & Architecture, Music, and Anschutz Library. All VHS tapes have been moved to Annex Storage, but they can be retrieved and checked out upon retrieval request. All films are searchable via KU Online Catalog:
Library of Congress classification numbers. | Watson Library stack map: Click Here
KU Libraries also provide access to streaming video services. For more information about the service, please check here.
Please note:
- The films acquired from Japan may be in Japanese language only. Please read the bibliographic information on the film to identify if the material is in English dialogue or contains English subtitles.
- The DVDs acquired from Japan are often in Region Code 2, which is different from the US. Your personal DVD player (Region Code 1) may not be able to play the DVD.
- The DVDs are contained in a case with a lock. Users are required to check them out at the Circuation Desk for use.
- The PCs at the KU Libraries are all equipped with VLC media player which can play DVDs irrespective of their region codes.
- A VHS player is also available at the third floor of Watson. Please ask the Circulation Desk. VHS players are not available at Anschutz nor the Art & Architecture Library.
- Watson Library provides headphones. Please ask the Circulation Desk.
- Unless reserved, films are usually available for checkout for one week with $2.00 per day overdue charge (maxing out at $20.00 total).
- KU Libraries is also procuring some Blu-ray titles, but the University of Kansas overall does not have much of instructional support for this format. Users are expected to use their own players.
Streaming Videos
This box lists the variety of streaming video services provided by KU or available for free.
- Moving Image Archive (Internet Archive)Contains over 1.3 million digital movies, many of which are available for free to download. Collaborating institutions include the Library of Congress and the Smithsonian.
- Films on demand This link opens in a new windowThis web-based digital video delivery service allows users to view streaming videos from Films Media Group 24/7. Choose from more than 20,000+ educational titles in dozens of subject areas.
- Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new windowThis aggregated database provides access to all of KU’s Alexander Street Press collections. Video, audio, and text covering a wide variety of subject matters are included. In addition to contemporary sources, this database contains significant amounts of primary sources.
- American history in video This link opens in a new windowThe collection contains commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries covering all aspects of American history.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowA streaming video on-demand service which provides access to educational films.
How to find Japanese Films through the EGARC Page
The EGARC catalog is also another great source to find Japanese feature films and documentaries in a number of formats (VHS; DVD; Laser Disk). Here's a starting point to help you with your search of all available Japanese titles in the EGARC Catalog:
- Click 'Catalog' on the top toolbar of the EGARC page, and log in using your KU Username and Password
- On the 'Catalog' page, you will see a range of clickable search fields (i.e. Subject Area). On each of the search fields, click all of the necessary search parameters.
- Subject Area would be "Japanese", Item Type would be whatever media format you are looking for, and then finally the 'Sort By:' bar. Title Search A-Z is reccommended, but you are welcome to do whatever suits your needs.