What's this page about?
This page contains selected article databases useful for Japanese Studies. Some databases are full-text while others are index only. Each database has different coverage, so it is highly recommended that you try multiple databases to do a thorough search. If you find bibliographic records of interest from index databases, please search the KU Online Catalog to find out which journal publishes the article. If we don't have the journal, please place an interlibrary loan request.
If you are looking for a list of databases available through KU, click here. For a list of databases useful for East Asian Studies, click here.
Major Databases and Institutional Repositories for Articles, Theses and Dissertations (Mainly Japanese)
- Zasshi kiji sakuin shusei detabesu This link opens in a new window雑誌記事索引集成データベース is an index database for Japanese magazines and scholarly journals published from the Meiji era to the present. Pre-1945 records include publications in former colonial areas of Japan.
- CiNii ResearchProvided by the National Institute of Informatics, CiNii Research is a simple interface that allows cross-search books, journal articles, and research data from external collaborating institutions and institutional repositories. Though CiNii Research is an index database, it provides a link to full body/text, if available.
- 『週刊エコノミスト(Weekly Economist)』 in JapanKnowledgeIn JapanKnowledge, you can search the full-text articles published in the previous and current year's 『週刊エコノミスト』. Click here to get access to JapanKnowledge, then select 『週刊エコノミスト』 from the list of contents.
- 『週刊朝日』／『AERA』 in 聞蔵IIビジュアル for LibrariesIn 朝日新聞クロスサーチ, you can search the full-text articles published in weekly magazines 『週刊朝日』『AERA』. Click here to get access to 聞蔵II, then select 『週刊朝日』 and/or 『AERA』.
- J-Stage: 科学技術情報発信・流通総合システムDeveloped by Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST), this sites provides accesses to academic societies in the fields of science and technology and their pulications. For English interface, click here.
- 国文学論文目録データベース国文学研究資料館で所蔵している日本国内で発表された雑誌紀要単行本（論文集）等に収められた、日本文学・日本語学・日本語教育の研究論文に関する情報を掲載。
- 国文学研究資料館学術情報リポジトリ National Institute of Japanese Literature Repository『国文学研究資料館紀要』や各調査報告書等を一般公開。(4/2/2015 added)
- Japan Search: Find digital archives in Japan
A national platform for aggregating metadata of digital resources of various fields. "By linking digital archives from a wide variety of fields and regions, and organizing the various contents preserved by each institution into searchable metadata through Japan Search, clarifying the location of the contents, and enabling Japan's digital information resources to be found efficiently, we are endeavoring for their effective use throughout Japan." from the site.
Major Databases and Institutional Repositories for Articles, Theses and Dissertations (mainly English)
- Directory of Open Access Journals: DOAJThis site aims to provide access to all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. Includes English and/or Japanese language online journals published in Japan. Full-Text; mainly English
- The Asia-Pacific Journal: Japan FocusPeer-reviewed, open source journal, which contains more than 2,000 articles, seeks to illuminate the geopolitics, economics, history, society, culture, international relations and forces for change in the modern and contemporary Asia-Pacific.
- Annotated Bibliography by Rising Powers Initiative (RPI)Edited bibliography of books and articles on the themes and countries featured in the RPI,a multi-year, cross-national research effort that examines the role of domestic identities and foreign policy debates of aspiring powers in Asia and Eurasia. Select your country or topic of interest from the list on the left, then click “filter.” The resulting bibliography can be printed or shared, using the buttons on the upper right-hand corner. Under each bibliographic entry, click on "Summary/Abstract” for the publisher’s summary of the book or the journal article’s abstract. (added 4/29/2014)
Other Online Resources
- 歴史学関係雑誌論文新着情報国会図書館の雑索の採録誌の中から歴史学関係（と思われる）雑誌の新着情報をツイッターで紹介。