Books about Haiti
More book titles about Haiti by these authors can be viewed in the KU Libraries catalog. Search by AUTHOR.
The Big Truck That Went By: how the world came to save Haiti and left behind a disaster by Publication Date: 2013An assessment of how Haiti has fared after the 2010 earthquake reveals how the country continues to suffer from poverty, illness, and a broken infrastructure, assessing the factors that prevent aid from reaching people in need.
Farewell, Fred Voodoo : a letter from Haiti by Publication Date: 2013Describes the author’s long and painful relationship with Haiti before and after the 2010 earthquake, tracing the country’s turbulent history and its status as a symbol of human rights activism and social transformation.
Reproducing Inequities: poverty and the politics of population in Haiti by Publication Date: 2006
Paradise lost: Haiti’s tumultuous journey from Pearl of the Caribbean to Third World hot spot / Philippe R. Girard by ISBN: 140396887XPublication Date: 2005
Pathologies of Power : health, human rights, and the new war on the poor by Publication Date: 2003
The Uses of Haiti by Publication Date: 1994
History of Haiti
Historical dictionary of Haiti by Publication Date: 1977Latin American historical dictionaries ; no. 15
Caribbean Map and Cuba
Map of Haiti
https://www.worldatlas.com/webimage/countrys/namerica/caribb/ht.htm
Digital Resources about the years before the Haitian Revolution
The Battle of Vertières during the Saint Domingue Revolution was fought between Haitian rebels and French forces.
- A Review of "A Colony in Crisis"Written by Anne Eller
- How feeding slaves shaped the French Atlantic: mercantilism and the crisis of food provisioning in the Franco-Caribbean during the seventeenth and eighteenth centuriesBook chapter by Dr. Bertie Mandelblatt focuses on the grain dispute.
- Haiti Digital LibraryOnline resources about the Haitian Revolution, specifically historical materials.
- Marronnage in Saint-Domingue (Haïti)An electronic interface meant to decompartementalise the archives of slavery in the French Atlantic world.
Resources, Projects, Archives, and Library Initiatives related to Haiti
- Libraries without Borders - Haiti
- Digital Library of the Caribbean
- DLOC - Protecting Haitian Patrimony Initiative
- FOKAL
- Haiti Soleil
- Smithsonian Haiti Cultural Recovery Project
- Duke Haiti Lab
- Remember Haiti Exhibit - John Carter Brown Library - Brown University
- KU Haitian Creole Resources
- Best Practices for Reconstruction: Technology - enhanced and open education in Haitian universities (MIT Symposium)
- Haiti Digital LibraryThis site, produced by Duke’s Haiti Lab, is meant to serve as a guide and portal to online resources about Haiti, specifically historical materials relating to the country and writings by Haitian authors.
- Haiti and the Atlantic WorldSources and Resources for Discussions about Haiti and Haitian History
- Haiti: An Island LuminousCreated by historian Adam M. Silvia and hosted online by Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC), An Island Luminous combines rare books, manuscripts, and photos scanned by archives and libraries in Haiti and the United States with commentary by over one hundred (100) authors from universities around the world.
- GallicaThe National Library of France
- John Carter Brown Library - Haiti CollectionThe John Carter Brown Library holds one of the world's great collections relating to Haiti.
- The Public ArchiveThe Public Archive was initiated to serve as an accessible clearinghouse of historical essays, archival sources, and informed contemporary journalism on Haiti.
2010 Earthquake in Haiti
http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Books/Pix/pictures/2013/1/10/1357832164795/Haiti-earthquake-scene-010.jpg
Collapsed buildings following the magnitude-7 earthquake that struck Haiti on Jan. 12, 2010.
- U.S. Geological Survey - HaitiGeological Survey regarding help in Haiti and the role of the environment.
- Bound by Haiti - filmBound by Haiti is the story of Aaron Jackson and John Dieubon – two young international activists forced to deal with the tragedy of the Haiti earthquake first-hand.
- Haiti Earthquake - Where were you?World History in Video - Alexander Street.
- Haiti after the earthquake [electronic resource]Washington, D.C. : U.S. Institute of Peace, [2010]
- Haiti Earthquake documentaryWhere Were You (Geelong, Victoria: World Wide Entertainment, 2011), 24:25 mins
- Haiti Memory ProjectThe Haiti Memory Project is an oral history project about the January 12, 2010, earthquake and post-earthquake life.
Iinformations sur Haïti
- Île en îleCulture, Arts culinaires, Arts plastiques, Cinéma, Danse, Langue, Littérature, Musique, Photographie, Théâtre, Voyages et tourisme, Patrimoine, Croyances et traditions, Histoire, Associations et îliens, Gouvernement, Presse haïtienne, Radios et télévision haïtiennes, Archives numérisées et portails, Bibliothèques et centres culturels, Editeurs et librairies, Musées, Revues culturelles
Curriculum Materials
- Life and Debt in Haiti: Curriculum Materials(Duke Univ. - Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies)
Description: Too often discussions about less wealthy nations (also called “Third World,” “developing” or “poor”) focus on conflict and poverty without analyzing the root causes of those things. This curriculum will focus on a key aspect of conflict and poverty in poor countries—the diminishing domestic agriculture sector—and examine some of the international actors in its decline.
KU ScholarWorks
KU ScholarWorks is the digital repository of the University of Kansas. It contains scholarly work created by KU faculty and staff, as well as material from the University Archives.
Bryant Freeman's Institute for Haitian Studies publications are available at KU ScholarWorks. Click here.
The University of Kansas has been home to the Institute for Haitian Studies since 1992, when it was founded by Bryant Freeman, currently an emeritus professor of French and Italian, and a leading specialist in the Haitian language. The publications, now available online, span the years 1992-2000 and include:
- anthropological and historical resources
- works on Haitian Creole
- organization charts of the Haitian judiciary and military
- historical and present-day maps of Haiti
- critical bibliography of English-language books on Haiti
- Professor Freeman's Haitian-English English-Haitian Medical Dictionary
Radio Haiti
Haitian Diaspora
- Haitian Immigration - In Motion: The African American Migration ExperienceNew York Public Library
- Haitian Diaspora Oral HistoriesIncludes videos and outlines of oral history interviews conducted with individuals of Haitian ancestry that are well-renowned in the world of culture and the arts, education, community activism, civic leadership, and many professional organizations.
Historical Documentaries
- Frontiers: Haiti and The Dominican Republicproduced by SCEREN-CNDP (New York, NY: Filmakers Library, 2004), 26:48 mins
History. - Calls in the Caribbean: Introduction to Haiti1942. Produced by Mary Darling (New York, NY: Film Highlights), 09:21 mins