Memoirs about slavery
The History of Mary Prince : a West Indian slave by Mary Prince (c. 1788-after 1833) was born into slavery in Bermuda. While she was later living in London, her autobiography, The History of Mary Prince (1831), was the first account of the life of a black woman to be published in the United Kingdom.
Belonging to the genre of slave narratives, this first-hand description of the brutalities of enslavement, released at a time when slavery was still legal in British Caribbean colonies, had a galvanizing effect on the anti-slavery movement.- [Electronic resource] Memoir of Pierre Toussaint, born a slave in St. Domingo byBiography of Pierre Toussaint, born in 1766 on the island of St. Domingo, portrays his experiences in slavery as peaceful and happy. In addition to Toussaint’s life in St. Domingo, the author also provides information about St. Domingo’s economy, political climate, and a brief account of Toussaint L’Ouverture, a former slave who rose to prominence on the island.
- [Electronic resource] Toussaint L’Ouverture : a biography and autobiography byNorth American slave narratives
Autobiografía del Esclavo Poeta y Otros Escritos by Original text held at KU Spencer Library. Other versions available in English (see below) and French.
This is the only autobiography about slavery written in Spanish during the 19th century by a slave in Cuba.- Autobiography of a slave = Autobiografía de un esclavo byText in English and Spanish.
- Poems by a slave in the island of Cuba, recently liberated [electronic resource] / translated from the Spanish, by R.R. Madden, M.D. byPublication Date: 1840Compiled and translated from Spanish by Dr. R.R. Madden, this work consists of poetry, a narrative, appendix of essays relating to the state of slavery in Cuba and a glossary of terms. The narrative begins shortly before the birth of Juan Francisco Manzano, born as a slave in Cuba, and describes an easy, carefree childhood, his youth where he began to experience the trials and horrors of slavery, and ends on the night of his successful escape at about 38 years old.
Slavery in the Caribbean
- Slave Biographies: The Atlantic Database NetworkAn open access repository of information on the identities of enslaved people in the Atlantic World.
- Slavery in the CaribbeanInternational Slavery Museum, United Kingdom
- Caribbean Histories Revealed - Slavery and Negotiating FreedomNational Archives, United Kingdom
- Abolitions of SlaveryAtlas Caribbean. Historical evolution.
- The Caribbean Origins of American SlaveryHistory News Network, George Mason Univ.
- Tracing your Roots - CaribbeanMoving Here, United Kingdom
- Marronnage in Saint-Domingue (Haïti)An electronic interface meant to decompartementalise the archives of slavery in the French Atlantic world.
More electronic book titles
- Arming slaves : from classical times to the modern age(Source: ebrary Academic Complete)
Licensed for all KU students, faculty and staff connecting to the Internet. - Facing racial revolution : eyewitness accounts of the Haitian Insurrection(Source: ebrary Academic Complete)
Licensed for all KU students, faculty and staff connecting to the Internet. - Haitian revolutionary studies(Source: ebrary Academic Complete)
Licensed for all KU students, faculty and staff connecting to the Internet.
Manuscripts
- Manuscript Collections Relating to SlaveryThe library of the New-York Historical Society holds among its many resources a substantial collection of manuscript materials documenting American slavery and the slave trade in the Atlantic world. The fourteen collections on this web site are among the most important of these manuscript collections. They consist of diaries, account books, letter books, ships’ logs, indentures, bills of sale, personal papers, and records of institutions. Some of the highlights of these collections include the records of the New York Manumission Society and the African Free School, the diaries and correspondence of English abolitionists Granville Sharp and John Clarkson, the papers of the Boston anti-slavery activist Lysander Spooner, the records of the Massachusetts Anti-Slavery Society, the draft of Charles Sumner’s famous speech The Anti-Slavery Enterprise, and an account book kept by the slave trading firm Bolton, Dickens & Co.
Slavery in Jamaica
- Jamaican topicsSee additional titles about slavery in Jamaica
Atlantic Slave Trade
http://www.uwec.edu/geography/ivogeler/w111/slaves.htm
- The Atlantic Slave Trade in Two Minutes315 years. 20,528 voyages. Millions of lives.
By Andrew Kahn and Jamelle Bouie
"This haunting animation maps the journeys of 15,790 slave ships in two minutes." - Slave VoyagesEXPLORE THE DISPERSAL OF ENSLAVED AFRICANS ACROSS THE ATLANTIC WORLD
Slave Trade Databases
- Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade DatabaseThe Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database has information on more than 35,000 slave voyages that forcibly embarked over 12 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries. It offers researchers, students and the general public a chance to rediscover the reality of one of the largest forced movements of peoples in world history.
- The Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual RecordThe 1,280 images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. This collection is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by teachers, researchers, students, and the general public - in brief, anyone interested in the experiences of Africans who were enslaved and transported to the Americas and the lives of their descendants in the slave societies of the New World.
- Colonial Caribbean, Module I (Settlement, Slavery, and Empire, 1624-1832)Drawn from the records of the British Colonial Office, this collection contains resources covering 25 islands from 1624-1832. Among the topics covered are rivalries among other European colonizers, absentee landlords, the rise and decline of the slave trade, and start of the abolition movement.
Capitalism and Slavery
- [Electronic resource] Capitalism and slavery fifty years later : Eric Eustace Williams--a reassessment of the man and his work byLicensed for all KU students, faculty and staff connecting to the Internet.
- Article: Capitalism & Slavery and Caribbean Historiography: An Evaluation byThe Journal of African American History >
Vol. 88, No. 3, Summer, 2003
JSTOR
Reference Materials
Encyclopedia of Slave Resistance and Rebellion by Publication Date: 2006-12-01Watson Library Stacks - 1 1/2 East Stacks- Encyclopedia of Race and Racism [electronic resource] byPublication Date: 2013Licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the internet.
(Source: Gale virtual reference library)
Books about Slavery
Sugar in the Blood : a family's story of slavery and empire by Publication Date: 2013(Barbados) The author of "The Rose of Martinique" presents a history of the interdependence of sugar, slavery and colonial settlement in the New World through the story of the author’s ancestors, exploring the myriad connections between sugar cultivation and her family’s identity, genealogy and financial stability.- Bitter Sugar byPublication Date: 1985-09-01Photographic reportage by the author ; translated from the French, Sucre Amer.
Subject(s):
Contract labor --Dominican Republic.
Sugar workers --Dominican Republic.
Haitians --Dominican Republic.
