Digital Library of the Caribbean
Electronic resources - Primary resources, digital libraries, images, historical documentaries, and websites
Items listed below with the KU icon are licensed for KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet.
- Digitalia Film Library This link opens in a new windowDigitalia Film Library has over 800 quality documentaries and films distributed in the following collections: Argentine Cinema, European Cinema, French Collection, History, Latin American Selection, Nature and Wildlife, North American Classic Cinema, Spanish Cinema, Cuban Cinema and Travel Documentary.
- A Colony in Crisis: The Saint-Domingue Grain Shortage of 1789(University of Maryland) Topic: Haiti before it was Haiti. The website is designed to provide online access to both the French originals and the English translations of key primary sources dealing with the grain shortage faced by the colony of Saint-Domingue in 1789, which are found under the Translations menu.
- Colonial Caribbean, Module I (Settlement, Slavery, and Empire, 1624-1832)Drawn from the records of the British Colonial Office, this collection contains resources covering 25 islands from 1624-1832. Among the topics covered are rivalries among other European colonizers, absentee landlords, the rise and decline of the slave trade, and start of the abolition movement.
- Caribbean through a lens - explored!UK National Archives Image Library
- Colonial Film - Moving Images of the British EmpireThis website holds detailed information on over 6000 films showing images of life in the British colonies.
- World Digital LibraryThe World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
- Manioc: bibliothèque numérique Caraïbe, Amazonie, plateau des GuyanesManioc est une bibliothèque numérique spécialisée sur la Caraïbe, l'Amazonie, le Plateau des Guyanes et les régions ou centres d'intérêt liés à ces territoires.
- Biblioteca Nacional Pedro Henríquez Ureña - CONSULTA BIBLIOTECA DIGITALPonemos a disposición de nuestra comunidad de usuarios y público en general la Biblioteca Digital para la consulta y acceso de los recursos de información existente, accediendo a la dirección
http://bibliotecadigital.bnphu.gob.do:8080/xmlui/
Actualmente esta cuenta con un acervo bibliográfico de más de 43,000 títulos, entre libros, folletos y revistas, la gran mayoría de los cuales corresponde a autores y temas dominicanos; el total supera los 100,000 ejemplares. - Early Caribbean Digital ArchiveThe Early Caribbean Digital Archive (ECDA) is a highly interactive digital scholars lab for the collaborative research and study of pre-C20 Caribbean literature.
- Île en îleÎle en île contient une riche documentation littéraire, présentant des centaines d'auteurs francophones et insulaires avec des dossiers approfondis : photos, biographies, bibliographies, entretiens et extraits de textes, souvent lus.
- Calls in the Caribbean: Introduction to HaitiOverview of Haiti's history and culture in 1942.
Prelinger Collection, of United States. Library of Congress. Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Collection; produced by Mary Darling (New York, NY: Film Highlights, 1942, originally published 1942), 9 mins
Licensed for all KU students, faculty and staff connecting to the Internet. Search "Haiti" and name of video. - RSHHGG LabThe RSHHGG Lab is an interactive online index of over 90 years of the Revue de la Société Haïtienne d’Histoire, de Géographie et de Géologie, the official publication of Haiti’s oldest intellectual society that is still active today.
Wadabagei
- Wadabagei: A Journal of the Caribbean and Its DiasporasWadabagei: A Journal of the Caribbean and Its Diasporas, is committed to facilitating the exchange of ideas among Caribbean scholars worldwide. It is a multidisciplinary journal that publishes scholarly articles and occasional creative works from diverse fields including politics, literature, sociology, and religion, and reviews recent publications in Caribbean studies.
KU Databases / Periodicals
Items listed below with the KU icon are licensed for KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access of all licensed JSTOR archival journals and primary sources. The collection covers all academic disciplines.
- World newspaper archive. Latin American newspapers Series 1 and Series 2 This link opens in a new window
- Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century This link opens in a new window
Homeland Security Digital Library
- Homeland security digital library (HSDL) This link opens in a new windowContains documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management, non-classified Presidential directives and policy and national strategy documents. Sources of documents include federal, state, tribal, and local government agencies, professional organizations, think tanks, academic institutions, and international governing bodies.
Electronic Journals about the Caribbean
To find more titles of journals about the Caribbean, go to the KU Libraries Catalog, search by "Journal Title", using the word "?caribbean". Using the question mark before the word allows for searching of titles that do not begin with "caribbean".
Items listed below with the KU icon are licensed for KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet.
- Latin American regional reports. Caribbean & Central America report [electronic resource]Economics, politics, government.
- Small axe [electronic resource]Small Axe mainly includes scholarly articles, opinion essays, and interviews, but it also includes literary works of fiction and poetry, visual arts, and reviews.
- SX ArchipelagosSX Archipelagos is the latest born-digital articulation of the Small Axe Project. It is a peer-reviewed publication platform devoted to creative exploration, debate, and critical thinking about and through digital practices in contemporary scholarly and artistic work in and on the Caribbean.
- History in Action - Online Journal of the Department of History, St. AugustineOpen access. (The University of the West Indies at St. Augustine, Trinidad and Tobago)
Caribbean Immigration
- Caribbean Immigration - In Motion: The African American Migration ExperienceNew York Public Library
Additional resources about the Caribbean
- Centre for Caribbean ThoughtThe Centre for Caribbean Thought at the UWI Mona campus will host its fourth Caribbean Reasonings using the theme “The thought of the new world: the quest for decolonization” over the period June 16 – June 18 at the Social Sciences Lecture Theatre. The new world group (NWG) was established in the early 1960s, when Lloyd best, Alister McIntyre, and other social scientists at the Institute for Social and Economic Research, UWI, Mona and later with others in Georgetown, Guyana, formed a loose discussion group for the purpose of examining economic and social problems in light of an analysis of West Indian history and society.
- Île en îleLa chronologie ci-dessous ne constitue pas une liste exhaustive de tous les livres publiés, prix décernés, de tous les décès, ni des dates de mise en ligne de toute la documentation et de chaque présentation d’auteur·e. Organisée autour de la date anniversaire du site (le 12 octobre), cet historique vise à souligner les événements majeurs et les mises en ligne représentatives qui ont marqué et façonné l’évolution des archives d’Île en île.
- Langue créole - liensRessources pour la langue créole – particularités et régionalismes – grammaires – dictionnaires bilingues – petit lexique de termes créoles – liens web
Travelogues
- Latin American TraveloguesThe goal of this project is to create a digital collection of Latin American travel accounts written in the 16th-19th centuries. (Brown Univ.)
- Eugène Aubin, En Haïti : planteurs d’autrefois, nègres d’aujourd’hui (1910)Written by a French merchant who lived in Haiti from 1904 to 1906, this account presents extensive descriptions of the countryside, including descriptions of Vodou temples in the Cul-de-Sac plain, farming and irrigation, and the lives of immigrants from Guadeloupe and elsewhere in the Caribbean in Haiti. (MANIOC)
- Victor Schoelcher, Colonies étrangères et Haïti (vol. 2) (1843)Written on the basis of a visit to Haiti in 1841, this work provides a history of Haiti and detailed descriptions of the countryside and population, along with very critical observations of political life under the Boyer regime. (Gallica)
Online Travel Information
OpenEdition / Revues.org -- journals in the humanities and social sciences
Revues.org is the web platform for journals in the humanities and social sciences. It is open to publishers, research units and organizations looking to publish quality full-text material online.
A small sample of journal titles available on Revues.org is listed below. More can be found by visiting the site.
Jamaica - Additional Online Resources
- Jamaica UnshackledJamaica Unshackled is a digitized collection of resources from the National Library of Jamaica. The collection brings together resources related to two landmark events in Jamaica's history: 1831 Sam Sharpe Rebellion / Baptist War, and 1865 Morant Bay Rebellion
Victorian Jamaica by Publication Date: 2018Licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet.
Victorian Jamaica explores the extraordinary surviving archive of visual representation and material objects to provide a comprehensive account of Jamaican society during Queen Victoria's reign over the British Empire, from 1837 to 1901. In their analyses of material ranging from photographs of plantation laborers and landscape paintings to cricket team photographs, furniture, and architecture, as well as a wide range of texts, the contributors trace the relationship between black Jamaicans and colonial institutions; contextualize race within ritual and performance; and outline how material and visual culture helped shape the complex politics of colonial society. By narrating Victorian history from a Caribbean perspective, this richly illustrated volume--featuring 270 full-color images--offers a complex and nuanced portrait of Jamaica that expands our understanding of the wider history of the British Empire and Atlantic world during this period.
