Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
-
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American HistoryThe Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin America History is a specialized resource with hundreds of articles covering a wide range of topics beginning in 1492 and before to current times. The articles are peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, while maintaining the rigorous standards of academic publishing.
Licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet. -
-
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures by Publication Date: 2001Watson Lib. - Reference, Vol. 1-3 -
-
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide by Publication Date: 2003North America and the Caribbean -
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Publication Date: 2008-05-09Shelved at Watson Library-Reference (In Library Use Only) -
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean by ISBN: 0521413222Publication Date: 1992 -
The Dictionary of Contemporary Politics of Central America and the Caribbean byPublication Date: 1991
-
Jamaican laborers
Title: Blacks on Tobacco Plantation, Jamaica [between 1890 and 1924]
(from the Frank and Frances Carpenter Collection at the Library of Congress)
-
Library of Congress - World Digital LibraryLatin America and the Caribbean. Images.
Electronic resources
-
Encyclopedia of the African diaspora [electronic resource] : origins, experiences, and culture byPublication Date: 2008Licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet. (Source: Ebrary)
Maps
-
dLOC - Digital Library of the Caribbean Map CollectionThe dLOC Caribbean Map Collection's maps represent only a small part of the wealth of historical and archival treasures held by the contributing archives, libraries, and museums. Maps collected here date from 1564 through the present. The majority of maps in this collection document a colonial past. -
Mapa maritimo del Golfo de Mexico e islas de la AmericaPublication Date: Madrid, 1755Online image. Original held in Spencer Library.
Subject(s):
Nautical charts --Caribbean Area --Early works to 1800.
Mapa maritimo del Golfo de Mexico e islas de la America, [cartographic material] para el uso de los navegantes en esta parte del mundo, construido sobre las mexores memorias, y observaciones astronomicas de longitudes, y latitudes. Dedicado a la Catholica Magestad de Don Fernando VI Rey de EspanĚa, y de las Yndias, por sus mas rendidos, y fieles vasallos, Thomas Lopez, y Juan de la Cruz. -
America, siue, India Nova [cartographic material]Publication Date: [Amsterdam? : s.n., 1606-1630]Spencer Library
America, siue, India Nova [cartographic material] : ad magnae Gerardi Mercatoris aui vniversalis imitationem in compendium redacta / per Michaelem Mercatorem Duysburgensem. -
United States. Defense Mapping Agency. Hydrographic/Topographic Center.General Notes: Shows international boundaries, capitals and major cities, and main drainage patterns. Standard map series designation: [Series 1146].
