FREN 720: Introduction to Graduate Studies in French: Texts Online

An introduction to library and other research resources for graduate students in French literature.

E-book Collections

Information on Finding and Using E-books

E-books allow you to access and read books online from your computer or mobile device. In many cases multiple readers can access the same e-book simultaneously.  E-books also allow you to quickly search, download, print, or link to specific book and chapter content.   

E-books are available in many resources. This guide helps staff and patrons to identify library databses and collections that contain e-books, how to search for them through the library catalog, and how to use them in their coursework and teaching.    In this guide you will find information about:

Online or Digitized Texts

  • ABU: la Bibliothèque Universelle (L'Association des bibliophiles Universels) 
    "L'accès libre au texte intégral d'oeuvres du domaine public francophone sur Internet depuis 1993." Provides access to a number of public domain French literary texts as well as several French language dictionaries.

  • ARTFL FRANTEXT  (American & French Research on the Treasury of the French Language is produced by the Dept. of Romance Languages and Literatures, Univ. of Chicago) Consists of nearly 2000 literary works, ranging from classics works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts.

  • Athena  Literature is one section on this huge site. "Textes d'auteurs d'expression française" links to full-text French works.  "Books" has other European writers.

  • Balzac: La comedie humaine  La publication en mode texte de la première édition de La Comédie humaine (dite édition Furne, 1842-1855), paginée et encodée, est le fruit d’un partenariat entre le Groupe International de Recherches Balzaciennes, la Maison de Balzac (musée de la Ville de Paris) et le groupe ARTFL de l’Université de Chicago.

  • Gallica  This digital project of the BNF includes documents of all kinds, not only literary texts. Texts are arranged chronologically and by themes.

  • Le Réseau francophone numérique  Consulter des journaux, des revues, des livres, des cartes et des plans, des archives numérisés issus des collections d'une dizaine d'institutions documentaires de l'espace francophone.

  • Gutenberg-e Full-text scholarly monographs covering all areas of history, available originally and exclusively as digital books, presented by Columbia University Press and the American Historical Association.

  • HathiTrust digital library A digital repository of collections (books and journals) of some of the major research libraries in the United States. More than 30% of the content is in the public domain or Creative Commons licensed and is freely available to view, download and print. Items designated with "Full view" are available for download.  See the Libraries' HathiTrust Help & Tutorials for more information.

  • Persée Persee.fr offre un accès libre et gratuit à des collections complètes de publications scientifiques (revues, livres, actes de colloques, publications en série, sources primaires, etc.) associé à une gamme d'outils de recherche et d'exploitation.

  • Voltaire électronique  Voltaire électronique is based upon the Voltaire Foundation Oxford edition of the Complete works of Voltaire. It includes all of Voltaire's literary works. Texts which have not yet been published in the Complete works are drawn either from the original sources or from the ninteenth-century Moland edition of Voltaire's works.

  • Bibliotheque diplomatique numerique pour les affaires etrangeres  Depuis 2009, la bibliothèque du ministère de l'Europe et des Affaires étrangères (MEAE) a engagé plusieurs campagnes de numérisation.
  • Bovary.fr  (édition intégrale des manuscrits de Madame Bovary)