MLA Handbook
MLA Handbook by Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2021 (Watson Reference Collection)ISBN: 9781603293518Publication Date: 2021-04-06
The MLA Style Center Writing resources from the Modern Language Association
MLA - Careers in the Humanities
MLA Career Exploration Activity Packet: Skills Self-Assessment, Job Ad Analysis, and Next Steps
MLA Commons The scholarly network for MLA members
Ideas on Fire
Ideas on Fire is an academic publishing and consulting agency helping interdisciplinary, progressive academics write and publish awesome texts, enliven public conversations, and create more just worlds. From editing and indexing cutting-edge scholarship to fostering public intellectual work and mentoring graduate students, the Ideas on Fire team can help you rock your interdisciplinary career.
Citing your Sources
Citation Help
- KU Writing CenterCheck out the writing guides provided by the KU Writing Center!
- Purdue Online Writing LabThe Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material that can be helpful in starting your research project and writing a paper.
Publishing your Research
To identify potential journals in your field, use the following directories:
- Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive list of periodicals that includes publisher contact information for each title, whether a journal is refereed, a description of content and available features (book reviews, theater reviews, etc.).
- Directory of open access journals : DOAJ This link opens in a new windowOpen access journals are journals that use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.
- Google Scholar (includes Get at KU) This link opens in a new windowClick on "Metrics", View "Top Publications", then click on drop down arrow for "Categories ", Humanities, LIterature & Arts, French Studies
What is a Literature Review?
A literature review surveys scholarly articles, books and other sources (e.g. dissertations, conference proceedings) relevant to a particular issue, area of research, or theory, providing a description, summary, and critical evaluation of each work. The purpose is to offer an overview of significant literature published on a topic.
What is an Annotated Bibliography?
How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography (Olin Library Reference,Research & Learning Services, Cornell University Library,Ithaca, NY, USA)
An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents. Each citation is followed by a brief (usually about 150 words) descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited.
Research Help
We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.