FREN 720: Introduction to Graduate Studies in French: Websites

An introduction to library and other research resources for graduate students in French literature.

Useful Websites

Bibliotèque Nationale de France (BNF)  The website for the BNF provides the searchable catalog for the French National Library.  Internal links include Cultural Events, the Library, Collections, the Digital Library, Practical Information, the BnF Catalogues Services and Virtual Exhibitions.

BNF Catalogue 

Gallica Digital Library  The official digital resource of the BNF (French National Library).  An ambitious project launched in 1997, Gallica seeks to broadly digitize French culture for contemporary readers and researchers.  The site offers simple and advanced search of a database of over 1,500,000 documents including manuscripts, rare book editions, journals, news articles, maps, scientific and mathematical documents, and sound recordings.

Réseau francophone numérique (RFN) La bibliothèque francophone numérique rassemble et présente un fonds documentaire représentatif de toute la richesse culturelle et historique du monde francophone. Elle concrétise la volonté commune des bibliothèques réunies au sein du Réseau Francophone Numérique.

Europeana  In cooperation with European national libraries and publishers, the BnF works about the construction of Europeana, the European digital library providing access, via the Internet, to several million digitized documents representative of the European historical and cultural heritage.

France in America  is a collaborative project between the Library of Congress and the Bibliothèque nationale de France, France’s national library. This collection, which is presented in both English and French, documents the presence of the French in the United States from the beginning of the 16th century until the end of the 19th century. Included in the presentation are discussions of French exploration of the United States and Canada, the French and Indian War, the American Revolution and the Louisiana Purchase.

French Studies  Broad coverage of various types of sources, including literature, linguistics & culture put together by the Western European Studies Section (WESS) of Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL).

Cairn  Created in September 2005 by four Belgian and French publishers, today Cairn offers the most comprehensive collection of publications in the French language in the humanities and social sciences freely available online.

World Digital Library  La Bibliothèque numérique mondiale met à disposition sur Internet, gratuitement et en plusieurs langues, une documentation considérable en provenance des pays et des cultures du monde entier. 

Modern Language Association  Since its founding in 1883, the Modern Language Association has worked to strengthen the study and teaching of language and literature. The MLA advocates on behalf of students and teachers and provides resources to those seeking information about language study, scholarly publishing, the academic workforce, and much more.

French and Francophone Digital Humanities Projects (CIFNAL)  This guide lists Digital Humanities projects in French and Francophone Studies that are currently underway in the world.  This is a great way to discover what others are doing, what kind of projects are of interest, and also, to make new connections and foster new collaborations and partnerships. The different tabs show from where the projects originated, except for the Caribbean tab which highlights both projects designed by people in the Caribbean as well as projects about the Caribbean that originated from a different place.

French Pamphlets

  • An online searchable portal to French pamphlet collections held by libraries throughout the world. The project will focus on pamphlets from 1500-1800, covering the French Wars of Religion (1562-96) through the French Revolution (1789-1799).

H-France

  • H-France is a scholarly organization promoting the study of French and Francophone history and culture online.  Since its origins in 1991, H-France has grown into a central source of scholarly information and publications related to French history, literature, art history, musicology, film studies, and philosophy. 
  • It publishes several journals on-line, freely available to the public.  H-France Review is the premier review program for newly published books on French history and culture in the Anglophone world. 

Selected Authors