FREN 720: Introduction to Graduate Studies in French: Dissertations & Theses

An introduction to library and other research resources for graduate students in French literature.

Dissertations & Theses

Need to find a doctoral dissertation or master's thesis? Use the following sources.  If full text is not available, you can request copies via Interlibrary Loan.

ProQuest dissertations and theses
PQDT provides online access to over 2 million dissertations and master's theses, many of which are available in full text for immediate downloading. Citations are available for dissertations dating from 1861 and full text online from 1997 for over 1,000 schools submitting to the ProQuest UMI database. More than 55,000 new citations are added to the database every year.

Dissertations & theses @ University of Kansas
Contains citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses submitted by the University of Kansas and published in UMI's Dissertations Abstracts database, and full text of KU dissertations published after 1996 and KU theses published after 2005. Previously known as Current research @ University of Kansas.

Networked digital library of theses and dissertations 
The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations. This union catalog serves as a repository of graduate educational material contributed by a number of member institutions worldwide.

SUDOC Catalogue The « Système Universitaire de Documentation » (Sudoc) catalogue is a French collective catalogue created by Higher Educational and Research libraries and resource centres. There are nearly 13 million bibliographic records in this catalogue describing all kinds of document (books, dissertations, reviews, electronic resources, audio-visual documents, microfiches, maps, scores, manuscripts (not in Calames) and very old books.) Sudoc also catalogues the series collections of periodicals held by around 1500 non-Higher Educational library institutions (such as Town Libraries, other resource centres, etc.) Lastly, Sudocs mission is to list all dissertations/theses produced in France.

Research Help

We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.