FREN 720: Introduction to Graduate Studies in French: Reference Sources

An introduction to library and other research resources for graduate students in French literature.

French-English Dictionary Online

Online Dictionaries & Other e-Reference Sources

Dictionnaires d'autrefois (Old French)

Dictionnaires d'autrefois  are located in the ARTFL-FRANTEXT database:

  • Jean Nicot, Thresor de la langue françoyse, tant ancienne que moderne 
    Jean Nicot's Thresor de la langue françoyse is the key to the development of French lexicography. 
  • Jean-François Féraud, Dictionaire critique de la langue française 
    Jean-François Féraud's Dictionaire critique de la langue française (1787-1788) is far from a mere general dictionary. 
  • Dictionnaire de l'Académie Française
    The Académie française was founded by Cardinal Richelieu in 1635 with the primary goal of creating a French dictionary. 
  • Émile Littré, Dictionnaire de la langue française
    Émile Littré's literary dictionary of classical French (1872-1877) is incorporated into the Dictionnaires d'autrefois Collection.

Print Reference Sources (Located in Watson Library)

Databases have largely replaced printed bibliographies, but the following titles are still important. Print bibliographies are especially useful for single-author studies and similar focused topics. To find bibliographies in the library catalog, you can search by "Subject Heading" under:

  • French literature - Bibliography - Periodicals
  • French literature - History and criticism - Bibliography
  • French literature - 20th century - Bibliography
  • Renaissance - Bibliography - Periodicals

Bibliographies

Bassan, Fernande. An annotated bibliography of French language and literature.  Z2175.A2 B38 1976 (Watson Library 2 1/2 Center Stacks)

Besterman, Theodore. A world bibliography of bibliographies and bibliographical catalogues, calendars, abstracts, digests, indexes, and the like. 4th edition. 5 vols.  Z1002 .B5685 1982 (Watson Library 2 1/2 Center Stacks)

Cabeen, David. A critical bibliography of French literature. Z2171 .C5 (Watson Library 2 1/2 Center Stacks)

Cioranescu, Alexandre. Bibliographie de la littérature française du dix-septième siècle.  Z2172 .C52 v. 1-3 (Watson Library 2 1/2 Center Stacks)

Cioranescu, Alexandre. Bibliographie de la littérature française du dix-huitième siècle. Z2172 .C48 v. 1-3 (Watson Library 2 1/2 Center Stacks)

Kempton, Richard. French literature: an annotated guide to selected bibliographies.  Z2171 .A1 C34 1981 (Watson Library 2 1/2 Center Stacks)

Klapp, Otto. Bibliographie der franzosischen Literaturwissenschaft.  Z2171 .K55 (Watson Library 2 1/2 Center Stacks)  **This resource is also available online in the Databases A-Z as Klapp-Online

French XX Bibliography. (French Institute) Z2173 .M6 (Watson Library 2 1/2 Center Stacks)

Bibliographie internationale de l’Humanisme et de la Renaissance. Z6207 .R4 B5 (Watson Library 2 1/2 Center Stacks)

Place, Joseph and Place, Georges G. Bibliographie des auteurs modernes de langue française. Z2173 .T3 v.1-22 (Watson Library 2 1/2 Center Stacks)

Rancoeur, René.  Bibliographie de la littérature française du Moyen Age à nos jours. Z2171 .R3X (Watson Library 2 1/2 Center Stacks)

Rancoeur, René. Bibliographie de la littérature franc̜aise moderne (16.-20. siècles).  Z2171 .R3X (Watson Library 2 1/2 Center Stacks)

The Year's Work in Modern Language Studies.  Print PB1 .Y45 (Watson Library 2 West Stacks)

(For more bibliographies, see the Yale French Literature library guide)

Guides & Dictionaries

Grand dictionnaire encyclopédique Larousse.  AE25 .G63 1982 (Watson Library 1 East Stacks)

Levi, Anthony. Guide to French Literature, 2 vols. PQ226 .L48 1992 (Watson Library 3 West Stacks)

Beaumarchais, Jean-Pierre de. Dictionnaire des écrivains de langue française.  PQ41 .B412 2001 (Watson Library Reference Collection - 3rd floor near service)

Beaumarchais, Jean-Pierre de. Dictionnaire des littératures de langue française.  PQ41 .B4 1994 v. 1-4 folio (Watson Library 1 1/2 East Stacks)

Beaumarchais, Jean-Pierre de. Dictionnaire des oeuvres littéraires de langue française.  PQ41 .B42 1994 folio (Watson Library 1 1/2 East Stacks)

Imbs, Paul. Trésor de la langue française; dictionnaire de la langue du XIXe et de XXe siècle (1789-1960). PC2625 .I4  v. 1-16 (Watson Library Reference Collection - 3rd floor near service desk)

Littré, Emile. Dictionnaire de la langue française. PC2625 .L63 v. 1-7 (Watson Library Reference Collection - 3rd floor near service desk)

The Cambridge companion to French literature. PQ103 .L95 2016 (Watson Library 3 West Stacks) ***Also available online in Cambridge Companions Complete Collection

The Cambridge introduction to French literature. PQ103 .N45 2015 (Watson Library 3 West Stacks)

The New Oxford companion to Literature in French.  PQ41 .N48 1995 (Watson Library 3 West Stacks)

Books