Major West European Newspapers (free version)
The free web versions may not include all content in these newspapers. For full content see the box below "Search Newswpapers in databases available via KU Libraries."
- Agence France-Presse (AFP)One of the world's big three news agencies. English version.
- BBC News: EuropeBBC News World Service includes sections for regions of the world, including US & Canada, Latin America, UK, Africa, Asia, Europe, and Mid-East.
- The Guardian: UKLongstanding independent UK newspaper. One of the three top papers in the UK, alongside the Times and the Telegraph
- Spiegel Online International: EuropeEnglish language version of Der Spiegel. Sections include Front Page, World, Europe, Germany, Business, Zeitgeist, Newsletter
Search Newspapers in databases available via KU Libraries
Use these links to search or browse for content in each newspaper below.
- The Economist: U.K. EditionSearch issues of The Economist (U.K. edition) 1992-present via KU Libraries' subscription to the ProQuest Research Library database
- The Economist: U.S. EditionSearch or browse issues of The Economist (U.S. edition) via KU Libraries' subscription to the Infotrac Newsstand database (full-text 1988-present, index 1981-present).
- Financial TimesSearach or browse issues of the Financial Times 1999-present via KU Libraries' subscription to Gale's Infotrac Newsstand.
- New York TimesSearch or browse issues of the NYT 1985-present via KU Libraries' subscription to Gale's Academic OneFile database.
- Spiegel Online InternationalSearch issues of Spiegel Online International 2010-present via KU Libraries' subscription to the Nexis Uni database.
- Washington PostSearch or browse issues of the Washington Post (full-text 1995-present, index 1980-present) via KU Libraries' subscription to Gale's Academic OneFile database.
LibGuides Community
- LibGuides CommunityThe LibGuides Community Site aggregates all public content from institutions using LibGuides. Search terms "syrian refugee crisis" and filter by academic institutions.
- Syrian Refugee Crisis (York University guide)A guide to research on the Syrian Refugee crisis.
Financial, migration crises in Europe add to EU skepticism
Robert Rohrschneider, KU Distinguished Professor, Political Science - Mainstream political parties in Europe have failed to respond to the increasing public skepticism of the European Union, opening the door for nationalist political groups to gain more power. http://news.ku.edu/2016/02/25/financial-migration-crises-europe-add-eu-skepticism-professor-finds
Mainstream political parties in Europe have failed to respond to the increasing public skepticism of the European Union, opening the door for nationalist political groups to gain more power, a University of Kansas researcher has found. - See more at: http://news.ku.edu/2016/02/25/financial-migration-crises-europe-add-eu-skepticism-professor-finds#sthash.tjcNwgpJ.dpuf
Mainstream political parties in Europe have failed to respond to the increasing public skepticism of the European Union, opening the door for nationalist political groups to gain more power, a University of Kansas researcher has found. - See more at: http://news.ku.edu/2016/02/25/financial-migration-crises-europe-add-eu-skepticism-professor-finds#sthash.tjcNwgpJ.dpuf
Mainstream political parties in Europe have failed to respond to the increasing public skepticism of the European Union, opening the door for nationalist political groups to gain more power, a University of Kansas researcher has found. - See more at: http://news.ku.edu/2016/02/25/financial-migration-crises-europe-add-eu-skepticism-professor-finds#sthash.tjcNwgpJ.dpuf
Mainstream political parties in Europe have failed to respond to the increasing public skepticism of the European Union, opening the door for nationalist political groups to gain more power, a University of Kansas researcher has found. - See more at: http://news.ku.edu/2016/02/25/financial-migration-crises-europe-add-eu-skepticism-professor-finds#sthash.tjcNwgpJ.dpuf
Mainstream political parties in Europe have failed to respond to the increasing public skepticism of the European Union, opening the door for nationalist political groups to gain more power, a University of Kansas researcher has found. - See more at: http://news.ku.edu/2016/02/25/financial-migration-crises-europe-add-eu-skepticism-professor-finds#sthash.tjcNwgpJ.dpuf
Mainstream political parties in Europe have failed to respond to the increasing public skepticism of the European Union, opening the door for nationalist political groups to gain more power, a University of Kansas researcher has found. - See more at: http://news.ku.edu/2016/02/25/financial-migration-crises-europe-add-eu-skepticism-professor-finds#sthash.tjcNwgpJ.dpuf
Mainstream political parties in Europe have failed to respond to the increasing public skepticism of the European Union, opening the door for nationalist political groups to gain more power, a University of Kansas researcher has found. - See more at: http://news.ku.edu/2016/02/25/financial-migration-crises-europe-add-eu-skepticism-professor-finds#sthash.tjcNwgpJ.dpuf
Mainstream political parties in Europe have failed to respond to the increasing public skepticism of the European Union, opening the door for nationalist political groups to gain more power, a University of Kansas researcher has found. - See more at: http://news.ku.edu/2016/02/25/financial-migration-crises-europe-add-eu-skepticism-professor-finds#sthash.tjcNwgpJ.dpuf
Mainstream political parties in Europe have failed to respond to the increasing public skepticism of the European Union, opening the door for nationalist political groups to gain more power, a University of Kansas researcher has found. - See more at: http://news.ku.edu/2016/02/25/financial-migration-crises-europe-add-eu-skepticism-professor-finds#sthash.tjcNwgpJ.dpuf
Mainstream political parties in Europe have failed to respond to the increasing public skepticism of the European Union, opening the door for nationalist political groups to gain more power, a University of Kansas researcher has found. - See more at: http://news.ku.edu/2016/02/25/financial-migration-crises-europe-add-eu-skepticism-professor-finds#sthash.tjcNwgpJ.dpuf
These are additional resources and recently published books on the Syrian Refugee Crisis.
- World databank This link opens in a new window
Burning Country by Call Number: DS98.6 .Y37 2016 (Watson Stacks, 1 1/2 East)ISBN: 9780745336275Publication Date: 2016-02-15
Migration, Citizenship and the Challenge for Security by Call Number: JV6033 .I56 2015ISBN: 9781137495952Publication Date: 2015-04-29
Syria by Call Number: DS98.6 .A233 2016 (Watson Stacks, 1 1/2 East)ISBN: 9780745697970Publication Date: 2015-10-26
Syrian refugees
A fishing boat packed with refugees attempting to reach Europe by sailing from North Africa across the Mediterranean Sea. (theberkshireedge.com, Sept. 10, 2015)
Why 100,000s of Syrian refugees are fleeing to Europe (www.brookings.edu, Sept. 3, 2015)
Recommended websites
- Brookings Institution: EuropeIncludes research papers, reports, blog posts, podcasts, opinion pieces, and discussions. Browse by subsection: the Arctic, Balkans, European Union, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, and United Kingdom. RSS and Email alerts available.
- Foreign Affairs: EuropeForeign Affairs is published by the Council on Foreign Relations (CFR), a non-profit and nonpartisan membership organization dedicated to improving the understanding of U.S. foreign policy and international affairs through the free exchange of ideas.
- German Marshall Fund of the United States (GMF)The German Marshall Fund of the United States (GMF) strengthens transatlantic cooperation on regional, national, and global challenges and opportunities in the spirit of the Marshall Plan.
- Pew Research Global Attitudes ProjectPew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.
Articles about the Refugee Crisis in Europe
Suggested Reading
The European Union: A Guide for Americans (ONLINE PDF)A concise introduction to the European Union written for an American audience. Covers the EU governing system, EU-US relations, economic monetary union and the euro, EU enlargement, EU in the global context, EU policies, chronology of European integration, and includes list of EU agencies.
Of Paradise and Power: America and Europe in the New World Order [PRINT EDITION] by Call Number: D1065.U5 K26 2003ISBN: 1400040930Publication Date: 2003-01-28
Reflections on the Revolution in Europe : immigration, Islam, and the West by Call Number: D1056.2.M87 C35 2009Publication Date: 2009Europe has undergone a demographic revolution it never expected. A half century of mass immigration has failed to produce anything resembling a melting pot.
The Economist (online)Full content for the U.K. edition of the Economist is available in ProQuest Research Library database. Search or browse issues 2008-present.
