European Studies: Statistics/Data

The mission of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world. The OECD provides a forum in which governments can work together to share experiences and seek solutions to common problems.

The CSES is a collaborative program of research among election study teams from around the world. Participating countries and provinces include a common module of survey questions in their post-election studies. The resulting data are deposited along with voting, demographic, district and macro/electoral system variables. The studies are then merged into a single, free, public dataset for use in comparative study and cross-level analysis.

From Michigan State University, this web-portal connects international business professionals. Contains a section on "Country Insights" with statistical data for 201 countries around the world. In addition to statistics, historical, economic, and political conditions are available.

An international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

Allows users to generate graphs based on numerical data extracted from numerous sources. All sources are documented.

Links to "online data resources for the serious international relations scholar." Paul Hensel is a professor at University of North Texas.

The Country at a Glance tables include two pages of key indicators tracing the trends in social and economic development from the last three decades. Health, Nutrition, and Population Statistics offers country data sheets showing summary indicators for health status, health determinants, and health finance.

World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.

The Gender Statistics database provides indicators on key gender topics. Themes included are demographics, education, health, labor force, and political participation.

Over 250 indicators on topics such as health financing, HIV/AIDS, immunization, malaria and tuberculosis, health workforce and health facilities use, nutrition, reproductive health, population and population projections, cause of death, non-communicable diseases, water and sanitation, with background information on poverty, labor force, economy and education. Users can access HNP data by country, topic, or indicator, and view the resulting data (and wealth quintiles) in tables, charts or maps that can be easily shared through email, Facebook and Twitter.

“International Comparison Program (ICP) database provides a collection of comparative price data and detailed expenditure values of countries’ gross domestic products (GDP), and purchasing power parities (PPPs) estimates of the world’s economies.”

“Joint External Debt Hub provides external debt data and selected foreign assets from international creditor/market and national debtor sources.”

“A joint product of the World Bank and the Public-Private Infrastructure Advisory Facility (PPIAF), is the primary source of information on private participation in infrastructure in developing countries. It contains 25 years of data on private participation in infrastructure in 137 countries. The data set includes information on more than 4,300 infrastructure projects.”

UNICEF measures the situation of children and women and tracks progress through data collection and analysis. It maintains and updates global databases and promotes dissemination of evidence-based data for planning and advocacy.

Arranged by country

The European Social Survey (ESS) is an academically driven cross-national survey that has been conducted across Europe since its establishment in 2001. Every two years, face-to-face interviews are conducted with newly selected, cross-sectional samples.

Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.

Includes basic vital and health statistics, health expenditures, provision/coverage, health system organization and regulation, summary measures, country-specific conditions, and human resources.

Country profiles feature key statistics and indicators on education, science and technology, and culture and communication on a country-by-country or regional basis.

ILO is a specialized agency of the United Nations. The only tripartite U.N. agency, since 1919 the ILO brings together governments, employers and workers of 187 member States, to set labour standards, develop policies and devise programmes promoting decent work for all women and men.