Resources for Further Research
Korea : a historical and cultural dictionary by Call Number: DS902 .P737 1999ISBN: 0700704647Publication Date: 1999This 'dictionary' is similar to an encyclopedia. Entries are listed alphabetically and each entry is approximately one paragraph in length. This book includes information on prominent people, events, beliefs, etc across Korean history and into the modern era. Entries are in English and use the McCune-Reischauer romanization system.
Be sure to check the University of Kansas' library catalog if you are looking for something not included in this guide. The library has a vast collection of resources related to Korea and the Korean language!
- Korea Studies LibGuideThis LibGuide features a more broad scope of Korean Studies, and includes features like Korean Studies faculty information, information on study abroad in Korea, and non-language based resources.
- Naver AcademicThis is Naver's version of Google Scholar. Search Terms can be in Korean or English, with results in the same language as the search term.
- Encyclopedia of Korean CultureLook up aspects of Korean culture, history, or other areas that you would like to learn more about, entries are usually a page long. This website is completely in Korean and may sometimes include Hanja in results. For this reason this resource may be best for advanced students.
- Library of Congress Korean BibliographyIf you would like to look for more resources than what is available and the University of Kansas or online, this is a great starting point. All resources included in this bibliography are related to Korea.
OLRC
- Open Language Resource Center (OLRC)Open Language Resource Center, formerly known as The Ermal Garinger Academic Resource Center (EGARC), is a wonderful resource for students studying foreign languages. They have a collection of multimedia resources in and about a variety of languages.
email: olrc@ku.edu
tel: 785-864-4759
4070 Wescoe Hall - OLRC & KoreanOLRC has many Korean films, documentaries, and language audio workshops for checkout. Many movies are available with or without English subtitles, so you can enjoy the film regardless of your language level. The films also cross many genres, so everyone is sure to find something they will enjoy!
Departments at KU
Video
Online Resources for Korean Language Learning
- Talk to Me in Korean (TTMIK)Talk to me in Korean has hundreds of free podcast audio lessons with PDF transcripts to help practice Korean language. TTMIK also has a number of publications and other resources.
- How To Study KoreanThis website provides comprehensive instruction on the Korean language from learning Hangul through Korean vocabulary and grammar and into learning Hanja. While this website is not very interactive it has a wealth of information.
- Duolingo - KoreanThis website provides a game-like interface for learning several languages, including Korean. Exercises include translation from English to Korean, Korean to English, matching, transcribing audio, translating audio, and multiple choice.
- Mango Languages Through KUThis website provides self-paced lessons for more than 64 languages, including Korean. Lessons are dialogue-based and all include audio and text.
- KFL textbookThis website provides support in learning Korean including Hangul, by using audio files and lecture slides.
- Korean Culture SeriesThis video series offers connecting Korean language lessons, as well as video culture lessons.
- Kordong SchoolThis website offers video language lectures across levels. While the connected web page offers free lectures, more are available for purchase.
- Korean Language Program (KCCLA)Korean Cultural Center Los Angeles offers free online classes.
- The Korea SocietyThe Korean Society offers online language program for all levels (fee required).
.
Korean Language Guide Credit
This language guide and all pictures were created by KU EALC Korean Language Concentration student Rebecca Reutzel, unless described otherwise.