TOPIK
Han'gugŏ sŏnsaengnim kwa hamkke hanŭn TOPik Han'gugŏ munpŏp (한국어 선생님과 함께 하는 TOPik 한국어 문법) by Call Number: PL914.6.C5 K56 2015ISBN: 9791125417279Publication Date: 2015This book covers grammar points that will be on the TOPik II test. For the book on TOPik II please select “v.2 c.0” when placing an order for pick-up.
한국어 능력 시험 토픽. 고급 = Test of proficiency in KoreanCall Number: folio PL914.6.K6 H36 2014ISBN: 9788967183622Publication Date: 2014This book has vocabulary that may appear on the TOPIK exam with definitions and examples. A significant portion of the book is a number of practice tests. Answers in back of book.
- Previous Topik TestsThis is the web page where all previous Topik tests that are available to the public are uploaded. Usually this is one test each calendar year. Be sure to download both the test papers/answers folder and the audio file folder for the same test.
- TOPIK Studying WebsiteThis website has interactive practice tests from previous years.
쏙쏙 TOPIK 한국어 어휘 고급 day 50 (Korean vocabulary) by Call Number: PL914.6.K6 K565 2016ISBN: 9791125417262Publication Date: 2016
TOPIK I : 토픽 한국어 능력 시험 단기 완성 (TOPIK I: Short-Term Complete Preparation for the Test of Proficiency in Korean) by Call Number: PL913.7 .K56 2018ISBN: 9791125440956Publication Date: 2018
TOPIK II : 토픽 한국어 능력 시험 단기 완성 (TOPIK II: Short-Term Complete Preparation for the Test of Proficiency in Korean) by Call Number: PL913.7 .K563 2018ISBN: 9791125440949Publication Date: 2018
TOPIK 어휘 & 읽기 30일 완성 : 중고급 (Korean vocab & reading in 30 days) by Call Number: PL914.4 .K566 2016ISBN: 9791158481018Publication Date: 2016
Dictionaries
Essence English-English-Korean dictionary by Call Number: PL937.E5 E85 1995ISBN: 9788938704207Publication Date: 1995Look up the English word you would like to translate and you can find the Korean equivalent. Variations of words included where applicable. This book also includes the English definition so you can be sure you have the right word. This book does not include Hanja.
Please note this book is labeled ‘reference’, and is not available for check-out. However, there is a study area by the East Asian Reference Collection on the 5th floor on Watson.
A Korean-English dictionary by Call Number: PL937.E5 M3Publication Date: 1967Look up Korean words and you can find the English definitions. Variations of words included where applicable. This book includes Hanja.
Kyohak Hanʼgugŏ sajŏn (교학 한국어 사전) by Call Number: PL935 .K96 2004ISBN: 9788909091732Publication Date: 2004This book is geared towards use by teachers, but includes a large variety of words as well, and is an excellent resource for use by advanced students. Look up Korean words and get a definition for that words and its variations in Korean. This book includes Hanja, and has the Korean consonants along the side for ease of use.
Please note this book is labeled ‘reference’, and is not available for check-out. However, there is a study area by the East Asian Reference Collection on the 5th floor on Watson.
- Naver DictionaryWhile this dictionary is intended for use by Korean native speakers learning English, it can be helpful for English native speakers learning Korean as well. Look up any Korean word and find the English equivalent. There are also tabs at the top of the webpage that will give Korean definitions for Korean words (국어) and a tab for Hanja (한자). On the Hanja tab you can look up Hangul words and find related Hanja and uses, or you can look up Hanja and find uses within different words.
Newspapers
- Korea JoongAng DailyThis is the Bilingual Column of the Korea JoongAng Daily newspaper. Each story is put side by side in Korean and English text. This newspaper is a politically right leaning newspaper.
- DongA NewspaperThis newspaper is a politically right leaning newspaper.
- Chosun NewspaperThis newspaper is a politically right/conservative newspaper.
- Hani Newspaper - 한겨레This newspaper is a politically left/liberal newspaper.
- Khan Newspaper - 경향신문This newspaper is a politically left leaning newspaper.
Hanja
A guide to Korean characters : reading and writing Hangŭl and Hanja by Call Number: PL935.5 .G7 2000ISBN: 9780930878139Publication Date: 2000This book is a good introduction for students who wish to begin learning Hanja. This book is like a dictionary for characters, with each character broken down into strokes, stroke help for proper writing, the definition of each character, and examples of words that use each character.
Chinese characters : a radical approach : learn 2,300 Chinese characters through their 214 radicals by Call Number: PL935.5 .W45 2003ISBN: 9788933704394Publication Date: 2003This book is a good reference for students who already have a grasp on Hanja, and would like to learn more. Hanja characters are given with Korean and English equivalents, as well as which radicals are involved and sample words.
Please note this book is labeled ‘reference’, and is not available for check-out. However, there is a study area by the East Asian Reference Collection on the 5th floor on Watson.
Korean Language Guide Credit
This language guide and all pictures were created by KU EALC Korean Language Concentration student Rebecca Reutzel, unless described otherwise.