Resources in this guide for Part 1
This guide presents a selection of trade publications and other professional literature for you to explore before deciding your team's recommendation(s) to the client.
Most of this trade literature was discovered by searching the following databases. If your team is interested in exploring other sources for more ideas, try searching these databases. To access these databases off-campus you will be prompted to authenticate/log-in using your KU I.D. and password.
- Business source complete This link opens in a new window Indexing and abstracts covering business related, peer reviewed journals, books, case studies, company profiles, industry reports, and country economic reports. This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the State Library of Kansas.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Provides access to more than 15,000 full-text news, legal and business sources. Includes journal articles, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; business information on 80 million U.S. and international companies and 75 million executives. Replaces LexisNexis Academic.
- Business: Insights (Gale) This link opens in a new window Formerly known as Business Insights: Essentials, this database provides business and industry content in the following areas: periodical articles, news articles, and press releases; detailed information for domestic and international companies and associations, including information on corporate hierarchical structures; investment reports; corporate chronologies and company histories; brands and product information; industry and company rankings; financial overviews; industry overviews; HR Law Case Digests.
Resources in this guide for Part 2
Each team will need to do additional market research for part 2 of the assignment. Use the "Mintel Reports" tab, to learn how to access this database.
What are trade and professional publications?
Publications such as magazines, journals, newspapers, blog articles and white papers that are written for a particular professional or trade/industry audience are considered trade publications. These resources focus on trends, forecast, and issues of interest to people working in a specific industry or profession. Like popular media sources published for a general audience, trade publications can include news, current events, statistics, advertisements, editorials, notices of events, and reports.
Business Librarian
Ask a Librarian
We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.