Off campus access
Almost all of the library databases can be accessed off-campus. When you access from off-campus, connect to the KU Anywhere VPN (Virtual Private Network) to access these databases. If you don't have the KU Anywhere VPN installed, please see https://technology.ku.edu/services/virtual-lab for more information. Find help at https://technology.ku.edu/remote-working-teaching offered by KUIT.
Trial database: Scholar (Kyobo)
- Scholar databasehttp://www2.lib.ku.edu/login?url=http://scholar.dkyobobook.co.kr
Trial period: June 9 through Dec. 31, 2021. Scholar is a full-text academic journal database established by Kyobo Book Centre which is the top bookstore in Korea, and Hakjisa which is a well-known publisher in the field of psychology and education. Interface: Korean and English; Search in Korean, English, Japanese, and Chinese
Articles & Databases - Top Databases for East Asian Studies
These are the recommended English language databases to begin jounral article searches for Asian studies. Also consult East Asian studies ourse guides for specific resources. For example, Education artilces can be found in Eric, the education specific database. Eudation related to Asian studies, can be found also in the Bibliography for Asian Studies.
- Bibliography of Asian studies This link opens in a new windowBibliographical citations of journal articles and chapter of books for all subjects in Asian studies from 1971 to present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. The following collections are accessible: Arts and Sciences Collections I-X; Life Sciences Collection; and Public Health Reports.
- Gale Academic: OneFile Select This link opens in a new windowProvides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full text for scholarly and general interest journals embracing all academic disciplines.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowProvides access to: full-text of current news and up to the last 20 years; full-text company news & financial information; full-text federal, state & international legal materials; full-text and abstracted medical & health information; general reference sources.
- ProQuest dissertations & theses global This link opens in a new windowProvides access to dissertations and theses from various fields, and is updated regularly. Full text starts from 1743, and citation coverage starts from 1637.
- UNdata This link opens in a new windowThis is a search engine provided by the United Nations to search UN databases for data series.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowIncludes millions of records describing items owned by OCLC member libraries, including the KU Libraries.
Find Books and More
KUCat+ search (note: not all Asian studies databases are included)
KU Library Catalog: Search Help
Library of Congress classification numbers. | Watson Library stack map: Click Here
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowIncludes millions of records describing items owned by OCLC member libraries, including the KU Libraries.
- Romanization of East Asian scripts and library catalog searchFind Romanization and catalog search help
Korean Language Articles & eBook Databases
- DBpia 누리미디어 학회지 DBA full-text database includes over 580 Korean scholarly journals. The journal titles are arranged by subjects and all journals are available from the first issue. Various search indexes are available by title, author, keyword and journal title.
- KRpia, Korean Database 누리미디어 한국학 원문DBsCollection of full-text databases related to Korean Studies including Koryosa, Parhaesa, Chungbo Munhon Pigo and others.
- KISS - New KISS information (2017-11-19)Updated information from KISS on features in the database.
- KISS Users' Guide (Eng)A Users' Guide to the KISS Database
- RISS (Research Information Service System) InternationalRISS provides scholarly service for the Korean Education and Research Information Service (KERIS), a national service organization for education and research programs. "Integrated database search of full-text journal include searches in KISS and DBPia databases, more than 1.6 million theses & dissertations held in more than 150 universities in South Korea, and over 7.9 million bibliographic records."
- Web of science This link opens in a new windowKorean Citation Index (KCI)-Korean Journal Database via Web of Science
-Over 2500 journals
-Data is searchable in Korean and English
-1980 - present
KCI-Korean Journal Database consists of research literature from South Korea. Subject coverage includes Arts & Humanities, Life Sciences & Biomedicine, Physical Sciences, Social Sciences, and Technology.
- Guide to KSI e-book (Eng)A Users' Guide to KSI e-books
- Kyobo ScholarThis is a multi-disciplinary full-text database which includes 800 publishers with 1,300 scholarly journals published by academic societies and research centers in South Korea.
- E-ArticleThis e-journal database provides over 950 journal titles, covering the fields of the Humanities, Arts and Physical Education, Social Science, and STM.
- Yŏnhaengnok chʻonggan chŭngbop'an This link opens in a new windowThe Yŏnhaengnok Collection is a collection of travelogues recorded by Korean envoys who traveled to China during the Koryŏ and Chosŏn dynasties from the 12th century to the 19th century. Users can browse travel records by time period, king, and author. It is multi-languages searchable full-text including classical Korean and Chinese. Download user's manual at here
- User's Manual: Yŏnhaengnok chʻonggan chŭngbop'an 燕行錄叢刊增補版A Users' Guide to the Yŏnhaengnok Collection.
Dissertation and Thesis
- KERIS RISS databaseRISS International provides searchable databases of more than 7.9 million MARC records with 1.6 million full-texts of Korean Theses & Dissertations. http://intl.riss.kr/
- National Assembly Library's Dissertation DatabaseDissertation and Thesis in Social Science Areas received by the National Assembly Library. Some are available for free of charge.
- National Library of Korea's DatabaseCollection of Dissertations in the Humanities, available with online pdf.
- NAVER AcademicArticles, Dissertations, KS, Statistics, Government Records
Newspaper Databases
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) daily reports This link opens in a new windowCovering years: 1941-1996
- Google news archive searchNews and Current Events. Google News Archive Search searches across a large collection of historical archives of major newspapers, magazines, news archives and legal archives. Results include both content that accessible to all users (such as BBC News, Time Magazine and Guardian) and content that requires a fee (such as Washington Post Archives, Newspaper Archive, and New York Times Archives). Some of these resources are available through KU's Articles and Databases website.
- KINDS (종합뉴스데이타베이스)(Registration required for full-text)
Archived searchable index of Korean newspaper articles since 1990, developed by the Korea Press Foundation. - Kyongsong Ilbo (경성일보)Full-text database of the Kyongsong Daily Newspaper from its issue in 1907 to 1935. The articles are provided in a pdf format and are not searchable.
- Naver News LibraryNaver News Library is a full-text Korean newspaper database containing four major newspapers:
* Tonga ilbo東亞日報 = Dong-A ilbo : 1920-1999
* Kyŏnghyang sinmun 京鄕新聞 = Kyunghyang Shinmun : 1946-1999
* Maeil kyŏngje sinmun每日經濟新聞= Maeil Business Newspaper : 1966-1999