" it examines how the North Korean government has interacted with the globalized legal regime of human rights vis-à-vis the UN and details the legal processes and implications of the UN Commission of Inquiry report, including domestic legislation, and evidence collection." --from abstract
The North Korean Serials Databases (NKSIP) is an online article index database that provides a researcher access to specific articles and topics of interest included in the North Korean serials collection. Ex. Choson misul
"Collection of biographical sketches, both handwritten and photocopies, with portraits and pictures. These are biographies of 80 Soviet-Koreans known as "Soryŏnpʻa", who were sent to North Korea by the Soviet Communist Party in the mid-1940's to help establish and administer the North Korean government and North Korean institutions. Most of these people were purged by Kim Il-sŏng in the late 1950's and early 1960's."
North Korean reference room (films, publications, and textbooks)
Language comparison between North and South Korea
Comparison of South and North Korean IT Terminology
North Korean sweetfish
Party organization in English
Inter-Korean Relations Knowledge Dictionary
North Korea Knowledge Dictionary
NK News is an independent, privately owned specialist information source that focuses on North Korea. The site intends to bring authoritative news, opinion & analysis, research tools, data and subject specialists together in one convenient place. The service was established in April 2010 and has staff in Washington DC, Seoul, and London.
Published by the Foreign Languages Publishing House of the DPRK, a state agency. Contents include: News, Politics, Economy & Trade, Society & Culture, History & Folk Customs, Korea Is One, and Tourism.
38North.org is an American-based project of The Henry L. Stimson Center. The project draws on experts from around the world to provide international perspectives on weapons of mass destruction, political, economic, social and other developments on North Korea.
Every day since March 1, 2020 this radio station broadcasts into North Korea from the South Korean side. Usually 1-2 hours a day, podcasts are run by North Korean defectors. The website includes uploaded broadcasts, but also a number of other resources.
Korean Statistical Information Service (KOSIS) operated by Statistics Korea. Contains official statistics produced by over 120 statistical agencies (South Korea) covering more than 500 subject matters as well as the latest data on international finance and economy from international organizations (i.e. IMF, World Bank, OECD) are available on KOSIS.
Includes statistical data produced by the U.S. government; international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities. Read more
Includes 32 databases covered the world. A portal that retrieves data series from the United Nations System and other international organizations. Sources include FAO, ILO, WHO, and the Human Development Report. Country profiles and glossaries are also provided.
North Korea seen from the media
The Great Game (Full Episode) | Inside North Korea (47:22)
North Korea - Life Inside the Secret State | Full Documentary Movie by
Mediatime Network (46:55)
North Korea - inside the world's most secretive state | Unreported World (23:32)
Visiting North Korea | DW Documentary (42:50)
"Few tourists manage to peek behind the iron curtain of North Korea's dictatorship. But the journalist Luca Faccio managed to visit Kim Jong Un's regime."
The North Korean cult of personality explored (12:46)
Defectors lift curtain on North Korea's information blackout (PBS News Hour) (9:43)
Inside the Kim Regime | Thae Yong-Ho | 2019 (Oslo Freedom Forum) (17:50) b>
"Thae Yong-ho lived a privileged life in North Korea as the deputy ambassador to the United Kingdom. But in 2016, he risked everything to defect with his family to find freedom. He is the highest-ranking North Korean to ever escape and one of the fiercest voices against the Kim"