Research & Course Guides - Browse By Subject
Choose a subject for a list of related guides.

  Search: 
 

Browse By Subject

East Asian Studies
East Asian Studies
by Vickie Doll, Michiko Ito - Last Updated Apr 15, 2014
Resources for East Asian Studies, and links to China Studies, Japan Studies and Korea Studies.
China Studies
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Apr 15, 2014
Provides a starting point for China Studies, including resources to find books, articles, newspapers, etc. This page also includes Chinese studies course guides, and information of travel to China.
Japan Studies
by Michiko Ito - Last Updated Apr 15, 2014
Provides a starting point for Japan Studies, including resources to find books, articles, newspapers, and web resources.
Korea Studies
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Apr 15, 2014
Provides a starting point for Korea Studies, including resources to find books, articles, newspapers, etc.
Guide to Japanese Sake: Japanese Studies Resources Series
by Michiko Ito - Last Updated Apr 15, 2014
This guide means to assist research on the history, traditions, and culture on Japanese Sake, as well as provide information on Sake Brewers. We recommend using a PC/tablet when viewing this guide, sorry for the inconvenience.
Literary Inquisition - China Banned Books Exhibit
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Jan 21, 2014
This exhibition was part of the International Area Studies Banned Book Exhibits in fall 2012.
Chinese and Korean Language Resources for Art History Studies
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Apr 15, 2014
Chinese and Korean language library research resources for art history studies
CHIN 544 Readings in Classical Chinese
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Jan 13, 2014
The course introduces readings from a specific philosophical school or literary genre, for example: Confucian Philosophical Texts, Daoist Philosophical Texts, Poetry, Ming/Qing fiction, etc. Prerequisite: CHIN 342 or CHIN 542 or consent of the instructor.
EALC 121: Introduction to Contemporary China
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Feb 8, 2014
Research resources on contemporary China after reform and opening up for the past thirty years in its social, economical, political and cultural changes.
EALC 318/590 Modern Chinese Fiction and Film
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Jan 13, 2014
An introduction to the Chinese fiction of the first half of the twentieth century
EALC 318/590: Modern Chinese Literature in Translation
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Feb 20, 2014
Research resources on modern Chinese authors fiction and film. MLA writing style and an annotated bibliography of "works cited" are assigned for final paper.
EALC 319/590: Contemporary Chinese Literature in Translation
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Feb 20, 2014
Intro. to Chinese literature of the second half of the twentieth century. Students will learn the modern Chinese-speaking world through the mediation of literature.
EALC 415/615: Ancient China
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Jan 26, 2014
Research resources cover ancient China from Shang dynasty to Han and basic research skills.
EALC 590: Chinese Cinema
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Mar 11, 2014
This course examines the recent developments of Chinese cinema. Students are expected to view films, and learn theories and methodologies of film studies.
EALC 590: Chinese Popular Culture
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Mar 14, 2014
Recent developments of Chinese cinema, culture and society since 2000.
EALC 590: Gender & Society in Modern China
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Jan 13, 2014
This course provides a historical overview of transforming gender politics and social life in modern China (1911-present).
East Asian Art Resources
by Susan Craig - Last Updated Mar 5, 2014
Basic English-language resources for researching Chinese, Japanese, and Korean art
ECIV 304: Eastern Civilization
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Jan 7, 2014
The guide provides library research materials for broad understanding of traditional cultures and literature of East Asia.
South Asian Studies
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Apr 16, 2014
This guide provides information on South Asian Studies resources available at the University of Kansas Libraries and links to external information.
International Area Studies Exhibits
by Jon Giullian, Mary Raple - Last Updated Apr 1, 2014
This guide is the record of book exhibits displayed by the International Area Studies Department on the 5th floor of Watson Library at the University of Kansas.
Nobel Literature Laureates Gao Xingjian (2000) and Mo Yan (2012)
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Jan 11, 2014
Nobel Literature Laureates Gao Xingjian (2000) and Mo Yan (2012) Exhibition
Resource Guide for Japanese Language Students
by Michiko Ito - Last Updated Apr 8, 2014
This is a guide for teachers and students who are interested in finding reading/visual materials appropriate for their language level in Japanese available in the Univ. of Kansas Libraries. We recommend using the PC/tablet when using this guide.
HIST 588 Modern Japan (Fall 2013)
by Michiko Ito - Last Updated Apr 15, 2014
Course guide for students of HIST 588 on how to use the library and find research materials.
CHIN 342/542: Classical Chinese
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Jan 13, 2014
Primary sources of classical (pre-modern) Chinese texts and basic treatment of Chinese reference works.
HIST605/EALC590: Medieval Japan
by Michiko Ito - Last Updated Apr 3, 2014
Course guide for students of HIST 605/EALC 590 on how to use databases available in KU Libraries and find research materials.
HA 589: Japanese Artistis Encounters with Europe and the United States
by Michiko Ito - Last Updated Apr 3, 2014
Guide for students and instructors of HA 589 on how to find research materials.

Japanese Studies Librarian

Profile Image
Michiko Ito
Contact Info
East Asian Library
Watson Library
1425 Jayhawk Blvd.
Lawrence, KS 66045
Phone: (785) 864-4669
Fax: (785) 864-3850
Send Email

China & Korea Studies

Profile Image
Vickie Doll


Loading...
Arrow