Articals & Databases - Top picked DBs for Asian Studies
These are the recommended databases to begin jounral article searches for Asian studies. Also consult China, Japan, and Korea library subject guides and East Asian studies ourse guides for specific resources. For example, Education artilces can be found in Eric, the education specific database. Eudation related to Asian studies, can be found also in the Bibliography for Asian Studies.
- Bibliography of Asian studies This link opens in a new windowBibliographical citations of journal articles and chapter of books for all subjects in Asian studies from 1971 to present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. The following collections are accessible: Arts and Sciences Collections I-X; Life Sciences Collection; and Public Health Reports.
- Gale Academic: OneFile Select This link opens in a new windowProvides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full text for scholarly and general interest journals embracing all academic disciplines.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowProvides access to: full-text of current news and up to the last 20 years; full-text company news & financial information; full-text federal, state & international legal materials; full-text and abstracted medical & health information; general reference sources.
- Google Scholar (includes Get at KU) This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, patents, theses, books, pre-prints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- Wall Street journal (ProQuest access) This link opens in a new windowThe financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news. Coverage extends from 1984 to 24 hours ago.
Other E-journal
Off campus access
Almost all Library databases can be accessed from off-campus. When you access from off campus, you will then be prompted for your KU online ID and password to authenticate yourself as an authorized user. If you find sources through Google or other search engines, you may not automatically get access to Library databases and resources.
Other Articles & Databases
Also consult subject guides for China, Japan, and Korea for language databases and course guides for research help.
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts of articles on business and management from U.S. and international professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines, and regional business publications. Full-text articles are available for a significant portion of journals indexed. The subscription includes access to ABI/INFORM Dateline, Global, Trade & Industry, and Archive.
- Anthropology plus This link opens in a new windowCombines Anthropological literature from Harvard University with the Anthropological Index, from the Royal Anthropological Institute in the United Kingdom. Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. (Restricted to 10 simultaneous users.)
- Business: Insights (Gale) This link opens in a new windowBusiness Insights: Essentials (formerly Business and Company Resource Center) provides business and industry content in the following areas: periodical articles, news articles, and press releases; detailed information for domestic and international companies and associations, including information on corporate hierarchical structures; investment reports; corporate chronologies and company histories; brands and product information; industry and company rankings; financial overviews; and industry overviews.
- Business source complete This link opens in a new windowProviding indexing and abstracting to business related, peer reviewed journals, BSC also indexes more than 1000 books, 5000 case studies, and more than a million company profiles, industry reports, and country economic reports.
- Emerging markets information services (EMIS) This link opens in a new windowncludes full-text primary news sources, financial data, statistics, and legal information. A multilingual collection of news and information sources about the emerging markets of selected countries in Latin America, Europe, Asia, the Middle East, and North Africa. KU Libraries subscription includes access to the EMIS (Emerging Markets Information Service) product only.
- Films on demand This link opens in a new windowFilms on Demand is a web-based digital video delivery service that allows users to view streaming videos from Films Media Group 24/7. Choose from more than 5,500 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, personalize folders and manage their entire collection through an administrative reporting system.
- Historical abstracts This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic database to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in the database, America: History and Life). Indexes the journal and book literature.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowA searchable database that provides online access to current issues of selected scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. A list of the journals contained in this database can be found at the Project Muse homepage.
- World news connection This link opens in a new windowProvides timely and pertinent open-source material from non-U.S. media sources. Material provided to the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) by analysts from the Open Source Center's (OSC) domestic and overseas bureaus. Successor to the daily reports from the Foreign Broadcasting Information Service (FBIS) and reports from the Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) . Content focuses primarily on military, political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and is compiled from non-U.S. media sources. WNC is the only news service that allows you to take advantage of the intelligence gathering experience of OSC.
- Asian Studies WWW Virtual LibraryA global collaborative project which provides access in bibliographic and in hypertext terms to networked scholarly documents, resources and information systems concerned with or relevant to Asian Studies.
