image
East Asian Links
Find Books
KU Library Catalog:
Korean Romanization
- McCune-Reischauer.orgA Practical Guide to McCune-Reischauer Romanization
1. Software for Korean romanization
2. Transactions of the Korea Branch of the Royal Asiatic Society
3. ALA-LC Romanization Tables: Transliteration Schemes for Non-Roman Scripts - Romanization of KoreaALA-LC ROMANIZATION TABLES
1. Basic Principles of Romanization
2. Summary of the Romanization System
3. Special Provisions for Romanization
Finding Articles
- DBpia 누리미디어 학회지 DB A full-text database includes over 580 Korean scholarly journals. The journal titles are arranged by subjects and all journals are available from the first issue. Various search indexes are available by title, author, keyword and journal title.
- E-Korean Studies
- KRpia, Korean Database 누리미디어 한국학 원문DBs Collection of full-text databases related to Korean Studies including Koryosa, Parhaesa, Chungbo Munhon Pigo and others.
- KERIS (한국 교육과 연구 안내부)Provides 150,000 free full-text scholarly articles through searchable databases.
- Korea ScienceMore than 60,000 papers from over 200 scientific, technical and medical journals. Also includes news, organizations, technical reports, patents, and personnel information.
- Naver News LibraryNaver News Library is a full-text Korean newspaper database containing four major newspapers:
* Tonga ilbo東亞日報 = Dong-A ilbo : 1920-1999
* Kyŏnghyang sinmun 京鄕新聞 = Kyunghyang Shinmun : 1946-1999
* Maeil kyŏngje sinmun每日經濟新聞= Maeil Business Newspaper : 1966-1999
* Han’gyŏre 한겨레 = The Hankyoreh : 1988-1999
Books, Journal Titles and other materials
- WorldCat

- Kugyok Choson wangjo sillok (국역조선왕조실록)[electronic resource] 국역조선왕조실록 (Annals of Choson Dynasty)
This product is now freely available at http://sillok.history.go.kr/main/main.jsp
The Annals of the Choson Dynasty(朝鮮王朝実錄) comprise 1,893 books covering 472 years (1392~1863) of the history of the Choson Dynasty.
Dissertation and These
- KERIS RISS databaseRISS International provides searchable databases of more than 7.9 million MARC records with 1.6 million full-texts of Korean Theses & Dissertations. http://intl.riss.kr/
- RISS for Higher EducationKorean dissertations and theses from Universities in South Korea. Some are available in PDF files for free of charge.
- National Assembly Library's Dissertation DatabaseDissertation and Thesis in Social Science Areas received by the National Assembly Library. Some are available for free of charge.
- National Library of Korea's DatabaseClick on Dissertation (hagwi nonmun) for searching. Some are freely available.
Internet Resources
- Internet Resources Subject Guide by CKMSubject guides by the Committee on Korean Materials, Council on East Asian Libraries
- Korean Economic InstitueProvides economic data for both North and South Korea and contains links to related sites.
- Korean History OnlinePathway to the resources available through the Data Center for Korean History.
- Korea Knowledge PortalSearching in Korean only.
Integrates several portals and sites for Korean national affairs, news and Korean encyclopedias. - Korean Studies Internet Discussion List: Korean Studies Review Indexby the Asian Studies Institute of the Victoria University of Wellington. Stephen Epstein (Victoria University of Wellington) edits, with administrative assistance from Laila Faisal (Victoria University of Wellington), who also maintains the web pages...most of the book reviews that originally appear in Korean Studies Review eventually are published in Acta Koreana and vice versa "--self intro.
Index by Reviewer; Index by Date and Number. 1998-2007. - North Korea WWW Virtual Library
- South Korea WWW Virtual Library
Ask a Korean Studies Librarian!
Ask a Korean Studies Librarian!
A virtual reference service provided by the members of the Korean Studies Librarians of the Korean Collections Consortium of North America (KCCNA).
South Korea News Feed
Newspaper Databases
- Choson Ilbo Archive (조선일보 아카이브)Full-text database of the Choson Daily Newspaper from its first issue in 1920 to the present.
- KINDS (종합뉴스데이타베이스)(Registration required for full-text)
Archived searchable index of Korean newspaper articles since 1990, developed by the Korea Press Foundation. - Korean Herald (web access, 1999-)Biweekly magazine of Korea today.
- Kyongsong Ilbo (경성일보)Full-text database of the Kyongsong Daily Newspaper from its issue in 1907 to 1935. The articles are provided in a pdf format and are not searchable.
- Chosun Daily (조선일보)(web access, 1920-)
- Custom newspapers1996 to present. News and current events. Database of over 150 newspapers primarily from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Korea and Australia.
- Google news archive searchNews and Current Events. Google News Archive Search searches across a large collection of historical archives of major newspapers, magazines, news archives and legal archives. Results include both content that accessible to all users (such as BBC News, Time Magazine and Guardian) and content that requires a fee (such as Washington Post Archives, Newspaper Archive, and New York Times Archives). Some of these resources are available through KU's Articles and Databases website.
Chinese & Korean Studies Librarian
Contact Info East Asian Library University of Kansas Libraries Lawrence, KS 66045 KUeal updates Send Email |








top
Loading...
