Film Reviews and Criticism
To get started, search the title of your film as a quoted phrase in the following databases. You can then filter your results by source type, publication, or peer-reviewed/scholarly articles.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowIndexes 340 of the world's academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present.
- Film & television literature index with full text This link opens in a new windowThis database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for hundreds of publications (and selected coverage of 300), as well as full text for hundreds of journals and books. Also includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
To find a "Movie Review" published in a newspaper, search for the title of the movie and "movie review." For example, in The Global Newsstream database, enter: "lives of others" AND movie review.
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowSearch the most recent global news content, with archives that stretch back into the 1980s from over 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format. Provides one of the largest collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
After exhausting the above databases, consider using the databases below:
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access of all licensed JSTOR archival journals and primary sources. The collection covers all academic disciplines.
Annotated Bibliographies & Citing Sources
For help with your Annotated Bibliography and Citing Sources, go to the Cite Sources tab above.
Source Types
What's a Library Database Tutorial?
Need More Help?
- Video Tutorials | KU LibrariesWatch these very short videos to learn more about how to use databases for your research assignment.