Subject & Course Guides: REES 110/177/220: Guide to Research about Russia, Eastern Europe &amp; Central Asia: Articles & Databases

What's a Library Database? (Tutorial)

Foreign Language Databases

Foreign Language Databases

Social Sciences and Humanities (Periodicals)
In Russian. Covers current content of major Russian periodicals on social sciences and humanities. Includes all 31 journals of the Russian Academy of Sciences ranging from archeology to linguistics, popular literary editions, independent scholarly publications, etc.
Central and Easten European Online Library (CEEOL)
In multiple languages, including English. Provides access to articles, scholarly journals, electronic books, and re-digitized documents pertaining to Central and Eastern Europe. Content in vernacular languages of Eastern Europe and English.

Anthropology, Ethnology, and Sociology

Anthropology, Ethnology, Sociology

Sociological abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Web of science This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts citations in research journals across the disciplinary spectrum. Online version of Arts and humanities citation index (1975-present), Science citation index (1900-present), and Social sciences citation index (1956-present). This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the KU Medical Center.
Sage journals online This link opens in a new window
Covers SAGE publications in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Also includes four journal collections in communication studies, criminology, politics and international relations, and sociology.

eHRAF World Cultures
The Human Relations Area Files (HRAF), a non-profit consortium of universities and colleges, seeks to encourage and facilitate comparative studies of human behavior, society, and culture. eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life.

Anthropology plus This link opens in a new window
A combination of the Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature, this resource indexes bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archeology, and related disciplines. This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries, Kansas State University Libraries, and Wichita State University.

Government, Military, Security (Eng. & Rus.)

Government, Military, Security (Russian & English)

National Defense University
more...less...
National Defense University educates joint warfighters and other national security leaders in critical thinking and the creative application of military power to inform national strategy and globally integrated operations, under conditions of disruptive change, in order to prevail in war, peace, and competition.
The Jamestown Foundation
more...less...
The Jamestown Foundation’s mission is to inform and educate policy makers and the broader community about events and trends in those societies which are strategically or tactically important to the United States and which frequently restrict access to such information. Utilizing indigenous and primary sources, Jamestown’s material is delivered without political bias, filter, or agenda. It is often the only source of information which should be, but is not always, available through official or intelligence channels, especially in regard to Eurasia and terrorism.
Military Education Research Library Network (MERLN)
more...less...
A comprehensive website devoted to international military education outreach. It represents a consortium of military education research libraries that work together to provide access to a variety of unique electronic resources for the use of researchers and scholars.
ISN: International Relations and Security Networks
more...less...
ISN provides access to publications in international relations and security by research institutes, think tanks, and governmental and non-governmental organizations. It contains primary documents, news and current affairs, and research and publications pertaining to international security issues. All content and newsletters are free and several newsletters can be subscribed to by email.
International Government Documents Finding Guide
more...less...
Electronic resources for information on world governments and country profiles. Contains some hard-copy resources.
Energy Information Administration
more...less...
International section provides data, statistical reports, forecasts, and analyses. Analyses include country energy profiles, chronologies of energy events, international energy security, and other special topics.
Journal of Power Institutions in Post-Soviet Societies
more...less...
Journal of Power Institutions in Post-Soviet Societies is an online international social sciences journal devoted to the armed forces and power institutions of post-Soviet societies. The journal's focus is the comparative and multi-disciplinary study of the structures and forces that make up the security systems, administrations, and institutions employing armed personnel in all the Republics of the Former Soviet Union (FSU).
Public Documents Masterfile
more...less...
An expansive electronic guide to federal, state, local, and international public documents spanning over 200 years of publication.
Russian Military and Security Periodicals (UDB-MIL)
more...less...
The only resource of its kind, the Russian Military and Security Periodicals (UDB-MIL) collection includes several dozen publications covering military and security developments in Russia from both official and independent sources. All branches of the armed forces are covered by this collection, including the Russian Air Force, Army, and Navy. In addition to journals and newspapers published in Moscow, UDB-MIL presents imprints from military districts and some armies and divisions. Equally important, the collection includes a trove of English-language sources.
Russian Government and Parliamentary Publications (UDB-GOV)
more...less...
The Russian Government Publications (UDB-GOV) collection monitors mainly the events in the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation. It includes stenographic records of the hearings of both its houses, the Duma and Federation Council, and provides vote results, resolutions, and legislative drafts, as well as auxiliary information, such as the schedule and agenda of legislative work. The Database includes Biulleten' Schetnoi palaty published by the State Audit Chamber subordinate to the Duma and the Vestnik Tsentrizbirkoma, or The Herald of the Central Electoral Committee, responsible for all types of elections in Russia. Texts of laws, presidential decrees, government resolutions, and the Constitutional Court decisions are also available, as well as comments on current Russian legislation published by popular legal journals Zakon and Gosudarstvo i pravo.
Russian Sociological Data Archive
more...less...
The Institute supports a wide range of sociological data about Russia's diverse populations and regions. Resources include: Sociological Atlas of Russian Regions, Online Journal of Social Policy (SPERO), and The Russian Sociological Data Archive which consolidates data from 12 major sociological institutions in Russia.

Google Tools

Google Scholar (includes Get at KU) This link opens in a new window
Google book search This link opens in a new window
Google news This link opens in a new window

Refine Google searches

Region-Specific Databases

Region-Specific Databases

Listed alphabetically below, these databases include a vast amount of scholarly content for Slavic and Eurasian Studies. While some databases are full text, others are citations only. Coverage dates vary significantly.

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES)
Covers North American scholarship on East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. Contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books and book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications.

Middle Eastern & Central Asian studies This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic index of research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa. Covers political affairs & law, international relations, economic affairs: business & industry, cultural heritage, arts & humanities, society & social welfare, ethnic diversity & anthropology, significant religious events & movements, recent history, and archaeology.
European bibliography of Slavic and East European studies (EBSEES) This link opens in a new window
NO LONGER BEING UPDATED SINCE 2007. A free citation database for research on the USSR and the Communist countries of Eastern Europe. It indexes research publications in a fast-changing geopolitical area which consisted of 9 states in 1989 and now, after the break-up of the USSR, Yugoslavia, and Czechoslovakia, comprises 27 independent countries.

Multi-Subject Databases

Multi-Subject Databases

Contain a mixture of scholarly and popular material. While there is some overlap in content, each database provides access to unique content for Slavic and Eurasian Studies.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of Slavic Review, Slavic and East European Journal, and several other important journals in Slavic and Eurasian studies.
Academic search complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text peer reviewed journal articles as well as newspapers, blogs, wire services, and general interest periodicals from across all academic disciplines.

This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the State Library of Kansas.

Project Muse
Full-text articles from academic journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences.

ProQuest research library This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences from 1971. Indexes some sources for Slavic & Eurasian studies.

Gale Academic OneFile
Provides access to peer-reviewed full-text articles in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, theology, literature, and other subjects.
Gale General OneFile
Indexes newspapers, news wires and a collection of refereed academic journals, business publications, technology periodicals, general interest magazines, as well as specialty titles in law, health care, and computers.

Political Science & History

Political Science & History

This list includes the major databases of scholarly literature for Political Science and History. While some databases are full text, others are citations only.

Worldwide political science abstracts This link opens in a new window
PAIS index This link opens in a new window
Ciao : Columbia international affairs online This link opens in a new window
Political science complete This link opens in a new window
Sage journals online This link opens in a new window

Erik Herron's Guide to Post Communist States on the Web

Historical abstracts This link opens in a new window

America: History & Life

Business

Business

These databases are a good place to start research in business, commerce, and industry. Read the descriptions to determine which databases would be best for your topic.

Business source complete This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Emerging markets information services (EMIS) This link opens in a new window
Global economic monitor This link opens in a new window
Wall Street journal (ProQuest access) This link opens in a new window

Environment

Environment

These databases are the best place to start your research on environmental issues. Read the descriptions to determine which databases would be best for your topic.