About
Citing Sources, Using Style Guides, & Building Bibliographies
Citation of sources is an essential element of research and scholarly communication. Citation enables other researchers to examine your sources and follow your argument. Style guides provide standards that help researcher identify and codify different types of sources. Although there are many citation and style guides, this LibGuide facilitates access to the three most ubiquitous guides used among the academic community in the United States.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
MLA Handbook (7th edition) by Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2009ISBN: 9781603292627Publication Date: 2009Copy 1 in Anschutz Library
Copy 2 in Watson Library- MLA Handbook (8th edition) by ISBN: 9781603292627Publication Date: 2016-04-01Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2016
MLA Handbook (9th edition) by ISBN: 9781603293518Publication Date: 2021-04-22Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2021
Chicago Manual of Style
The Chicago Manual of Style by Call Number: Z253 .U69 2010ISBN: 9780226104201Publication Date: 2010-08-01
- Chicago-Style Citation Quick GuideOffers examples of the two basic formats: (1) notes & bibliography; (2) author-date.
- The Chicago Manual of Style OnlineCovers style & usage, citation examples, and the publishing process.
- Chicago Manual of Style 17th EditionOffers samples of citations and guides with general models of citing various literature and materials in the newest (17th) edition.
APA Publication Manual (Citation Style Guide)
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2010ISBN: 1433805618Publication Date: 2010-01-01
- APA Style Guide to Electronic References
Shelved at Watson Library-Reference Desk and Music & Dance Library-Reference Desk (In Library Use Only).
Call Number: BF76.7 .P832 2012
Publication Manual (OFFICIAL) 7th Edition of the American Psychological Association by ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020
What is an Annotated Bibliography?
An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents. Each citation is followed by a brief (usually about 150 words) descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited.
How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography (Olin Library Reference, Research & Learning Services, Cornell University Library, Ithaca, NY, USA).
Bibliographies | KU Writing Center (describes different types of annotated bibliographies and provides an example).
Citation: A (Very) Brief Introduction
What is a Literature Review?
A literature review surveys scholarly articles, books, and other sources (e.g. dissertations, conference proceedings) relevant to a particular issue, area of research, or theory, providing a description, summary, and critical evaluation of each work. The purpose is to offer an overview of significant literature published on a topic.
Citation Generators & Writing Help
- MyBibA new, user-friendly citation tool without all the annoying advertisements. Supports 33 document types, from Artwork to Websites.
- EasyBibGenerates citations in APA, MLA, Chicago, and other formats
- BibMeGenerates bibliographies in APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, and other formats.
- TUTORIAL: You Quote It, You Note It!Interactive tutorial provided by Arcadia University.
- KU Writing CenterCheck out the writing guides from the KU Writing Center!
Slavic & Eurasian Studies
Watson Library - Level 5 East
University of Kansas
1425 Jayhawk Blvd, Rm 519
Lawrence, KS 66045