Search KU Collection
Search KU Collection and More
What Am I Searching?
Our new search allows you to search for a number of different resources, including:
- Everything from the KU Libraries Catalog: more than 4 million books, ebooks, videos, sound recordings, manuscripts, and more
- A growing collection of more than 66,000 images from KU Libraries' digital collections and beyond
- More than 7,700 articles and Open Access research from KU ScholarWorks, KU's institutional repository
You may search across these sources all at once, or limit your search to those items most interesting to you.
NOTE: not all databases important for East Asian/Japanese Studies are not included!
Selected Databases to Find Asian Art Journals and Indexes
Click here to see a complete list of databases pertaining to art and art history.
- Academic search complete This link opens in a new windowContains full-text peer reviewed journal articles as well as newspapers, blogs, wire services, and general interest periodicals from across all academic disciplines.
This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the State Library of Kansas. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access of all licensed JSTOR archival journals and primary sources. The collection covers all academic disciplines.
Database Instruction
Click here to download the powerpoint instruction.
Online Reference Tools
KU Libraries provide several dictionaries and encyclopedias, useful to look up Japanese terms and personal names.
- Japan narejji Lib (ジャパンナレッジ Lib) = JapanKnowledge Lib This link opens in a new windowConsists of fully searchable and browsable databases including English-Japanese and Japanese-English dictionaries, Encyclopedia Nipponica and Encyclopedia of Japan, articles published in a weekly magazine Ekonomisuto, collection of Tōyō bunko series and other visual and sound databases.
- Encyclopedia of JapanOne of the major e-references available in JapanKnowledge. Click the title to jump to this reference source. KU ID and password may be required. Available after 3/17/2014.
- Britannica online This link opens in a new windowProvides coverage and integrated searching of the following encyclopedias and multiple reference tools: Encyclopaedia Britannica; Britannica Student Encyclopedia; Britannica Internet Guide; Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary; Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Thesaurus; and World Atlas.
- Encyclopedia of Modern AsiaA six-volume survey of modern Asia, defined as extending from Japan in the east to Turkey in the west, and from Kazakhstan in the north to Indonesia in the south. Presents entries covering such subjects as countries, cities, regions, natural features, religions, social issues, languages, people, events, customs, politics, and economics.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a wide variety of reference materials. The collection includes publications covering a wide variety of subject matters, such as history, biography, literature, medicine, health, sociology, and education.