HA 589: Japanese Artists Encounters with Europe and the United States: Museums and Organizations

One of the largest museums in the Western world devoted exclusively to Asian art.

An important art collection that spans the centuries and the world in it's 15 departments. The Chinese collection is renowned.

Part of the Smithsonian Institution in Washington, DC these museums have art objects East Asia, South Asia, Southeast Asia, the Islamic world, the ancient Neat East, and ancient Egypt.

Hawaiʻi’s largest private presenter of visual arts programs, boasting a permanent collection of over 40,000 works of art from cultures around the world and perhaps most well known for its collection of Asian art, especially Japanese and Chinese works.

A multi-building complex with collections from around the world. The Hammer Building houses the Chinese and Korean collections and the Pavilion for Japanese Art displays the Shin'enkan collection donated by Joe D. Price.

The collection of Asian art represents 17 Asian cultures spanning nearly 5,000 years.

One of the largest museums in the United States with an extensive collection of Chinese art and the largest museum collection of Japanese works under one roof in the world outside of Japan.

Located in Kansas City, MO about an hour's drive from Lawrence. An encyclopedic museum with particular strength in Asian art.

One of the largest art museums in US with approx. 227,000 art objects, including paintings and sculptures from Japan.

Founded by Isabella Stewart Gardner, an American art collector and philanthropist, this museum houses art collection of world importance. Gardner was a friend of many artists and writers, including Okakura Tenshin, who became adviser and assistant curator to the Chinese and Japanese Department of the Boston Museum of Fine Arts.

Located in Little Tokyo, LA, this museum contains over 130 years of Japanese American history.

Created by Tokyo Metropolitan Library, this site presents the history and culture of Edo/Tokyo.

Features the images from Tokyo-related documents since the Meiji Periord.

Collection index site of 4 major museums in Tokyo: Edo-Tokyo Museum, Tokyo Metropolitan Museum of Photography, Museum of Contemporary Art Tokyo, and Edo-Tokyo Open Air Architectural Museum.

Founded on March 28,1993, This museum functions as a facility to preserve the historical heritage of Edo-Tokyo.

Japanese only.