Ancient China (EALC 415/ 615): Web Resources

http://www.chinapage.com/history/dyna3.html (in a condensed form)

Prepared by Patricia Buckley Ebrey. For this course, look the "ancient period" and its "topics" of Geography, Ancient Tombs, Buddhism, and calligraphy. Every topic includes a helpful "Timeline and Maps" page.

Eno, Robert. 2010. A List of Significant Dates and Names for the Spring & Autumn Period. Bloomington, Indiana: Robert Eno. http://www.iub.edu/~g380/SA-Dates.html.

Prepared by Patricia Buckley Ebrey. For this course, look the "ancient period" and its "topics" of Geography, Ancient Tombs, Buddhism, and calligraphy. Every topic includes a helpful "Timeline and Maps" page.

The Museum's outreach for children ages 9-11. However, the teacher handbook has history of early dynasties tombs, writings, geography, time and more.
http://www.ancientchina.co.uk/staff/topics/history.html

Founded by Shanghai Sino-foreign cultural and artistic exchanges Association Ancient Jade Research Institute. Also include eJournal of 《古玉收藏与研讨》. This link is vol. 4 of the eJournal which is in English.

China's official site of Archaeology. Digs, discoveries and Developments, Year's Top Ten Finds, general survey of Chinese archaeology and brief introduction to Chinese history. Also includes Archaeological Glossary.

Includes history, archaeology, language, philosophy, technology/invention/science, and art, etc.

British Museum

"Since the 1980s, Chinese archaeologists have made many discoveries that call for a re-write of some chapters of Chinese prehistory, history and art history. Obligated by law to excavate sites that are threatened by construction projects or have been disturbed by tomb robbers, China's thousands of professional and semi-professional archaeologists have a massive task meeting the demands placed on the profession."

hosted by the Uniersity of Chicago. Lots useful information on early China includes a Database of Early Chinese Manuscripts by Enno Giele.

Eno, Robert. 2010. Early Interpretations of the Book of Poetry: the "Prefaces". Bloomington, Indiana: Robert Eno. http://www.indiana.edu/~g380/Poetry_Prefaces.pdf.

Full-text searchable of 《郭店楚簡十六篇釋文修訂稿》by Zhang Guangyu and a bibliography of 《郭店楚簡主要參考論著》檢索系統. By 香港中文大學圖書館與香港中文大學中國語言及文學系.

Eno, Robert. 2010. Key Names in the Classical Account of the Distant Past. Bloomington, Indiana: Robert Eno. http://www.iub.edu/~g380/Legendary_Kings.pdf.

Arranged by province and city names in Pinyin with web address and location address. by State Administration of Cultural Heritage 国家文物局.

The online guide to Howard Spodek's The World's History features quizzes (multiple-choice questions, true/false questions, interactive review questions), primary sources, maps, a bulletin board, a Live Chat, web links, and faculty resources for each chapter/topic. This chapter emphasizes the foundations of empire and the alternation between periods of dynastic strength and disorganization.