Ancient China (EALC 415/ 615): Art Museum Images

Restricted to KU students, faculty and staff. Approximately 5,004 images of selected objects from the NPM permanent collection.

Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum, Boston MA.

"A remarkable and mysterious group of small bronze sculptures from China’s Warring States Period and Han Dynasty (475 BC–AD 220) depicts bears, felines, rams, deer, and other creatures both real and imaginary. Made in sets of four and often filled with lead, these sculptures were used to weigh down mats used for seating and for playing board games, and their internment in tombs suggests that they were as significant during life as after death."--intro.

"The Mystery of Bronzes" is an exhibition that attempts to use modern high technology forms of multimedia facilities to portray the development of high technology in the Shang and Chou (Zhou) dynasties, which took the form of smelting metals and casting bronze objects. The virtual displays and fully digitized ways of presentation in this exhibit include a great deal of animation to recreate the complex processes that went into the high technology of ancient China, thereby offering audiences with an informative and entertaining understanding of the wisdom of the ancients.--self intro.

The Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, the Smithsonian's museums of Asian art, will release their entire collections online Jan. 1, 2015, providing unprecedented access to one of the world's most important holdings of Asian and American art. More than 90 percent of the images will be in high resolution and without copyright restrictions for noncommercial use. Search by date to see the early China collection.

Consisting of over 10,000 prints and slides of sculptures from over 200 sites in China, the Ann Paludan Image Library provides a unique source for the study of Chinese sculpture.

"Aurora Museum is a private museum in the Pudong area of Shanghai. Some of its artifacts are among the best in all China. This gallery is the collection of jade artifacts from Neolithic through the Qing Dynasty. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"Aurora Museum is a private museum in the Pudong area of Shanghai. Some of its artifacts are among the best in all China. This gallery is for special exhibits and in 2015 displayed a spectacular collection of Pre-Han and Han Jade. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"Located midway between Sanmenxia and Luoyang, Yangshao Village is the place where the Neolithic Culture named after it was discovered in 1921. The best artifacts are in the museums in Beijing and Zhengzhou, but the on-site museum documents the history and excavation of the Yangshao Culture, and the museum staff gave me a tour of the excavation site. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"Here we have the culture of Handan from Neolithic times through the Shang, Zhou, and Han Dynasties. During the Warring States Period Handan was the capital of the Kingdom of Zhao. Three other albums complete the collections of the Handan City Museum in Hebei Province. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"This gallery deals with Northeastern Paleolithic and Neolithic cultures, before the time of recorded history. This area is the home of the famous Hongshan jades. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"The fate of Sanxingdui was a mystery until 2001 when the Jinsha Culture was discovered in Chengdu. It appears the ancient Shu people moved from Sanxingdui to Jinsha around 1200 BC during the Shang Dynasty, and maintained it as their ceremonial center until late Spring and Autumn. The golden Sun-Bird found there has now become an important symbol of China. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"Qufu, in Shandong Province, was the home of Kongzi (Confucius) as well as the capital of the Eastern Zhou State of Lu. Kongzi's ancestral temple and the family mansion of his descendants lie within the Ming Dynasty city wall. To the north of the old city is the tomb of Kongzi, along with the graves of over 100,000 his descendants. It is the world's oldest and largest clan cemetery. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"The Henan Museum has been totally renovated, with many new artifacts and labels in English. Eight galleries on the first two floors take you from Henan's remote past through the Yuan Dynasty, with additional galleries on the third floor and basement, plus special exhibits. I currently have 14 albums from this museum. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"The Henan Museum has been totally renovated, with many new artifacts and labels in English. Eight galleries on the first two floors take you from Henan's remote past through the Yuan Dynasty, with additional galleries on the third floor and basement, plus special exhibits. I currently have 14 albums from this museum. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"The Henan Museum has been totally renovated, with many new artifacts and labels in English. Eight galleries on the first two floors take you from Henan's remote past through the Yuan Dynasty, with additional galleries on the third floor and basement, plus special exhibits. I currently have 14 albums from this museum. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"The Henan Museum has been totally renovated, with many new artifacts and labels in English. Eight galleries on the first two floors take you from Henan's remote past through the Yuan Dynasty, with additional galleries on the third floor and basement, plus special exhibits. I currently have 14 albums from this museum. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"This is a special exhibit about the ancient Xiongnu people held at Henan Provincial Museum in Zhengzhou in April and May, 2012. The Xiongnu flourished on China's northern border during the Warring States and Han eras. Several items like the gold crown overlap the Mongolia exhibit in Anyang the previous fall. Since Xiongnu items are scarce, much of this exhibit is made up of contemporary Chinese artifacts. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"The State of Chu existed in Henan and Hubei for about 800 years, during the Zhou Dynasty, until its conquest by Qin in 223 BC. It was one of the main states of China during the Spring and Autumn and the Warring States eras. These are the bronzes excavated from tombs of the ancient Chu State in southern Henan. This is one of the third floor galleries in Zhengzhou, but the Hubei Museum in Wuhan has its own Chu State Gallery. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"This is the collection of ancient jade from Neolithic cultures to the present. It is housed on the third floor of the Henan Provincial Museum in Zhengzhou. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"This museum features artifacts from the Neolithic and Bronze Ages of ancient China. As with other Chinese museums, artifacts displayed here are all of local origin. The items in this museum were excavated in and around Zhengzhou, which was once the center of Chinese civilization. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"The discovery of this tomb in Xinzheng, Henan, in 1923, along with the later discovery of FuHao's tomb in Anyang, laid the foundation for Chinese archaeology. The main tomb belonged to a King of Zheng, dating to around 575 B.C. It contained two spectacular crane and lotus hu vessels. Nine bronze dings indicate the tomb's owner claimed the title of king (wang) for himself. The original tomb contents are displayed at the Henan Provincial Museum and can be seen in several of my albums of photos from this museum. The artifacts in the tomb are reproductions. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"The Neolithic Peiligang Culture (c. 7000-5000 BC) was first discovered in Peiligang Village near Xinzheng City in 1977. So far some 70 sites have been identified as Peiligang Culture. Mr. Li Gai Ming was the village leader who made this discovery and reported it to the government which promptly began to excavate what turned out to be China's oldest Neolithic culture. The fields I show are the ones which have been excavated, but much more has been set aside for future work. The government has promised to build a museum on site some time in the future. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"Xinzheng (where I have been living since 2005) is the reputed birthplace of Huangdi and the type site for the Peiligang Culture. The artifacts from the tomb of the King of Zheng, discovered there in 1923, formed the basis for the Henan Provincial Museum, and led to the birth of both modern Chinese museums and modern Chinese archaeology. The bronze is all Eastern Zhou. The stone and pottery which I labelled Neolithic is probably Peiligang Culture, and perhaps Yangshao. I have additional albums featuring Xinzheng historic sites and the Henan Provincial Museum. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"From 770 to 256 BC Luoyang was capital of the Eastern Zhou Dynasty, although the Zhou king was little more than a figurehead or ceremonial leader. This royal tomb was discovered during excavation for a building project. It contains the first 6-horse chariot ever found in China, almost certainly the chariot of the Zhou king. Unlike the Xinzheng chariot burial where the wagons were thrown into a pit, these are all arranged in parade formation. The tomb itself lies beneath the chariots. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"Anyang was the site of the last Shang (Yin) capital, for 255 years. In 1899 the famous oracle bones were discovered there, confirming the historicity of the last 9 of the Shang kings. Fu Hao, the consort of King Wu Ding, was buried there c. 1200 BC. She is considered China's first female general, and her tomb is the only intact Shang royal tomb discovered so far. Objects in the tomb are reproductions, but artifacts displayed in the on-site museum are genuine. Other artifacts from Fu Hao tomb are shown in my albums from the Henan Provincial Museum and the National Museum in Beijing. The chariot burials are the earliest discovered in China. One can see the evidence for human sacrifice in many of these pictures. Some photos are duplicated from multiple visits. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, China."

"This is the 4th gallery in the Ancient China exhibit and deals with the unification of China and the early Iron Age. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"This is the 3rd gallery in the Ancient China exhibit and highlights the late Bronze Age. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"This is the 2nd gallery in the Ancient China exhibit, focusing on China's early Bronze Age dynasties. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"This is the 1st gallery in the Ancient China exhibit and one of more than a dozen photo albums from this world-class museum. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"Anyang is the logical place for a national museum of Chinese writing, as it was in Anyang a century ago that the oracle bones were discovered, which proved that China had a fully-developed writing system of nearly 5000 characters more than 3400 years ago. I've photographed the museum's text for anyone interested in learning about the development of writing. Unfortunately, the lighting was often poor, which made clear photographs sometimes difficult to take. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"The Warring States Era Tomb of Marquis Yi of Zeng, excavated in 1978, is the highlight of the Hubei Museum's collections. The tomb contained the largest set of bronze bells ever found, plus many more first class treasures. This is one of 7 albums I've created for the Hubei Provincial Museum. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"The Chu Culture existed in Hubei and Henan for about 800 years, during the Zhou Dynasty, until its conquest by Qin in 223 BC. It was one of the main states of China during the Spring and Autumn and the Warring States eras. I have another album of Chu State bronzes from the Henan Museum in Zhengzhou. This is one of 7 albums I've created for the Hubei Provincial Museum. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"We start with the Paleolithic culture of Yunxian Man, although I am highly doubtful of what anthropologists claim about early human history. Next we have the exhibit of the Neolithic culture of Qujialing. We end with the Shang Dynasty culture of Panlongcheng, which confirms that the Shang culture of Yin (Anyang) of the Central Plains reached all the way south to the Yangtze Valley. This is one of 7 albums I've created for this provincial museum. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"Sanxingdui, near Chengdu, was an ancient city contemporary with the Shang Dynasty at Yin (Anyang), but with an art style unlike anything else in the world. Very likely the site was abandoned due to flooding, and the people moved south to Chengdu, where they became the ancestors of the Ba-Shu people of the Warring States era. I have a separate album for the comprehensive gallery which includes the jade, pottery, and bronze trees, plus an album I took two years ago which has many Ba-Shu weapons not on display in 2010. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"The Hebei Provincial Museum was mostly closed for renovation in late 2011 and not scheduled to open until the end of 2012. They had but two temporary exhibits. The first was of some first class pieces from the ancient states of Yan and Zhao. The second was of relics collected in recent years at the site of the construction of the great canal which will bring water to Beijing from south of Henan. This huge construction project has uncovered thousands of ancient artifacts spanning thousands of years. Like the Provincial Museum, the City Museum was also closed in order to upgrade security. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"The terracotta army protected the tomb of First Emperor of China Qin Shihuang (221-210 BC). Photos are from Pits 1, 2, and 3, and from the on-site museums. Some 8000 soldiers have been discovered and 1000 excavated to date, with only one found intact. Color faded within weeks of excavation, so work was halted for years until the problem of color stabilization was solved. Archaeologists have resumed work in Pit 1. The army was damaged in the wave of destruction in the civil war at the end of the Qin Dynasty. Photos were taken during a number of visits beginning in 2005. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"The two kings buried here are the ones who founded the Zhou State and led its people in the overthrow of the evil last king of Shang about 3000 years ago. Stone fragments lying around are probably from a temple built on this site during the Ming Dynasty. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"This is the Western Zhou Gallery of the Shaanxi Provincial Museum in Xi'an, taken in fall, 2009, following major renovation. I have an earlier album of photos from this museum, and have posted further albums of the other galleries. These are all high-resolution photos taken with a 15+ megapixul Canon. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"This is the Qin State Gallery of the Shaanxi Provincial Museum in Xi'an, taken in fall, 2009, following major renovation. I have an earlier album of photos from this museum, and have posted further albums of the other galleries. These are all high-resolution photos taken with a 15+ megapixul Canon. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."

"After 1929 peasants near Chengdu began finding jade artifacts. In 1986 two burial pits full of bronze vessels, heads, masks, and trees were unearthed nearby. The culture which produced them was contemporary with Yin (Shang Dynasty) culture of Anyang, c. 1200 BC. Most likely they evolved into the Jinsha Culture, and later the Ba-Shu culture. The museum features a number of Ba-Shu and Dian artifacts. In early 2010 I went back and added two greatly upgraded albums from Sanxingdui, though they no longer displayed the Ba-Shu artifacts. Check the Sichuan Provincial Museum photos to find them. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, China."

"Sanxingdui, near Chengdu, was an ancient city contemporary with the Shang Dynasty at Yin (Anyang), but with an art style totally unlike anything else in the world. Very likely the site was abandoned due to flooding, and the people moved south to Chengdu, where they became the ancestors of the Ba-Shu people of the Warring States era. I have a separate album for the bronze gallery, plus an album I took two years ago which has many Ba-Shu weapons not on display in 2010. Photos by Gary Lee Todd, Ph.D., Professor of History, Sias International University, Xinzheng, Henan, China."