*Russian, East European, and Eurasian Studies (REES): Language & Linguistics

Dictionary entries include variety of meanings for all parts of speech, contextual labels, and demonstrative phrases in both English and Russian. Includes many important academic and historical dictionaries and encyclopedias, such as Большая советская энциклопедия (БСЭ), Малый энциклопедический словарь Брокгауза и Ефрона, i Толковый словарь живого великорусского языка Владимира Даля.

Multitran also available for Russian and German, Spanish, French, Dutch, Italian, latvian, Estonian, Japanese, and Afrikaans

Especially useful for working with the Russian military and/or underworld

A free online tool that converts Latin letters into Cyrillic on the fly. System is largely phonetic. Makes typing in Russian possible without having to learn the Russian typewriter layout. An online tool, Translit.ru needs no installation.

The definitive guide to Slavic/Slavonic languages. Describes in depth each of the living Slavonic languages in depth, as well as two extinct languages - Old Church Slavonic and Polabian. Discusses the Cyrillic, Roman and Glagoliltic alphabets and explored the relationships of the Slavonic languages to each other and to other Indo-European languages. The last chapter provides an account of those Slavonic languages in exile, for example, Russian, Ukrainian, Polish, Czech and Slovak in the USA. Written by an experts in the field, chapters are designed for comparative study. Information on each language includes: an introductory description of social context and development (where appropriate); a discussion of phonology; a detailed presentation of synchronic morphology, noting major historical developments; comprehensive treatment of syntactic properties; a discussion of vocabulary; an outline of main dialects; and an extensive bibliography, listing English and other sources.

SEELRC Reference Grammar Network provides online reference grammars for BCS, Czech, Georgian, Macedonian, Polish, Romanian, Russian, and Slovene languages. This set of reference grammars has been designed for advanced-level language users and linguists to compare semantic categories across languages. Each grammar also provides background information about the language and its speakers. In some cases the author has included a topic which provides greater illumination of the language (e.g. tongue twisters, slang/profanity, or a set of exemplary texts). These sections are indicated by a shaded background in the left-side navigation pane.

Part 1 of Debray's series in three volumes ''Guide to the Slavonic Languages''. It is an important work for understanding the history and development of the Slavonic, or Slavic languages. Graduate students in Slavic language and linguistics should be familiar with these works.

Part 2 of Debray's series in three volumes ''Guide to the Slavonic Languages''. It is an important work for understanding the history and development of the Slavonic, or Slavic languages. Graduate students in Slavic language and linguistics should be familiar with these works.

Part 3 of Debray's series in three volumes ''Guide to the Slavonic Languages''. It is an important work for understanding the history and development of the Slavonic, or Slavic languages. Graduate students in Slavic language and linguistics should be familiar with these works.