Russian, East European, and Eurasian Studies (REES): Cite Sources

Guide to research about Russia, Eastern Europe, and Eurasia

About

Citing Sources, Using Style Guides, & Building Bibliographies

Citation of sources is an essential element of research and scholarly communication.  Citation enables other researchers to examine your sources and follow your argument.  Style guides provide standards that help researcher identify and codify different types of sources.  Although there are many citation and style guides, this LibGuide facilitates access to the three most ubiquitous guides used among the academic community in the United States.   

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers

Chicago Manual of Style

APA Publication Manual (citation style guide)

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents. Each citation is followed by a brief (usually about 150 words) descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited.

How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography (Olin Library Reference, Research, & Learning Services, Cornel University Library, Ithaca, NY, USA).

Bibliographies | KU Writing Center (describes different types of annotated bibliographies and provides an example).

Citation: A (Very) Brief Introduction

What is a Literature Review?

literature review surveys scholarly articles, books and other sources (e.g. dissertations, conference proceedings) relevant to a particular issue, area of research, or theory, providing a description, summary, and critical evaluation of each work. The purpose is to offer an overview of significant literature published on a topic.

Citation Generators & Writing Help

Slavic & Eurasian Studies

Jon Giullian's picture
Jon Giullian
Contact:
International Collections
Watson Library - Level 5 East
University of Kansas
1425 Jayhawk Blvd, Rm 519
Lawrence, KS 66045
(785) 864-8854