General News Databases
Click
for details about each database.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Provides full-text coverage of local, regional, national, and international news (from the last 20 years). Most content in English. Also includes full-text company news & financial information; full-text federal, state, & international legal materials; full-text and abstracted medical & health information; and general reference sources.
- World News Connection English translations of news media from around the world 1997-2013. For earlier coverage use the Foreign Broadcasting Information Service (FBIS) and reports from the Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS).
- EMIS (Ermerging Markets Information Service) News sources, financial data, statistics, and legal information worldwide - search by region/country. Content in English and vernacular languages.
- Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window Full text content from thousands of national, international, state, and local newspapers.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service Electronic Index (1975-1996) English translations of news media from around the world 1975-1996. For later coverage, use the World News Connection database.
- International Coalition of Newspapers Freely accessible database of bibliographic information for more than 25,000 newspaper titles from participating institutions.
Newspaper Title Indexes by Region/Country
REEE News Databases
Clickfor details about each database.
- CIS and Baltic Periodicals (mostly Russian, some English) Authoritative periodicals published in the Newly Independent States of the former Soviet Union. Sources are in Russian or English and cover various issues of domestic and international importance. Kazakhstan, Belarus, and Turkmenistan are represented with official newspapers while Ukraine, Moldova, and Latvia are represented with the most popular business titles. There are also newspapers from Lithuania, Georgia, Armenia, and Azerbaijan, and the database continues to expand.
- Current Digest of the Russian Press (English) Weekly selections of Russian-language press materials carefully translated into English. Translations are intended for use in teaching and research. Therefore, they are presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal.
- Russian Central Newspapers (mostly Russian, some English) Comprehensive coverage of national news, current events, economic developments, and cultural events in Russia. Official sources (Rossiiskaia gazeta, Krasnaia zvezda, ITAR-TASS), independent media, and partisan publications are all represented in this database, thus, offering a wide array of opinions and perspectives.
- Russian Regional Newspapers (Russian) Close-up coverage of developments throughout Russia. This database currently includes about 80 regional newspapers plus newspapers dealing with local issues of Moscow and St. Petersburg. Researchers can use this database to quickly access a variety of local news, as well as trace local reactions to national and international events.
- Ukrainian Publications (Ukranian, Russian, some English) Publications in Russian, Ukrainian, and English covering a broad range of political, economic, and cultural affairs of Ukraine. Topics include Ukraine's progress along the reform path, the view and positions of various political forces, changes in legislation, ethnic relations, and organizational trends in development of the armed forces. The database also includes newswire reports and other products of Ukrainian news agencies.
- United Nations Development Programme - (Text in 24 Languages) Offers up-to-date news and other information on development in countries worldwide. Regional coverage for Europe and the CIS is available. Site is available in multiple languages.
- Sovetskaia Kul'tura Digital Archive This link opens in a new window Kul’tura (Культура, Culture), as it is known today, is the most important Soviet and Russian publication on culture from 1929 to the present, with reviews of major events in literature, theater, cinematography, and arts. For nearly 100 years, Kul’tura has provided a unique perspective on ever-changing attitudes toward arts and culture in Soviet and Russian societies.
- Current Digest of the Russian press This link opens in a new window Weekly selections of Russian-language press materials carefully translated into English. Translations are intended for use in teaching and research. Therefore, they are presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal.
- Arcanum NewspapersDigitized newspapers from Hungary, Romania, Czech Republic, and Slovakia from the past 250 This database requires an individual subsdription. KU Libraries does not yet provide accest to this database.
REEE Historical Newspapers
- Imperial Russian NewspapersThe Imperial Russian Newspapers collection comprises out-of-copyright newspapers spanning the eighteenth, nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries up to the 1917 Bolshevik Revolution. With no less than 500,000 pages, the collection’s core titles are from Moscow and St. Petersburg, complemented by regional newspapers across the vast Russian Empire.
- Russian newspapers of the First World and Civil Wars 1914-1922 = Газеты периода первой мировой и гражданской войн 1914-1922Includes over 500 rare newspaper titles from cities and town across the vast Russian Empire. Originals come from from the collections of the Institute of Scientific Information on Social Sciences of the Russian Academy of Sciences (INION)
- Старые газеты [Old Newspapers]Collection of digitized newspapers mostly from the Soviet era with a few from Imperial Russia. Emphasis is on coverage of important historical events.
- Russian State Historical Library - Periodical ArchiveThe Russian State Historical Library's digital archive of 150 newspapers, 66 almanacs, and selected articles from the early 20th century.
- Center for Research Libraries CatalogSearch CRL's catalog for microfilm holdings of foreign newspapers.