*Russian, East European, and Eurasian Studies : Databases for Social Sciences / Gov't / Military / Security

The National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents leading non-profit user of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act, public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information, global advocate of open government, and indexer and publisher of former secrets.

The Jamestown Foundation’s mission is to inform and educate policy makers and the broader community about events and trends in those societies which are strategically or tactically important to the United States and which frequently restrict access to such information. Utilizing indigenous and primary sources, Jamestown’s material is delivered without political bias, filter, or agenda. It is often the only source of information which should be, but is not always, available through official or intelligence channels, especially in regard to Eurasia and terrorism.

National Defense University educates joint warfighters and other national security leaders in critical thinking and the creative application of military power to inform national strategy and globally integrated operations, under conditions of disruptive change, in order to prevail in war, peace, and competition.

ISN provides access to publications in international relations and security by research institutes, think tanks, and governmental and non-governmental organizations. It contains primary documents, news and current affairs, and research and publications pertaining to international security issues. All content and newsletters are free and several newsletters can be subscribed to by email.

International section provides data, statistical reports, forecasts, and analyses. Analyses include country energy profiles, chronologies of energy events, international energy security, and other special topics.

An expansive electronic guide to federal, state, local, and international public documents spanning over 200 years of publication.

Electronic resources for information on world governments and country profiles. Contains some hard-copy resources.

Journal of Power Institutions in Post-Soviet Societies is an online international social sciences journal devoted to the armed forces and power institutions of post-Soviet societies. The journal's focus is the comparative and multi-disciplinary study of the structures and forces that make up the security systems, administrations, and institutions employing armed personnel in all the Republics of the Former Soviet Union (FSU).

The Russian Government Publications (UDB-GOV) collection monitors mainly the events in the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation. It includes stenographic records of the hearings of both its houses, the Duma and Federation Council, and provides vote results, resolutions, and legislative drafts, as well as auxiliary information, such as the schedule and agenda of legislative work. The Database includes Biulleten' Schetnoi palaty published by the State Audit Chamber subordinate to the Duma and the Vestnik Tsentrizbirkoma, or The Herald of the Central Electoral Committee, responsible for all types of elections in Russia. Texts of laws, presidential decrees, government resolutions, and the Constitutional Court decisions are also available, as well as comments on current Russian legislation published by popular legal journals Zakon and Gosudarstvo i pravo.

The only resource of its kind, the Russian Military and Security Periodicals (UDB-MIL) collection includes several dozen publications covering military and security developments in Russia from both official and independent sources. All branches of the armed forces are covered by this collection, including the Russian Air Force, Army, and Navy. In addition to journals and newspapers published in Moscow, UDB-MIL presents imprints from military districts and some armies and divisions. Equally important, the collection includes a trove of English-language sources.

The Institute supports a wide range of sociological data about Russia's diverse populations and regions. Resources include: Sociological Atlas of Russian Regions, Online Journal of Social Policy (SPERO), and The Russian Sociological Data Archive which consolidates data from 12 major sociological institutions in Russia.

Content is almost exclusively in Russian. Covers current content of major Russian periodicals on social sciences and humanities, including all 31 journals of the Russian Academy of Sciences ranging from archeology to linguistics, popular literary editions, independent scholarly publications, etc. New titles are added on a regular basis. This universal database grows retroactively. Full-text and full-image content of print editions is reproduced with original pagination.

The National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents leading non-profit user of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act, public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information, global advocate of open government, and indexer and publisher of former secrets.