Chinese Dictionaries (Complete list)
Consult the Chinese Dictionaries complete page at http://guides.lib.ku.edu/Chinese_dictionaries
For this course, the Classical Chinese Dictionaries (can be found as one of tabs in the above link) is more relevant for you. This page is for "Online dictionaries."
Chinese dictionary APP for smartphone
- Pleco Chinese Dictionary
Chinese Dictionary is free downloadable for the iPhone, iPad, iPod and Android. - Line DictionaryChinese-English, free offline app for Android and iOS.
Online Dictionaries and Resources
This page is devoted to a variety of online dictionaries and resources that can be accessed from personal computers. For information on dictionaries for mobile devices please see the relevant dictionary tab.
Index of Chinese-English Dictionaries
Chinese-English Dictionaries: Search by Pinyin
Zhongwen.com 中文.com
Search by Pronunciation, Radical, Stroke count and English-Chinese.- YellowBridge Chinese-English Talking DictionaryChinese/English dictionary with stroke order, flashcards, example sentences and audio pronunciation.
- CEDICT Online Chinese-English DictionaryOnline dictionary that displays the Chinese word, pinyin, as well as the English definition with option to click and listen to the Mandarin pronunciation.
- Mandarin Tools Character DictionaryIn this dictionary, characters can be looked up by English, Pinyin, Cantonese, and number of strokes.
- Line Dic Chinese-EnglishSearch by Pinyin and character
Chinese-English Dictionaries: Search by Radical/Strokes Count
- Search by Pronunciation, Radical, Stroke count and English-Chinese.
- Search by character (copy/paste into search box) or by radical/stroke of multiple dictionaries. Easy to use.
- Mandarin Tools Character DictionaryIn this dictionary, characters can be looked up by English, Pinyin, Cantonese, and number of strokes.
MDBG Dictionary
The MDBG dictionary has a word dictionary, character dictionary, radical / stroke breakdown, translation, and Chinese tools.
Popup Chinese dictionary for browser (add-ons)
- Perapera Chinese Popup Dictionary Add-ons for web browserPerapera is a pop-up dictionary and study tool for Japanese and Chinese. It works as a free add-on for Firefox and Chrome.Once downloaded and added extension to your web browser, when use your mouse over any Chinese words on a webpage and it gives you the pronunciation and definition. download for Chrome or for FireFox add-ons.
Chinese/Chinese Dictionaries
Search by Pinyin and/or Radical
Han Dian Dictionary 漢典
Chinese/Chinese dictionary with a variety of dictionary functions including character dictionary, poetry database, and an idiom dictionary. It also shows the ancient variants of the word and the definition from Kang Xi Ci Dian.
Online Xin Hua dictionary 在线新华字典Chinese/Chinese dictionary with numerous specific reference tools including characters that are often mis-pronounced and written incorrectly. Content is in Chinese.- Chongbian Guoyu Cidian 重編國語辭典修訂本by the Ministry of Education, R.O.C.
Chinese-English Dictionaries: Search by English/Chinese Characters
- CEDICT Online Chinese-English DictionaryOnline dictionary that displays the Chinese word, pinyin, as well as the English definition with option to click and listen to the Mandarin pronunciation.
- Mandarin Tools Character DictionaryIn this dictionary, characters can be looked up by English, Pinyin, Cantonese, and number of strokes.
- YellowBridge Chinese-English Talking DictionaryChinese/English dictionary with stroke order, flashcards, example sentences and audio pronunciation.
- Search by character (copy/paste into search box) or by radical/stroke of multiple dictionaries. Easy to use.
- Search by Pronunciation, Radical, Stroke count and English-Chinese.
- The MDBG dictionary has a word dictionary, character dictionary, radical / stroke breakdown, translation, and Chinese tools.
- bab.laBab.la provides English-Chinese and Chinese-English dictionaries, along with free phrase guides for academics, business, travel, etc. that can be downloaded as PDFs. Searchable by English words and Chinese characters only; pinyin will not produce any results. The website also offers a variety of quizzes, vocabulary lessons, and games for all levels of learners in order to test language skills. Many of these are designed by users. You cannot use the wording tool to check if Chinese sentences make sense. There are also dictionary tools available to download for use on Chrome and Firefox.
Chinese/Chinese Online Dictionaries
Used for specific needs
Guoyu cidian 重編國語辭典Online version of the guoyu cidian. (c) 1994 Ministry of Education, R.O.C.
Dictionary of Chinese Character Variants 異體字字典Shows a range of different written forms of individual characters.- Kai fang Kangxi zi dian 開放康熙字典by 中華開放古籍協會 (China open access ancient books association)
Introduction
Useful resources
- Character/Pinyin ConverterThis website can convert Chinese characters into Pinyin with standard tone markings.
- Tone and pronunciation guideThis site allows users to click on individual sounds and hear them spoken out-loud with animations showing tonal changes.
- Pinyin pronunciation tableClick on the pinyin component and hear it spoken aloud.
- Animated Chinese Character Stroke OrderShows how to write any character of your choice, animated stroke by stroke.
- Pinyin toolAdd pinyin to files
- Dimsum Chinese toolsStand-alone program with a variety of tools including mouse over translation.
Podcasts for Chinese learning
- Popup ChineseOffers pod-casts in Chinese on many topics including a large selection of free content.
- ChinesePodOffers over a thousand podcasts in Chinese on many different topics. Primarily a paid service.
Xiao xue tang (小學堂文字學資料庫）
- Xiao xue tang (小學堂文字學資料庫）Database was jointly developed by the National Taiwan University Department of Chinese Literature, Institute of History and Philology, Academia Sinica, and Information Science Institute. Glyphs included in the database are Oracle, Jin text, Warring States text, Xiaozhuan and Kai script, to a total of more than 180,000 words.