*China Studies: Finding Web Resources

Downloadable files in Excel and PDF formats

Search digital images of wooden slips in the collection of Academia Sinica.

Provides the digital images.

The Institute of History and Philology's oracle bone rubbings, in excess of about forty thousand articles

Provides artifacts from Taiwan archaeology more than 610,000 samples and counting and especially included the Tatu River, Choshui River, Penghu Islands, Chuping, Shih-san-hang, and Tamalin sites.

Easy to search digital Archives of Bronze Images and Inscriptions.

Privides Guodian Chu slips and related bibliography.

East Asian rubbings dating from the Qin Dynasty (221-207 BCE) to the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644 CE).

Included Oracle, Jin, Slips materials in three languages.

"A very useful annotated bibliography [compiled by the Library of the Freer Gallery of Art and the Arthur M. Sackler Gallery - ed.] with some short but valuable introductory notes, compiled in 1999 and last revised in October 2000. - hl."

An ongoing database project of Chinese handscroll paintings in digital format.

Search or browse the database of Chinese Studies resources which have been selected, evaluated and annotated by subject specialists in almost 40 categories. The site target audience is lecturers, researchers and students within UK higher and further education. Contents are heavily European focused.

It includes many core periodicals that are not in the China Academic Journals database.

no full-text available.

Includes more than 150 periodicals published in Hong Kong.

Includes articles from Taiwan, China, Hong Kong and Singapore. Free searches, will charge for full-text.

Self description: "Hong Kong Journals Online (HKJO) is a full-text image database providing access to selected academic and professional journals, both in English and Chinese, published in Hong Kong. [...]"

This is a metadata periodical and newspaper index databases of Chinese and western language periodicals that are published in Taiwan.

It has 8,500+ links to China/Chinese web sites, and it is updated daily.

Grey literature and proceedings from national and international conferneces or seminars on the latest research from academic associations, industrial organizations, governmental agencies, and international bodies in China.

Hosted by Harvard University.
Online Query system (by Inindex project) 線上查詢系統

Develoed through collaboration among Academia Sinica (Taiwan), Harvard University, and Peking University （Beijing, China）

Source: Trading Economics

The tracker is published by the American Enterprise Institute. Data on Chinese investment in the world with a value of >100 million USD.

Source: EveryCRSReport.com, University of North Texas Libraries Government Documents Department

Source:Boston University Global Development Policy Center. "Chinese policy banks provided close to half a trillion dollars in development finance to foreign governments from 2008—2019. This new interactive database allows users to examine the geolocation of China’s overseas development projects and to explore their proximity to indigenous lands, critical habitats, and national protected areas." -- Self Intro.

Commerce statistics include：Brief Statistics; Foreign Trade Cooperation; Trade in Services; Foreign Investment; Regional Trade Statistics.

National Library of China 国图博士论文库. Users can browse the first 24 pages of a dissertation.

A thesis and dissertation system from normal colleges/universities in Taiwan. Full text on various subjects are available. No registration is required.

NDLTD in Taiwan. By National Central Library for Taiwan Ministry of Education, some full-text, abstracts and indexes 1945-[2005] English search page National Central Library is a member of Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations . Some full-text are open in PDF. Apply to be a member in order to download full-text

Dissertation system of National Cheng Kung University

Coverage: Early 1900s-present
"NDLTD is an international organization that, through leadership and innovation, promotes the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations. The NDLTD encourages and supports the efforts of institutes of higher education and their communities to develop electronic publishing and digital libraries (including repositories), thus enabling them to share knowledge more effectively in order to unlock the potential benefits worldwide."-- site self intro.

Developed by the National Library of China, this resource provides bibliographical information of over 100,000 dissertations and sometimes a preview of the first 24 pages of the dissertation.

Taiwan studies knowledge base includes encyclopedias, references, dissertations and theses.

offer reading online or download.

E-publications, with copyright authorization, offered by individual authors and government publications.

Web site of the Chinese Taipei Film Archive, an organization sponsored by the Executive Yuan that is responsible for collecting, restoring, and preserving Taiwanese films.

"Chinese Film Classics is a project, a book, and a website dedicated to making early Chinese films and cinema history more accessible."---from the site. Created by Dr. Christopher Rea, University of British Columbia.

A quick guide to find books, articles, newspapers, dissertations, etc. of China studies resources at KU and beyond.

This guide is part of the official Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library and offers an annotated list of Internet sites dealing with Greater China.

This site provides information about using the Chinese language on Apple Macintosh computers.--self description

by Mary Wilke & Francis Alba, The Center for Research Libraries. Selected resources held by CRL that highlight the history and culture of China. Search CRL catalog for more material on China. Resources are subject to Interlibrary-loan to KU users.

Taiwan government publications database. It includes the central and local government 20+ publications of reports, statistics, and news items.English enter here.

Includes 台北市參議會時期議事錄 ebook, data coverage is from 1950-current.

Information and data provided by the Taiwan central and local government and legal departments. English enter here.

Self-description: "The maps included in this database are from the Special Collections of the Hong Kong University of Science & Technology Library. The Antique Maps of China collection includes more than 230 maps, charts, pictures, books and atlases. It represents almost all samples of China maps produced by European cartographers from the 16th to 19th centuries. This cartographic archive vividly records the long history of cross-cultural exchanges between China and the West."

The CHGIS is a database of historical administrative units for different periods in Chinese History, and provides a base GIS platform for researchers to use for spatial analysis, temporal statistical modeling, and representation of selected historical units as digital maps.

Web guide of Chinese history related sites.

Images of 230 early European maps on China.

Provides 449 images and documents from 1966 to 1976.

Images about Chinese exclution in the U.S.

Provides downloadable datasets and bibliographies about Chinese Maritime Customs.

Provides images books and maps about the Silk Road.

Provides 416,393 images related to Silk Road.

Provides documents & dozens ofimages from American missionaries who witnessed the rape of Nanking

Provides 235 images and files about Oberline Shansi Memorial Association Records.

Includes full images of over 8000 books, full images of over 8000 legal documents, and the full text of over 4000 periodicals.

Provides full images of local gazetteers published in Qing and previous dynasties.

5000 images about China.

"Well thought out student/teacher resource offers material for understanding Chinese history, culture and society. Beautifully designed and illustrated, this web site is one of the best resources on Chinese civilization. It was designed with college students in mind, but can be used as a resource for teachers and upper-level high school students."--Outreach World

Historical Chinese Postcard Project: 1896 - 1920

Political communication and mass education in the early period of the People's Republic of China

368 photos of Giles Family.

The Harvard-Yenching Library holds some 5,000 photographs and 10,000 negatives taken by Hedda Hammer Morrison (1908–1991) while resident in Beijing from 1933 to 1946.

The photographs presented on this web site were taken in March-April 1972

80 paintings of Chinese with large tumors or other deformities.

74 photos on China in the early 1900s.

5,000 photos on China from 1917-1932.

The Freer Gallery of Art possesses one of the most important collections of Chinese painting outside Asia, and its holdings from the Song and Yuan dynasties (10th–14th centuries) are particularly significant.

The Chinese in California, 1850-1925 illustrates nineteenth and early twentieth century Chinese immigration to California through about 8,000 images and pages of primary source materials.

Over 1000 photos of Muslims and Christian missionaries working among them in Western China

Images of primarily rubbings and oracle inscriptions

Search several databases related to archaeology and history of the Han Dynasties.

This site showcases hundreds of Chinese propaganda posters.

"Dr. Needham accumulated a tremendous wealth of photographic material relating to the history of Chinese science from printedsources and from his many visits to East Asia, beginning in 1942. Those from his time as Director of the Sino-British Science Co-operation Office in Chungking from 1943-46 have recently been catalogued, and are available for viewing on this website."

Etymology explanation.

Self-Supplied note: "This website has annotated links to over six hundred China- and Chinese language and linguistics-related websites (and a few ftp and gopher sites)."

Self-description: "Sites that can be helpful for you for learning more about China and the Chinese language and culture."

Chinese word dictionary. The online version of the Zhongwen zi pu: Chinese characters: a genealogy and dictionary, which uses the new zipu system of character trees. The print version is distributed by Yale University Press and it is available from Amazon.com.

Academia Sinica Ancient Chinese Corpus is setted up according to the demand of Early Mandarin Chinese.

English bimonthly online magazine published by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Republic of China (Taiwan). "Taiwan Review is a general-interest monthly publication providing in-depth discussion of various aspects of Taiwan including arts, economics, environment, politics and society." --- from the site.

Several hundred of Chinese papers on contemporary China.

Scan images of Ming dynasty rare books collection (part I) in the National Central Library of Taiwan.

A serachable database of "Si ku quan shu zhong mu 《四庫全書總目》" (Zhong hua shu ju ed.) by Ji Yun 紀鈞.

Full text of the Tang Shi.

90 titles by women authors in the late imperial China.

Southeast Asia in the Ming Shi-lu.

The full-text searchable collection includes many Qing dynasty's official documents, rare books collection, and Chinese art collections outside of Taiwan. Database included titles of 十三經, 先秦諸子, 全唐詩, 宋元學案, 明儒學案, 四庫總目, 朱子語類, 紅樓夢, 白沙全集, 資治通鑑, 續通建.

A collaborative project by the Yuanzhi University (Taiwan), Univeristy of Washington (USA), Peking University (China), Academia Sinica (Taiwan), and National Central Library (Taiwan). Site contents: (1) Rare Books (currently listing the Menggu Chewangfu quben ; (2) Poetry (including the Shijing and the Database for the Literature and History of Tang and Song with access to Quan Tangshi (!),Songshi , Tang Song ci ; Historical atlases of the Tang and Song ; as well as other related material); ...

by National Central Library (Taiwan)

Medicinal plants, as an important material basis of Chinese Medicine culture, have a standing history and variety.

eNewspapers from Taiwan

CRL has hundreds of historical Chinese newspapers.
Borrowing from CRL: Scholars and researchers from CRL member institutions have free and unlimited use of the CRL collections through interlibrary loan.

A searchable database of scanned rare books collection of the Ming dynasty's woodblock prints housed by the National Central Library in Taiwan.

Full images of over 4000 titles. Partial access to some 600 titles.

Union catalog of rare books collection with images

The University Library System (ULS) collects more than 800 titles of Chinese rare books and over 4,000 titles of Chinese semi-rare books. It is one of the major collections of its kind in Hong Kong. - See more at: http://udi.lib.cuhk.edu.hk/projects/chinese-rare-book-digital-collection?language=en#sthash.oW7viBsp.dpuf

by the Ministry of Education, R.O.C.

词典，句库，翻译， 百科词典

In Chinese. 兩千年中西曆轉換 by 中央研究院

An essential online bibliographies of Chinese studies. The site contains: Introduction to Classical Chinese Historiography; Relevant Electronic Resources for Chinese Studies; Dictionaries; Selected List Of Bibliographical & Geographical Aids ; Biographical Aids; Some Aids For Translating Chinese Official Titles & Institutions; Reference Guide to Classical Book Titles; The Four Parts; Bibliography of Chinese Classics & Literature In Translation With Recent Related Histories ;

Self-description: "This is a working bibliography of translations from the Chinese Canon with the aim of later inputting these to enable parallel reading of the original and the translation. Generally, I have limited it to translations that were done from the Chinese, or with the help of a Chinese version (in case of doubt they were included). Translations from languages other than Chinese were in principle not included or mentioned only in passim. ...

Provides access to the Taisho Tripitaka.

"These databases integrate information from various projects at the Library and Information Center at Dharma Drum Buddhist College. By providing information on Chinese calendar dates, as well as an onomasticon of person and place names from Buddhist sources they help with disambiguation and geo-spatial referencing of names and dates. The data is openly available through various web-services, including a Google search plug-in for Firefox."

Notes on the Time Authority Database: user instructions
here

Provides 231320 books and 25595 articles. Includes 45 kinds of languages and 15 different types of information.

E-Tripitaka based on the Taisho edition.

An integrated search engine built for major Buddhist sutras.

Self-description: "[...] a bibliography of Western language works on Chinese popular religion published since 1995, arranged in 20 subject categories. The coverage is complete for the years 1995 to 1997; for the years 1998 to 2000 I am continuously adding new items. To my knowledge, this is the only such bibliographic resource for the study of Chinese popular religion."

Self-description: "[...] this bibliography aims to incorporate both traditional style printed works and on-line resources.[...] Religious culture in China is taken by me to refer to those activities (including writing) in sinitic (or sinitic influenced) culture that give meaning to birth, disease, life and death, or that provide explanations and solutions to all kinds of problems by invoking an extra-human referent or dimension. [...]"

521 books, 20 manuscripts, 19 periodical issues

a centre for the study of the history of East Asian science, technology and medicine.
East Asian History of Science Library

News and events statistics on China. Internet Explorer required to access.

by East Asian Library of the University of Pittsburgh Library System (ULS). The database contains open dataset consisting of data selected from the ULS collection of Chinese village gazetteers.

In English and Chinese.
Includes 2010 the 6th National Population Census data 第六次人口普查数据

Includes 109年 (2020) 人口及住宅普查專區 2020 Population and Housing Census data. English enter here.

China | Taiwan

The U.S. Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.

UNdata is a web-based data service for the global user community.