China Studies: Articles, Books, and Databases

Provides a starting point for China Studies, including resources to find books, articles, newspapers, etc. This page also includes Chinese studies course guides, and information of travel to China.

Libraries Selected Resources Search

What Am I Searching?

Search resources from a number of different sources, including:

  • Everything from the KU Libraries Catalog: more than 4 million books, ebooks, videos, sound recordings, manuscripts, and more
  • Full-text articles from scholarly journals.
  • Unique KU digital collections, Open Access research from KU ScholarWorks, and more

WorldCat and DuXiu Knowledge Search

Library of Congress classification numbers. | Watson Library stack map: Click Here

 
WorldCat  Includes millions of records describing items owned by OCLC member libraries, including the KU Libraries.
 DuXiu 读秀 meta search engine (2 million Chinese ebooks and etexts)
DuXiu meta search engine

What is a Library Database?

What's a library database? | RMIT University

 

Articles & Databases

Top picks of English language databases: BAS, JSTOR, MLA,  ProQuest, and LexisNexis. It really depends on what is the subject that you are researching.  

Chinese Classics, Histories, and Corpus

Dissertations & Theses Databases

Off campus access

Almost all Library databases can be accessed from off-campus. When you access from off campus, you will then be prompted for your KU online ID and password to authenticate yourself as an authorized user. If you find sources through Google or other search engines, you may not automatically get access to Library databases and resources.

Reference and eBooks

Newspapers and Conference Proceedings

Current and historical newspapers.

Images

Statistics and Census Data

From question to keywords (0:59)
How to develop keywords (1:29)
Search Using Keywords (2:22)