English Language Databases
These are the recommended databases to use when searching for journal articles for assignments in this course.
- Bibliography of Asian studies This link opens in a new windowBibliographical citations of journal articles and book chapters for all subjects in Asian studies from 1971 to present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
- ProQuest research library This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database that indexes and abstracts general interest magazines and scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines and newspapers in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. The database includes more than 3820 titles -- over 2550 in full text -- from 1971 forward.
- Gale Academic: OneFile Select This link opens in a new windowProvides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full text for scholarly and general interest journals embracing all academic disciplines and spanning at least 25 years.
Korean Language Databases
- KRpia This link opens in a new windowKRpia provides services of a classified listing and subject index for books, databases, dictionaries, multimedia and articles published. It is easy for users to read, find, and save all contents provided by KRpia.
- DBpia This link opens in a new windowDBpia is a full-text database including over 1,100 Korean scholarly journals. The journal titles are arranged by eleven subject categories. All journals are available from the first issue.
- RISS InternationalAccess the full text of 1,030,000 articles from journals published by Korean Scholarly Associations and university research institutes；
- Access the full text of 570,000 master and Ph.D theses from 160 Korean universities。
E-books
- The LTI Korea LibraryThe LTI Korea Library serves as an indispensible gateway to Korean literature and culture by providing access to translations of resources related to Korean literature and culture, information about Korean authors, and international news related to Korean literature.
Top databases for East Asian Studies
The tool that you use to start searching for sources depends on the nature and scope of your topic. For some topics, you might want to start searching the "Library Catalog" for books. For other topics, you may need to begin by searching the journal literature in article databases.
These are the recommended databases to use when searching for journal articles for East Asian studies. Also consult China, Japan, and Korea subject guides for specific resources. For example, Education articles can be found in Eric, the education specific database. Education related to Asian studies can also be found in the Bibliography of Asian Studies.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access of all licensed JSTOR archival journals and primary sources. The collection covers all academic disciplines.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 15,000 full-text news, legal and business sources. Includes journal articles, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; business information on 80 million U.S. and international companies and 75 million executives. Replaces LexisNexis Academic.
Primary Sources
- History: Asia: Primary Sources - East AsiaA research guide to primary and secondary sources for Asian history in University of Washington Library.
- The Annals of the Joseon DynastyThe Annals of the Choson Dynasty(朝鮮王朝實錄) is a set of 1,893 books and covers 472 years (1392~1863) of the history of the Choson Dynasty, from the reign of King Taejo, the founder, to the end of the reign of King Cheoljong. These extensive sets of records are considered to cover the longest period of a single dynasty in the world. For their cultural and historic rarity, the Annals of the Choson Dynasty deserve world cultural preservation as an invaluable documentation of Korean heritage.
- Korea History Information Integration SystemKorea History Information Integration System provides users with computerized Korean historical data in a systematic and comprehensive way. The variety of historical specialist organizations have established a historical records database to participate as a specialized center.
- Korean War Propaganda Leaflets (NDSU)Digital Horizons provides, maintains, and preserves a wide range of historical and significant content related to North Dakota and Minnesota. This project creates teaching, learning, and research opportunities for life-long learners.
- National Library of KoreaResponding to the changes in the modern era, the Library is building an extensive collection of digital resources as well as books and other paper documents. In order to provide advanced information services, the Library is making efforts to implement such projects as The Library at Your Fingertips, through which people can have access to the library whenever and wherever they want.
- Wilson Center: North Korea International Documentation ProjectThe North Korea International Documentation Project (NKIDP) serves as an informational clearinghouse on North Korea for both the scholarly and policymaking communities by widely disseminating newly declassified documents on the DPRK from its former communist allies as well as other resources that provide valuable insight into the actions and nature of the North Korean state.
Bibliographies
- Korean BibliographyThe Korean Section of the Library of Congress has prepared a bibliography of approximately 4,800 records of books about Korea in English up to 1995 held by the Library of Congress. The Korean Section added local subject terms to these records to provide added value for researchers and improve the quality of service in the library.
- Korean History: A BibliographyThis bibliography covers many features of Korean history. The subjects include not only political, diplomatic, and economic history, but also historical linguistics, art history, literature, philosophy and religion, and overseas Koreans. Chronologically, coverage concludes in the 1960s.