A Student's Dictionary of Classical and Medieval Chinese” A Student's Dictionary of Classical and Medieval Chinese
A Student's Dictionary of Classical and Medieval Chinese by Call Number: PL1455 .K76 2015ISBN: 9789004284111Publication Date: Leiden ; Boston: Brill, 2014-11-28This is a Chinese & English reference work for all those reading texts dating from the Warring States period through the Tang dynasty. Comprising 8,000+ characters, arranged alphabetically by Pinyin. it facilitates reading and translating historical, literary, and religious texts dating from approximately 500 BCE to 1000 CE.
Chinese Ancient Text Dictionaries
Shi Yong Wen Yan Ci Dian 实用文言词典 by
Call Number: Ref. PL1420 .H6 1994 East Asian ReferenceEntries arranged in pinyin. Main entry is given in simplified Chinese with traditional form also indicated. Distinctions between multi-character compound words are noted with example citations from classical works to give context.
Zhong Hua Gu Han Yu Zi Dian 中华古汉语字典. by Call Number: PL1420 .C5238 1997 East Asian ReferenceArranged by radicals with with multiple meanings listed and entries given for compound words. Includes example citations from classical works.
These dictionaries of Classical Chinese all offer entires that reference the specific context(s) of they have been used in classical works. Most are arranged by pinyin, while a few are arranged by radicals. Dictionaries that emphasize specific time periods and and which have a particular linguistic focus are noted.
Gu Han yu chang yong tong jia zi zi dian /古汉语常用通假字字典 by Call Number: Ref. PL1291 .M3 1989 East Asian ReferenceDictionary of phonetic loan characters. Arranged by Pinyin, with example citations from classical works.
- Shi Yong Gu Han Yu Da Ci Dian 实用古汉语大词典. by Call Number: Ref.PL1420 .S5849 1995 East Asian ReferenceArranged by Pinyin, with example citations from classical works to give context.
Chinese Ancient Text Dictionaries
Xin Bian Gu Han Yu Ci Dian 新编古汉语词典. by
Call Number: Ref. PL1420 .H79735 1997 East Asian ReferenceArranged by Pinyin with example citations from classical works.
ABC Etymological Dictionary of Old Chinese by Call Number: PL1281 .S38 2007 East Asian ReferenceISBN: 0824829751This "is an etymological dictionary, giving phonetic reconstructions of Old (Shanggu Hanyu 上古漢語), Middle (Zhonggu Hanyu 中古漢語), etc. Chinese. It also provides cognates within and without ancient Chinese, English meanings, where one can find examples in the Classical literature, dialect forms, etc."
A dictionary of early Zhou Chinese by Call Number: PL1077 .S38 1987 East Asian ReferenceISBN: 0824811119Entries are specific to Early Zhou Chinese forms, arranged by Pinyin. Handwritten script is used throughout for Chinese characters. English translation is also given.
Gu Han yu chang yong ci ci dian 古汉语常用词词典 by Call Number: PL1420 .G83 2006 East Asian ReferenceISBN: 7540310669This dictionary is arranged by Pinyin, with multiple meanings listed and with example citations from classical works.
