Chinese Dictionaries: Online Dictionaries and Resources

Search by Pronunciation, Radical, Stroke count and English-Chinese.

Chinese/English dictionary with stroke order, flashcards, example sentences and audio pronunciation.

Online dictionary that displays the Chinese word, pinyin, as well as the English definition with option to click and listen to the Mandarin pronunciation.

In this dictionary, characters can be looked up by English, Pinyin, Cantonese, and number of strokes.

Search by Pinyin and character

Search by Pronunciation, Radical, Stroke count and English-Chinese.

Search by character (copy/paste into search box) or by radical/stroke of multiple dictionaries. Easy to use.

In this dictionary, characters can be looked up by English, Pinyin, Cantonese, and number of strokes.

The MDBG dictionary has a word dictionary, character dictionary, radical / stroke breakdown, translation, and Chinese tools.

"The (usually) large number of written versions are great, including Oracle Bone Script, Bronze Script and Seal Script." Quoted from Bao Pu

"An excellent site, Han Dian 漢典 (www.zdic.net), will give you entries from the Kangxi Zidian (which includes the Erya 爾雅, Shuowen Jiezi 說文解字, Guangyun 廣韻, Yu Pian 玉篇, and others) At the Zdic.net interface I use, I enter a Chinese character and I get access to the Kangxi (the 3rd tab), the Shuowen (the 4th tab), pictures of the graph’s evolution, and some Chinese and English meanings (which aren’t often useful). " （by Bao Pu)

Self-description: "A dictionary-database of CJK characters and compounds related to East Asian cultural, political, and intellectual history of pre-modern texts, from Zhou dynasty materials to 19th century writings. Including information on Chinese terminology derived from Confucianism, Daoism, secular literature, poetry, and historical works."

词典，句库，翻译， 百科词典

FREE
Internet connection required.
Can be accessed from any mobile device with internet access. In late 2014, NCIKU was replaced by Line Dictionary. Content provided by the Collins Chinese Dictionary. Includes daily expressions, quotes, and proverbs. The app also includes a translation feature.

The web edition of Lin Yutang's Chinese-English Dictionary of Modern Usage. Search by head character search, and full text search. The site includes Chinese characters radicals, Pinyin table, and abbreviations.

An online dictionary to help studying Chinese. "It offers various tools such as: flashcards, quizzes, text annotation, Chinese text input and more."

"Shuowenjiezi.com is a good Chinese-Chinese website dictionary that has links to many different references, such as the Shuowen Jiezi (of course), the Unihan database, CNS, the Kangxi Zidian 康熙字典 (a scanned image), the Hanyu Dazidian 漢語大字典, Karlgren’s rhyming words, the Yiti Zidian 異體字典 (showing character variants), the Guangyun, Erya, Shiming and Fangyan. It also has examples from Jinwen (bronze script) and Jiaguwen (oracle-bone script)." Quoted from Bao Pu

"...access Lin Yutang’s Dangdai Hanying Cidian...by clicking 'LD'...one can search by entering an English word, a Chinese character (not Simplified) or its pinyin...one can also view Zhongwen.com’s website on a side frame...a link to the Unihan database’s entry for the specified word is also provided...there is a search box at the bottom where you can enter a number of Chinese characters at once and get back a full translation of all of them." (Quoted from Bao Pu)

"When you roll your cursor over a word on a webpage, the Translate feature translates the individual word. You can also translate whole webpages instantly. Translate webpages automagically. Click the Translate button to translate pages."

Chinese/Chinese dictionary with a variety of dictionary functions including character dictionary, poetry database, and an idiom dictionary. It also shows the ancient variants of the word and the definition from Kang Xi Ci Dian.

Chinese/Chinese dictionary with numerous specific reference tools including characters that are often mis-pronounced and written incorrectly. Content is in Chinese.

by the Ministry of Education, R.O.C.

Online dictionary that displays the Chinese word, pinyin, as well as the English definition with option to click and listen to the Mandarin pronunciation.

In this dictionary, characters can be looked up by English, Pinyin, Cantonese, and number of strokes.

Chinese/English dictionary with stroke order, flashcards, example sentences and audio pronunciation.

Search by character (copy/paste into search box) or by radical/stroke of multiple dictionaries. Easy to use.

Search by Pronunciation, Radical, Stroke count and English-Chinese.

The MDBG dictionary has a word dictionary, character dictionary, radical / stroke breakdown, translation, and Chinese tools.

Bab.la provides English-Chinese and Chinese-English dictionaries, along with free phrase guides for academics, business, travel, etc. that can be downloaded as PDFs. Searchable by English words and Chinese characters only; pinyin will not produce any results. The website also offers a variety of quizzes, vocabulary lessons, and games for all levels of learners in order to test language skills. Many of these are designed by users. You cannot use the wording tool to check if Chinese sentences make sense. There are also dictionary tools available to download for use on Chrome and Firefox.

Online version of the guoyu cidian. (c) 1994 Ministry of Education, R.O.C.

Shows a range of different written forms of individual characters.

by 中華開放古籍協會 (China open access ancient books association)
Introduction

This website can convert Chinese characters into Pinyin with standard tone markings.

This site allows users to click on individual sounds and hear them spoken out-loud with animations showing tonal changes.

Click on the pinyin component and hear it spoken aloud.

Shows how to write any character of your choice, animated stroke by stroke.

Add pinyin to files

Stand-alone program with a variety of tools including mouse over translation.

Offers pod-casts in Chinese on many topics including a large selection of free content.

Offers over a thousand podcasts in Chinese on many different topics. Primarily a paid service.

Database was jointly developed by the National Taiwan University Department of Chinese Literature, Institute of History and Philology, Academia Sinica, and Information Science Institute. Glyphs included in the database are Oracle, Jin text, Warring States text, Xiaozhuan and Kai script, to a total of more than 180,000 words.