Mobile Dictionaries
Pleco Chinese DictionaryFREE for basic services, mut pay for additional tools.
Internet connection NOT required.
App for I-pod/I-pad and Android (Beta 1). To find the Android Beta download, scroll down to the "Latest News" section on the Pleco site.
The paid add ons include an integrated Chinese dictionary, document reader, flashcard system with full-screen handwriting input and live camera-based character recognition.
Mobile dictionaries come in two types, those that access an internet dictionary site through your mobile device, and those that download a complete dictionary onto your mobile device and which can be used even when there is no internet service available. Some of the dictionaries are completely free, while others provide basic services for free, but require you to pay for additional in-app services. Mobile dictionary apps and services are developing quickly and are updated frequently. Do research to make sure that you find the most updated information and products.
- Line Dictionary Chinese - EnglishFREE
Internet connection required.
Can be accessed from any mobile device with internet access. In late 2014, NCIKU was replaced by Line Dictionary. Content provided by the Collins Chinese Dictionary. Includes daily expressions, quotes, and proverbs. The app also includes a translation feature. 
MDBG Mobile DictionaryFREE
Internet connection required.
Can be accessed from any mobile device with internet access.
Mobile version of the MDBG Chinese-English dictionary optimzed for small screen devices such as PDA's and smartphones. It also minizes the bandwidth usage to the increase page load speed and reduce carrier fees (in the case of GPRS / UMTS usage).
KTdict C-E (Chinese-English dictionary)FREE
Internet connection NOT required.
App for I-pod/I-pad only
Chinese-English dictionary app. Includes the data of the renowned CC-CEDICT dictionary with over 70.000 entries - no Internet connection required.
DianHua DictionaryFREE
Internet connection NOT required.
App for I-pod/I-pad only
DianHua Dictionary is a Chinese-English Dictionary application for the iPhone™. Based on CC-CEDICT, the application provides the end user the ability to search in English, Pinyin (Pin1 Yin1 or toneless), Traditional Characters, and Simplified Characters. Dictionary search results are displayed with tone-marked Pinyin, English definitions, Traditional, and Simplified characters.
QingWen DictionaryCost: $5
Internet connection NOT required for general use.
For I-pod/I-pad
Chinese-English and English-Chinese dictionary designed with the Chinese reader in mind.
An active internet connection is required for the audio playback feature.
iCED Chinese Dictionary by FREE
iCED Chinese Dictionary presents a unique way to use a Chinese dictionary. After you've found the entry you were searching for, iCED will continue to search for compound or component entries to complement your search.