China Distance Learning Apps and Tools
Skype works in China. Both KU Blackboard and the KU Libraries course guides and subject guides are working fine in China.
- List of blocked websites in ChinaThis website provides complete and regularly updated information about blocked websites, apps, social media, video sharing, and search engines in China.
- 钉钉 DingTalk (by Alibaba Group)Download the DingTalk app at the link above. "DingTalk is an enterprise communication and collaboration platform developed by Alibaba Group. It was founded in 2014."
- 超星学习通 Chaoxing Learning Pass (Beijing Chaoxing Company)"It is a course learning, knowledge dissemination and management sharing platform based on the microservice architecture." Chaoxing multiple databases of e-book, e-journal, e-text, and Mooc contents can be used as course reading and discussion contents, and contents can be shared among group users.
- iCourse 中国大学 Mooc (by Chinese University MOOC)"a platform featuring courses offered by renowned higher education institutions"
- 腾讯课堂极速版 Tencent Classroom Express Edition (Tencent)Download app and user manu
- XuetangX (Tsinghua University, 2013- )"XuetangX, a MOOC platform founded by Tsinghua University in 2013, is designed for research, interaction and achievement application of the MOE Research Center for Online Education."
Distance Learning in U.S. and from Abroad for China Studies
- Association for Asian Studies Statement Regarding Remote Teaching, Online Scholarship, Safety, and Academic Freedom (AAS Board of Directors, July 23, 2020)Concerns of faculty and students' safety and privacy using online tools for communications for online teaching and learning activities with the China's National Security Law. A statement by the Association for Asian Studies for intellectual freedom.
- New Challenges in Teaching China (by a group of AAS scholars)A statement developed by a number of China scholars and other AAS colleagues about “New Challenges in Teaching China.”
- Test if a site is blocked in China (CompariTech)Input domain to check whether a site is blocked in China. Comparitech maintains an updated list of VPNs that work in China here.
- 中华人民共和国国家安全法 National Security Law of the People's Republic of China (2015)Issued by the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress
- 中華人民共和國香港特別行政區維護國家安全法 Law of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China on the Maintenance of National SecurityThe Law of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China on the Maintenance of National Security, referred to as the Hong Kong National Security Law, the Port National Security Law or the Hong Kong version of the National Security Law, became a law of the People’s Republic of China on June 30, 2020. It was adopted by the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress, incorporated into Annex III of the Basic Law of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region in the form of a national law on the same day, and announced and implemented in the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.
Japan Distance Learning Sites, Apps, Tools.
- NII Today No. 88 (July 2020) 「オンライン授業の歴史と現状」A monthly newsletter issued by the National Institute of Informatics. This issue discusses how IT can promote research and education.
- Lecta: Automated Video Editing for On Demand DistributionPaid app, created to prepare lecture videos for on demand distribution. This records a traditional in person lecture. Once finished, open the video in Lecta and edit.
- JMoocSupported by Japan Massive Open Online Education Promotion Council (JMOOC), this site provides accesses to online course hosted by various Japanese universities and companies for free.
- OpenLearning, JapanCertified by JMOOC, this platform provides free online courses, created by university faculty.
- Aska AcademyProvided by Net Learning, this Incorporated Nonprofit Organization provides open courses created by major universities in the world, including MIT and Yale, with Japanese subtitles. Registration (free) required.
- gacco: 無料で学べるオンライン講座Provides free online educational videos, created by universities, research institutions, and companies. Each video clip is approx. 10 min.
- サイバー大学 = Cyber UniversityFounded in 2007 and received the Certified Evaluation and Accreditation of Universities and Colleges by the Japan Institute for Higher Education Evaluation in 2012, this is Japan's first full online university. Owned by SoftBank Corportaion.
Taiwan Distance Learning Software, Apps, and Tools
- 育網 ewant"Ewant open education platform was established in 2013 as the first massive open online courses (MOOCs) platform in Taiwan. This platform was designed based on Moodle, an open source online learning system. Ewant aims to provide a course demonstration and management site for all MOOCs partners, and also to offer more learning opportunities through free online courses to whoever is interested in continuous learning."
- 中華開放教育平臺 OpenEdu教師 Studio 平台 and 學生學習平台
課程設計練習(sandbox)
https://studio.sandbox.openedu.tw
https://sandbox.openedu.tw (student)
正式課程設計
https://studio.openedu.tw
https://openedu.tw (student) - 學聯網 ShareCourseDeveloped by Taiwan's National Tsinghua University, Jie Liu Technology, and academia and established the ShareCourse in 2012. It is Taiwan’s largest Chinese "Massive Open Online Courses" platform (MOOCs, Massive Open Online Courses), providing more than 600 free and paid courses through Internet technology.
- 開放教育資源平臺 Taiwan MOOC OERs"Open Educational Resources (OER) are free and openly licensed educational materials that can be used for teaching, learning, research, and other purposes."
- 大專院校遠距教學課程與線上教學指引 Colleges Distance Learning Courses and Online Teachings GuidelinesProvided by the Ministry of Education's digital teaching knowledge system establishment and implementation team. Information and guidelines provided for distance learning and online teaching for "School Administration", "Teacher Teaching," and "Student Learning." "Related Links" page provides the latest resources for users.
- CEIBA 國立臺灣大學非同步课程管理系统 Collaborative Enhanced Instruction By Asynchronous learningCEIBA serves as the mechanism for online collaborative learning, web-based instructional design, and online course construction for the National Taiwan University.
South Korea Distance Learning Software, Apps, and Tools
The South Korean approach to home education during the pandemic appears to be primarily a patchwork approach. Existing resources have been expanded and new resources have been created as needed. Each school across levels may have different approaches to solving education needs, and sharing resources between schools is not uncommon. Resources and links are outlined below. One important factor to consider is that there are not a lot of websites blocked in South Korea (often only pornography, gambling, pro-North Korea, and similar sites are blocked) so remote education is not particularly affected by this issue.
South Korean Ministry of Education on Learning in the Pandemic
- Government Guidelines for Education in the PandemicThe South Korean Ministry of Education has provided a number of resources for educators who are adjusting in some way to remote teaching. Guidelines for education in the pandemic can be found at this webpage.
- Goals by Age GroupA list of goals for different age groups, as well as a link to more FAQ can be found here.
- Ministry of Education COVID FAQThis webpage also includes links to contact information by area.
The Education Broadcasting Service (EBS)
- Education Broadcasting System (EBS)The Education Broadcasting System (EBS) has been very important in the transition to remote learning. This is their Korean website.
- Educational Programs through EBSEducation for early education has been partially achieved during the pandemic by expanding educational television programs provided by EBS on existing networks. This change also has some online presence, such as this webpage.
- EBS Virtual Learning PlatformEBS has developed a new platform that schools can use to upload content and assign/grade homework.
- EBS Data SupportEBS has helped in providing free education by working with major network providers to ensure educational content does not apply to data plans, and plans to continue this service for low income students via an application starting Sept 1, 2020. This program is outlined at this webpage.
- EBS Remote Learning FAQEBS also has a FAQ page for its many programs and activities during the time of remote learning, which can be found at this webpage.
Educators not using EBS services and programs to some extent may use any number of other approaches to remote learning, such as Zoom, video lectures uploaded to YouTube, other software for posting lectures and managing assignments, Google products, and other online media.
Higher Education and OpenCourseWare
- KOCW - Korean Open Course WareThe website for Korea's OpenCourseWare, which promotes free online learning and includes lectures from a variety of Universities.
- SNOW - Sookmyung Network for Open WorldKorean website which is connected to the English OpenCourseWare system and includes those OCW information and lectures.
- Seoul National University OCWSeoul National University's website for OpenCourseWare, organized by semester.