Coronavirus/Timeline: COVID-19 in Taiwan
From Focus Taiwan published by the Central News Agency (CNA)
https://focustaiwan.tw/society/202004185001
Dec. 31: Health screening begins
Taiwan begins screening arriving passengers from Wuhan as they disembark at the airport. That measure is gradually expanded to flights from China then to all incoming flights, by March.
Jan. 20: Taiwan sets up Central Emergency Command Center
The Taiwan Centers for Disease Control establishes the Central Epidemic Command Center (CECC) 國家衛生指揮中心中央流行疫情指揮中心 (疫情指揮中心) in response to a growing number of infections caused by a novel coronavirus in neighboring countries.
Jan. 21: Taiwan confirms first case
A Taiwanese passenger arriving from Wuhan tests positive for the disease that the World Health Organization later named COVID-19, two days before China locked down Wuhan and other cities.
Jan. 26: Entry of Chinese tourists restricted
Entry restrictions begin with visitors from China's Hubei Province during the Lunar New Year holidays and are gradually expanded to all Chinese nationals.
Taiwan Covid-19 Statistics Webpages
- Taiwan National Infectious Disease Statistics System 傳染病統計資料查詢系統This website includes national statistic on HIV infection, acquired immunodeficiency syndrome, gonorrhea, syphilis, Hansen's disease and severe special infectious pneumonia (COVID-19).
- Taiwan Centers for Disease Control 衛生福利部疾病管制署The Taiwanese CDC official website includes COVID-19 statistics.
- Science & Technology Policy Research and Information Center (STPI), PRIDE政策研究指標資料庫-國家研究院Chinese version. Statistics made by Science & Technology Policy Research and Information Center (STPI).
Academic Resources
- National Taiwan University Medical Library 國立臺灣大學醫學圖書館This website collects information related to COVID-19 and is published by the National Taiwan University.
- Taiwan society of clinical pathology and laboratory medicine 台灣臨床病理暨檢驗醫學會This website collects information related to COVID-19 and is published by the Taiwan society of clinical pathology and laboratory medicine.
- Taiwan society of pulmonary and critical care medicine 台灣胸腔暨重症加護醫學會This website collects information related to COVID-19 and is published by the Taiwan society of pulmonary and critical care medicine. Chinese version only.
- The New England Journal of MedicineA Locally Transmitted Case of SARS-CoV-2 Infection in Taiwan. Written by Ying-Chu Liu, M.D., Ching-Hui Liao, M.D., Chin-Fu Chang, M.D., Chu-Chung Chou, M.D., Ph.D., Yan-Ren Lin, M.D., Ph.D. from Changhua Christian Hospital, Changhua City, Taiwan
Taiwan Government Health Virtual Tools
- National Health Insurance Administration, Ministry of Health and welfare 衛生福利部中央健康保險署This official website includes mask ordering information and COVID-19 related insurance information.
- eMask 口罩預購系統(eMask ordering System)A mask ordering system.
- National Health Insurance Administration, Ministry of Health and welfare全民健保行動快易通 衛生福利部中央健康保險署This official application includes instant information. Link is to the iOS version.
Official Government Publications
- Taiwan Centers for Disease Control 衛生福利部疾病管制署The Taiwanese CDC official website for COVID-19, including daily updates, polices and announcements, and travel restrictions.
- Taiwan Centers for Disease Control 衛生福利部疾病管制署 - English VersionA modified English version of the above website.
- Ministry of the Interior National Immigration Agency Republic of China (Taiwan) 中華民國內政部移民署The official website of the Taiwanese immigration agency. Website includes border control and epidemic prevention information.
- Tourism Bureau, Republic of China (Taiwan) 交通部觀光局The official website of the Taiwanese tourism bureau. Website includes COVID-19 information on traffic, tourism and epidemic prevention. Chinese version only.
- Taipei City GovernmentTaipei city's COVID-19 epidemic prevention website.
U.S. Government Official Publication
- U.S. Centers of Disease Control and PreventionOfficial website which includes COVID-19 information on Taiwan.
News Sources - Western Sources
News Sources - Taiwan
- Taipei Times 台北時報Launched in 1999, this English journal is for the global reader, and is presented from a Taiwanese perspective.
- Taiwan News Online 台灣英文新聞Published since 1949 as “China News.” The name changed to "Taiwan News" in 1997 and has been published online since 2015.
- UDNdata This link opens in a new windowA collection of searchable Taiwanese full-text newspapers from the United Daily News group, including the following newspapers:
Lian he bao; from 1951
United Daily News; 1951-present
Min Sheng Daily; 1978-2006
Star News; 1999-2006
Economic Daily News; 1967-present
United Evening News; 1988-present
Official laws and regulations
- Ministry of Health and WelfareTaiwan CDC raises travel notice level for Wuhan to Level 2, Date: 2020-01-20
Restrictions on Chinese visitors visiting Taiwan, Date: 2020-01-25
Guidance for public transportation, public gatherings, schools and educational institutions and groups and provided advice on prevention measures, Date: 2020-01-29
CECC urges travelers to conduct self-health management for 14 days after returning to Taiwan and report suspected symptoms, Date: 2020-01-30
Central Epidemic Command Center (CECC) decides that all primary and secondary schools postpone first day of spring semester until 2 weeks later, Date: 2020-02-02
Name-based rationing system for purchases of masks, Date: 2020-02-06
Central Epidemic Command Center (CECC) announces international cruise ships will be banned from calling at ports of Taiwan, Date: 2020-02-06
14-day home quarantine to be required for travelers transiting through China, Hong Kong and Macau, Date: 2020-02-10
Entry Quarantine System to be launched, Date: 2020-02-14
Travelers arriving from countries with Level 1 and Level 2 travel warning subject to 14-day self-health management., Date: 2020-02-24
CECC issues Guidelines for Large-Scale Public Gatherings to prevent widespread community transmissions, Date: 2020-03-05
Online ordering mechanism to be added to the name-based rationing system for face masks on March 12, Date: 2020-03-12
Restrictions on entry of foreign nationals to be implemented, Date: 2020-03-19
CECC raises travel notice for all countries to Level 3: Warning; advises against all nonessential travel, Date: 2020-03-20
Taiwan to ban airline passenger transits through the country starting March 24 until April 7, Date: 2020-03-24 to 2020-04-07
CECC recommends suspending indoor gatherings of over 100 people and outdoor gatherings of over 500 people to prevent cluster infections, Date: 2020-03-25