COVID-19 East Asian Information Guide: Japan

The Japanese Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare, today informed the World Health Organization (WHO) of a confirmed case of a novel coronavirus (2019-nCoV) in a person who travelled to Wuhan, China. This is the second confirmed case of 2019-nCoV that has been detected outside of China, following confirmation of a case in Thailand on 13 January.

This official website for COVID-19 includes daily updates, polices and announcements.

This official website for COVID-19, which includes travel restrictions.

This official website includes COVID-19 information, as made by the prime ministry's office.

This official website includes COVID-19 information, as made by the Cabinet Secretariat.

The official website includes latest COVID-19 Information.

Tokyo Metropolitan Government's website includes coronavirus information.

The Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare of Japan released its COVID-19 contact tracing app, called COCOA (COVID-19 Contact-Confirming Application). This app notifies the users if they have come into close contact with others who have tested positive for COVID-19. Read more on how this works.

Click here to download:
Google Play
iOS

COVID-19 statistics as made by the Japanese prime minister's office. This is the English version.

COVID-19 statistics as made by TOYOKEIZAI. Data provided by ministry of health, labor and welfare. This is the English version.

Updates on COVID-19 in Tokyo. In multiple languages.

In Japanese and English. The graphs shown here are visualizations of the databases stored in CRISIS (CRoss Icu Searchable Information System), led by the Japan ECMOnet for COVID-19 group. ECMO, Extracorporeal membrane oxygenation, is an extracorporeal technique to sustain life by providing prolonged cardiac and respiratory support. This graph shows the changes of the number of those critically ill patients due to COVID-19, including the number of recoveries and deaths.

The data helps to understand the numbers of active patients due to COVID-19 in Japan by prefecture. Bed occupancy rate (estimate) = active cases / Hospital beds for OVID-19.

Article: Clusters of Coronavirus Disease in Communities, Japan, January–April 2020.

This website collects information related to COVID-19 and is published by the National Institute of Infectious Disease.

This website collects information related to COVID-19 and is published by the Japanese Association for Infectious Diseases.

The WHO web page for COVID-19. This is the Japanese version.

Hosted by Dr. Shin'ya Yamanaka, one of the Nobel Prize recipients for the study of the discovery that mature cells can be reprogrammed to become pluripotent. Though he is not an epidemiologist, from this website, he dispatches COVID-19 related information and advocates for strengthening PCR test as well as research of vaccination and medical treatment using iPS.

Volunteer project by those medical experts who provide ECMO treatment.

Working paper by Professors Yasuhiko Kamikubo, Toshio Hattori and Atsushi Takahashi. The number of cases of COVID-19 in Japan has remained relatively low, compared to other countries. This working paper examines the variations of COVID-19 virus which formed complex infectious trends.

Peer reviewed article by Nagasaki University research group. This finds the antiviral activity of 5-ALA against COVID-19.

Japanese version,
2020-04-07, 令和2年4月7日

English version.
Revised on May 25, 2020

English version.
Urgent request about correspondence to novel coronavirus infection 2020-02-03
Cancellation of personal use in metropolitan sports facilities. 2020-02-26
Future's correspondence in Metropolitan area public school about novel coronavirus. 2020-02-28
An announcement of novel coronavirus infection Tokyo emergency response plan (the third version). 2020-03-12
Emergency measures in Tokyo for novel coronavirus infection expansion prevention. 2020-04-10
An announcement of the Novel Coronavirus Infectious Disease measures "STAY HOME which maintains the life Week-STAY HOME, SAVE LIVES-". 2020-04-23
Metropolitan school with extension of the declaration of a state of emergency. 2020-05-05
General information of the use resumption by which it's for metropolitan sports facilities 2020-05-27
Formulation of infection control measures and a guideline about the conduct of school (metropolitan school). 2020-05-28
An offer of Tokyo edition new-style Corona watch service is begun. 2020-06-05

English version.
The declaration of a state of emergency 2020-04-07
Avoiding non-essential outings 2020-04-22
Requesting not to go out 2020-05-01
Extension of the state of emergency 2020-05-05
Lifting of the state of emergency declaration 2020-05-25

English version.
Osaka new model coronavirus task force 2020-03-24
Osaka model cancellation 2020-05-05

English version.

Provide knowledge and information to protect lives during COVID-19 pandemic. Available in multi-languages.

The official website includes COVID-19 information on Japan.

The blog includes coronavirus information.

Japanese version.

English version.

Japanese version.

The online magazine is published monthly by the Japanese government to help readers better understand Japan today. English version.

A monthly magazine which discusses
Japanese government policy, the economy, business and social trends, scientific and technological breakthroughs, etc.

Daily news and features on Japan from the most widely read English-language newspaper in Japan.

Japanese version.

Japanese version. Includes many original news articles and more Asian/Japan focused articles than the original NewsWeek online.

English version.

Japanese edition of Yahoo! News includes breaking news, current events, the latest headlines, news photos, etc.

Japanese version.

Japanese version. The page includes COVID-19 information and some statistics.