Search KU Collection
Search KU Collection and More
What Am I Searching?
Our new search allows you to search for a number of different resources, including:
- Everything from the KU Libraries Catalog: more than 4 million books, ebooks, videos, sound recordings, manuscripts, and more
- A growing collection of more than 66,000 images from KU Libraries' digital collections and beyond
- More than 7,700 articles and Open Access research from KU ScholarWorks, KU's institutional repository
You may search across these sources all at once, or limit your search to those items most interesting to you.
NOTE: not all databases important for East Asian/Japanese Studies are not included!
Evaluating Journals and Research Impact
- Google Scholar Metrics (Asian Studies)Google Scholar Metrics shows journal ranking and rating. Currently covers articles published between 2013 and 2017.
- Web of ScienceYou can check the impact factor or each article included in this database. Find an article you are interested and see "Citation Network."
Selected Databases for Japanese Studies (English)
The followings lists important databases for the study of East Asian history. Click here to see more databases available at KU Libraries.
- Bibliography of Asian studies This link opens in a new windowIncludes citations to Western-language periodical articles and book chapters, pertaining to Asia.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines.
- Academic search complete This link opens in a new windowFeaturing 8,750 of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study.
- Arts and humanities citation index This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts citations in research journals across the disciplinary spectrum, including online version of: Arts and humanities citation index (1975-present).
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull text versions of selected scholarly journals from university presses and scholarly societies, etc. in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Recommended Japanese Online Resources
- Japan Search: Find digital archives in Japan
A national platform for aggregating metadata of digital resources of various fields. "By linking digital archives from a wide variety of fields and regions, and organizing the various contents preserved by each institution into searchable metadata through Japan Search, clarifying the location of the contents, and enabling Japan's digital information resources to be found efficiently, we are endeavoring for their effective use throughout Japan." from the site. - 国立国会図書館サーチ (National Diet Library Search)Integrated search service of catalogs and digital archives including NDL and other institutions.
- CiNii ResearchIndex database for books, scholarly articles and dissertations produced in Japan.
- 国書データベース = Union Catalogue Database of Japanese TextsCombining the "Union Catalogue of Early Japanese Books" and the "Database of Pre-Modern Japanese Works," this new database is the largest digital reference on pre-modern Japanese works. This allows users to search and use bibliographic information and high-resolution images of Japanese manuscripts and prints before Edo period, held by the National Institute of Japanese Literature and many other institutions and owners at home and overseas.
- Art Research Center, Ritsumeikan University (立命館大学アート・リサーチ・センター)A portal site through which the variety of databases on Japanese culture, literature, art, and performing arts are accessible
Subject Guide
Ask a Librarian
We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.