Global & International Studies - Capstone Seminar: NGOs, Think Tanks, etc.

Nonpartisan research policy organization that conducts research in areas, including: public policy, foreign policy, and economics. Also find publications available at KU Libraries in the KU Library Catalog.

Non-profit policy organization originally established to conduct research related to US military policy. However, their research is now international in scope and includes business, education, and health.

Non-profit organization that provides research to non-profit organizations and local, state, and regional governments.

Libertarian organization that presents public policy research "based on the principles of limited government, free markets, individual liberty, and peace."

Network of European policy institutes from 26 countries that produce reports and policy papers on many topics related to the European Union and member countries.

Conservative public policy think tank located at Stanford University. Research is both domestic and international in scope, and includes research on political economy and international affairs.

Center that produces research on the role of communication in politics. The center also produces research on many more topics, including health communication and adolescent risk.

APPAM is dedicated to improving public policy and management by fostering excellence in research, analysis, and education.

Nonpartisan research organization focusing on the United States foreign policy.

Independent research organization that conducts research on a global scale, including topics such as global economy, civic participation, and global security.

"The Urban Institute gathers data, conducts research, evaluates programs, offers technical assistance overseas, and educates Americans on social and economic issues — to foster sound public policy and effective government."
http://www.urban.org/about/

Research institute that focuses on international affairs. Find citations and some full-text to publications, some of which are peer-reviewed.

Research center that focuses on civil liberties in the electronic age, including freedom of speech, privacy, and open government.

The Archives contains the administrative and operational records created by the World Bank Group institutions and offers a vast amount of original primary source research material related to economic development. The records provide evidence of all business activities of the Bank, including lending operations, policy decision making, relations with donor and client countries, and administration.

Includes many reports on topics and regions relevant to REES. Click on "Publications" and search by keyword.

Leading provider of research and analysis on conflict and instability in Eurasia and one of the most reliable sources of information on the region. Over the past two decades, Jamestown has developed an extensive global network of experts -- from the Black Sea to Siberia, from the Persian Gulf to the Pacific. This core of intellectual talent includes former high-ranking government officials and military officers, political scientists, journalists, scholars, and economists. Utilizes indigenous and primary sources.

ESI is a non-profit research and policy institute which provides in-depth analysis of the complex issues involved in promoting stability and prosperity in Europe.

Examines a wide array of policy challenges related to this volatile area, including politics, nonproliferation, energy, and economic development.

Covers "greater" Europe, from the North Atlantic coast to the shores of the Caspian and Mediterranean Seas. Europe includes converging and diverging political, economic, and cultural histories, alliances, and ideals. U.S. relations with Europe and its multifaceted nations, peoples, and institutions—such as NATO and the European Union—are among the most comprehensive and strategically important partnerships in the world.

RAND's International Affairs research comprises a range of cross-cutting issues, including global economies and trade, space and maritime security, diplomacy, global health and education, nation building, and regional security and stability. RAND also analyzes the policies and effectiveness of international organizations such as the UN, NATO, European Union, and ASEAN.

The International Peace Institute (IPI) is an independent, international not-for-profit think tank dedicated to managing risks and building resilience to promote peace, security, and sustainable development. To achieve its purpose, IPI employs a mix of policy research, strategic analysis, publishing, and convening. Search or browse by topic or region.