Introduction to Human Trafficking and Migration
What is Human Trafficking?
Article 3, paragraph of the Protocol to Prevent, Suppress and Punish Trafficking in Persons defines Trafficking in Persons as the recruitment, transportation, transfer, harbouring or receipt of persons, by means of the threat or use of force or other forms of coercion, of abduction, of fraud, of deception, of the abuse of power or of a position of vulnerability or of the giving or receiving of payments or benefits to achieve the consent of a person having control over another person, for the purpose of exploitation. Exploitation shall include, at a minimum, the exploitation of the prostitution of others or other forms of sexual exploitation, forced labour or services, slavery or practices similar to slavery, servitude or the removal of organs.
Source: United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) website on human trafficking http://www.unodc.org/unodc/en/human-trafficking/what-is-human-trafficking.html)
Background
- Encyclopedia of Human RightsCall Number: JC571 .E673 2009 (Watson Library - 1 1/2 West Stacks)
- CQ Public Affairs Collection"Provides current affairs content in a fully integrated reference tool. Organized by 22 key public affairs subject headings—like Advocacy and Public Service, Education, Energy, the Environment, Health, and Transportation—the CQ Public Affairs Collection features in-depth reporting on vital issues, statistical and historical analyses, historic documents and primary source materials, as well as a directory of key government, nonprofit, and private organizations in each of the major policy areas."
UNODC and Trafficking in Persons: News, Events, and Publications
Article Databases
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowThis is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- Academic Search CompleteContains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals, with full text for more than 4,500 of those titles. Find scholarly journals, popular sources, and more.
Newspapers
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 15,000 full-text news, legal and business sources. Includes journal articles, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; business information on 80 million U.S. and international companies and 75 million executives. Replaces LexisNexis Academic.
- America's NewsFind coverage of local and national newspapers from all 50 states. Good starting point for learning about what topics are in the news around the country.
Human Trafficking Statistics
IGO Search Engine
Search the websites of over 350 intergovernmental organizations (IGO's) at one time.
International Government Resources
- Human rights and democracy at the core of EU external actionIn a shifting geopolitical landscape, the EU has remained a strong defender of human rights. New geopolitical rivalries only serve to underline its role as a reliable and stable partner, and a champion of the rules-based international order.
US Government Resources
- Office of Child Labor, Forced Labor, and Human Trafficking (OCFT)"Part of the U.S. Department of Labor's Bureau of International Labor Affairs (ILAB). The office was created in 1993 in response to a request from Congress to investigate and report on child labor around the world."
Web Portals
- International Organization for MigrationIncludes resources related to migration and human trafficking worldwide and by region.